X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4545 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Good for long-term stays (week or longer) - though there are cheaper options round London and the kitchen here is rather limited, utensils-wise. (You'll get a knife, pots, a pan and that's it.) V close to tube, high street and Sainsbury's. 10 bed mixed is slightly airier than 14 women's.


80%

Great staff and enjoyable stay

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great staff! Rooms and bathrooms were cleaned often. Comfortable and safe atmosphere. Very close to train stations.


94%

Great place, great staff anf great service. The best hostel Ive ever been!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was first class


94%

Almost all the areas of the hostel are very spacious and comfortable, and the building is surrounded by trees and big houses, which means it is a good place to rest and relax after a day walking through the crowded streets of London. Excellent!


97%

The staff was awesome, the rooms clean, the beds have curtains, a lamp and power outlets. The hostel is near the subway, the overground and the bus (the bus takes quite a long time to the center). it is perfect if you want to visit wembley (only 3 stops by train) and it has a farmers market in the area and a sainburys a 5 minute walk away. It's one of the best hostels I stayed at ever.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely staff, well organised , really can't fault it. Thanks for a great value night.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel, if you're looking for the right combination of class, comfort, atmosphere and culture. Decor is unique and lush and the terrace is just right for chilling out in the summer! Key card lockers make storing your belongings and valuables a breeze and beds very clean and comfortable- even on the top bunk! Free continental breakfast very handy and good start to the day! All the staff were super - very friendly and seem to really enjoy working there! I had a great time!

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great staff, seemed like a lot of younger kids utilized this hostel though, maybe 16 to 20 year olds. Not a lot of university kids. Also the location was very far from the center of the city but because of that was much cheaper than any other hostel we could have booked in the center. This wouldn't have been as much of a problem if the London tube hadn't been on strike while we were staying there. The beds were the nicest hostel beds I've stayed in so far.


83%

Everything was great except the bathrooms in our room were very small.


66%

I always using this hostel. Because atmosphere is nice! But some staffs are not good attitude to customers. They are still don't know well about hostel system. Hope they should know what is customers service , what is hotel job. They are still poor , I think. But I feel her Nick name is Kath, she is great service! Also she always remember our name is what we need. This is great! Also hotel sheff and bar staffs are nice attitude For customers. another staffs need more traininng !


91%

palmer's lodge was our first hostel for our month of backpacking. We weren't entirely sure what to expect. The hostel is kind of hidden behind another apartment building but still not too hard to find! It was very clean, each room has individual lockers, and the staff was super helpful giving us directions and showing us what to do while we were in London. The hostel is about 30min bus ride from central London unless you take the train, then it's much shorter.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is a bit out of central London. It took almost an hour on the tube to get to Euston station. As the hostel was quiet there wasn't much atmosphere. Bar needs to be open in the day. Very clean however and good value for money for a private room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. It's true that we are a bit out of the city centre, but with the underground station being so close to us, it doesn't feel that far away as it takes less than a 15 min ride on the tube to get to see the Big Ben. If you check on the official Transport for London website (https://tfl.gov.uk/) you can see that, depending on the route you choose, it takes between 22 to 25 minutes to get from Willesden Green station to Euston station. Cheers!

83%

Good private room


63%

The receptionist was lovely but the cleaners very bad attutute but overall it was good

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Namibia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

I always use this hostel. Atomosphe is nice the reason why I always hearing The bird song every time here. Staffs are very nice and friendly, but only night Time shift staffs are not good service. Hopefully, shouldn't hire smoking person night time shift. because during their smoking time, they are escape from Front section, so we push the luggage area button, They are not answer!! there! We have to wait for a long time. This is annoying!!


80%

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the curtains in the bunk beds were great! The toilets were always clean but a bit small with not much space but in general they are good! The atmosphere wasn't as good as other hostels but the staff were very nice and friendly. The location was good enough for London, only a few minutes away from the city by metro and the area wasn't dodgy at all. But bare in mind that a taxi from the city centre is about 40 pounds.


83%

Staff were friendly and helpful, nice bar and common area to unwind with big comfy couches and a snooker table, the rooms were basic but clean and the bed was comfortable. No curtains in the 4 bed female dorm but not needed due to the room layout. if I was to come back to London I would probably stay closer in as the extra 15 minutes on the tube to get into central London adds up, but there is a bus stop opposite and 6 minute walk to the station. Other guests were friendly and respectful

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location isn't very convenient if you'd like to spend most of your time in/near central London. Kind of a creepy area to be walking around alone at night. Other than that, no complaints!


(2374 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback