X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3223 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The rooms are very small ( they look like a reformatory school) poor breakfast!!, old people, small kitchen. Sorry but I didn't like it at all.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice and helpful staff. The bar area was nice and comfortable as well. The WIFI is not great in the rooms, but works pretty good in the common areas. Overall very nice Hostel.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

WiFi is easy and the staff are okay. Was assigned a bed and room and was woken up with a flashlight in my face by a staff member at 3 in the morning demanding to know who I was. Apparently the put me in the wrong room and that was their way of figuring it out. At 3 in the morning. With a flashlight. In my face. Not a pleasant experience. I brought it up to the front desk what had happened and they just awkwardly laughed and shrugged their shoulders. Make sure your room is assigned correctly.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Couples shouldn't stay at this hostel. The room is located at the basement and right in front of the common shower rooms. I would recommend this hostel if you like a lot of noise of school classes and the kitchen right above you. The breakfast was very poor as well. The staff didn't clean the room in a whole week.


86%

The hostel is really nice, near to the tube, everything was always clean, the breakfast is really good. The only things that are not good is the staff people, most of them were always with a bad face, and there is a lot of kids so the noise is really boring.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

a bit far out of london but the plenty of buses go past and the train cuts through so it doesnt take long

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The 4 woman dorm was really small. If I knew how small my daughter and I would of taken something else.


83%

Pretty out of the way from the city so public transport is a bit more expensive but clean and modern facilities along with a really cool outdoor bird cage next to the patio make it a fun and interesting place to stay.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

excellent place to stay! Even though the Wi-fi doesn't always work, people are very nice and they have everything on the spot


80%

nice stay, nice and helpfull staff, Willesden Green location well conected by tube to the center, room x4 just big enough, good breakfast

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Ok hostel, especially if you are doing a road trip and bring your car to London ( free secure parking), otherwise a bit far away from the city centre. Very loud groups of teenagers drinking and partying all night just outside the windows. Night staff don't seem to care, even after 2. a.m. Probably wouldn't stay again.


74%

The location was a bit far when you have to lug 2 big lugguages from Willesden Green station to the hostel. A bit of a walk. But bus 98 seems to be very convenient from town central and it stops right at the hostel front. The shower is spurts out very hot and very cold water suddenly while bathing. We had asked to fix it but seems they did not resolve the problem. Breakfast was so so, the coffee is horrible! Overall I am fine, it's the shower that needs to be fixed really!! Room 200


100%

It was very good and we really liked it.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a lovely time at Palmer's lodge, especially in comparison to the next hostel I stayed in. At Hillspring they know what they're doing, and you get a feeling that they enjoy doing it, even if it's formula. Mostly, it was just perfect for what it was for me: a place to sleep peacefully and safely after a long day of traipsing about London. 9/10, only because I would've loved fresh sheets on the cooler nights after the hot days. I understand it's otherwise expensive to wash them, but still!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff friendly, chatty and professional. Other guests quite young while I was there. Nice bar area with pool table and telly. Canteen with doors to outside decking was a nice touch. Nice coffee and croissants were kept warm also toast and cereal. Showers, toilets and rooms impeccable. The mattress was too hot so slept on top of sheets to keep dry. Noise was at a minimum at night. Nice secure grounds and far from trouble. 8 min walk to zone 2 tube city bus stop nearby. Go here for a safe stay.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Next to a pub, every night without fail there is a loud party that does not die down until 2 am or perhaps later, even on Weds and Thurs nights. Also, busloads of kids from Germany, Argentina, takeover the pub and get drunk and scream until 2 am so no one can sleep. The night staff can't be bothered to tell them to keep it down. Drunk German kids were banging on all the doors at 4 am and waking everyone up. You won't get any sleep. I've stayed here 4 separate occasions, always the same.


97%

It was a very good hostel not only because of all facilities but also because It has an small restaurant, which was pretty cheap, and a bar.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect, nice atmosphere and very good restaurant!!! The four-bed-rooms are suitable for families.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It would be great if you could buy power outlet plug adapters and either sell them or lend them to the students for a fee deposit. A lot of people forget the adapter and can't use their plugs with the British outlet.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very out of the way in london, not a lot happening. Wouldnt recommend it for party goers, but if you're looking to just epore the city and culture and all that nonsense it would be not too bad only 7 stops on the tube from central london.


(1801 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback