X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3215 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

a bit far out of london but the plenty of buses go past and the train cuts through so it doesnt take long

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The 4 woman dorm was really small. If I knew how small my daughter and I would of taken something else.


83%

Pretty out of the way from the city so public transport is a bit more expensive but clean and modern facilities along with a really cool outdoor bird cage next to the patio make it a fun and interesting place to stay.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

excellent place to stay! Even though the Wi-fi doesn't always work, people are very nice and they have everything on the spot


80%

nice stay, nice and helpfull staff, Willesden Green location well conected by tube to the center, room x4 just big enough, good breakfast

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Ok hostel, especially if you are doing a road trip and bring your car to London ( free secure parking), otherwise a bit far away from the city centre. Very loud groups of teenagers drinking and partying all night just outside the windows. Night staff don't seem to care, even after 2. a.m. Probably wouldn't stay again.


74%

The location was a bit far when you have to lug 2 big lugguages from Willesden Green station to the hostel. A bit of a walk. But bus 98 seems to be very convenient from town central and it stops right at the hostel front. The shower is spurts out very hot and very cold water suddenly while bathing. We had asked to fix it but seems they did not resolve the problem. Breakfast was so so, the coffee is horrible! Overall I am fine, it's the shower that needs to be fixed really!! Room 200


100%

It was very good and we really liked it.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a lovely time at Palmer's lodge, especially in comparison to the next hostel I stayed in. At Hillspring they know what they're doing, and you get a feeling that they enjoy doing it, even if it's formula. Mostly, it was just perfect for what it was for me: a place to sleep peacefully and safely after a long day of traipsing about London. 9/10, only because I would've loved fresh sheets on the cooler nights after the hot days. I understand it's otherwise expensive to wash them, but still!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff friendly, chatty and professional. Other guests quite young while I was there. Nice bar area with pool table and telly. Canteen with doors to outside decking was a nice touch. Nice coffee and croissants were kept warm also toast and cereal. Showers, toilets and rooms impeccable. The mattress was too hot so slept on top of sheets to keep dry. Noise was at a minimum at night. Nice secure grounds and far from trouble. 8 min walk to zone 2 tube city bus stop nearby. Go here for a safe stay.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Next to a pub, every night without fail there is a loud party that does not die down until 2 am or perhaps later, even on Weds and Thurs nights. Also, busloads of kids from Germany, Argentina, takeover the pub and get drunk and scream until 2 am so no one can sleep. The night staff can't be bothered to tell them to keep it down. Drunk German kids were banging on all the doors at 4 am and waking everyone up. You won't get any sleep. I've stayed here 4 separate occasions, always the same.


97%

It was a very good hostel not only because of all facilities but also because It has an small restaurant, which was pretty cheap, and a bar.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect, nice atmosphere and very good restaurant!!! The four-bed-rooms are suitable for families.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It would be great if you could buy power outlet plug adapters and either sell them or lend them to the students for a fee deposit. A lot of people forget the adapter and can't use their plugs with the British outlet.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very out of the way in london, not a lot happening. Wouldnt recommend it for party goers, but if you're looking to just epore the city and culture and all that nonsense it would be not too bad only 7 stops on the tube from central london.


80%

Facilities were very clean and the staff was great. The rooms are very small but they have a sink, mirror and a cabinet for your stuff that you can lock. Because the doors are mechanized they make a beeping sound and are quite loud as they shut; not so great for your roommates if you're getting in late. The wifi signal is terrible.


89%

I slept in a 22-bed-dorm for 2 nights, and I really appreciated the room!!!! It was extremely large and really comfortable!!! I love the design of the beds as well, wooden color with the dark green color!!! But one thing to be mentioned, It is located in zone 2, which means it takes time to the city centre!!!


94%

nice hillspring~~~

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great place to stay the night, however not somewhere you could spend an afternoon at. The bar is good, pool table is good, but the hostel shuts down at a very early hour - not much fun is had passed 11pm. Because nothing is close by this means you need to spend your nights in the city, and getting back to the hostel isn't the easiest thing to do passed 12. IF the hostel catered more for this it would be perfect.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place to stay to explore London with a family! Nice veranda and good restaurant. Friendly staff!


(1796 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback