X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3552 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It's all good, I will definitely stay there again but the hair dryer can't work.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your review, We are sorry to hear that you've experienced a problem with one of our hair-dryers. But if you let the receptionist know about it they will happily provide you with another one. Otherwise, we provide hair-dryers in almost all of our bathrooms. Kind regards

100%

It would be nice to fix the big hole in the road right outside the gates as you can step right into it if you get out of your car to press the bell. Nice to have a small kitchen to cook in. If possible the hostel might invest in a larger fridge and maybe some cubby hole shelves to put supplies away. Its a mass of orange bags so hard to find anything. People value being able to cook so if would be excellent if the kitchen could be expanded. There is a small locked unused room next to it for expa


100%

Amazing place only wifi don't work on 4th floor, but highly recommend it

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for the review and feedback We will be installing another WIFI hot spot up there for better coverage. Thank you Palmers Lodge Hillspring Team

97%

Thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Well done to all!


71%

Most of the things were great except for the following: 1. There was very strong smell of paint while I was staying there and that definitely made me feel headache. 2. It would be better to inform in advance if there is a group reservation for the restaurant area. first day noon I went back finding out that the kitchen was unavailable due to group reservation. if it could be informed earlier that day, many people didn't have to spend those time all the way back to there.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback Please accept my apologies about the smell, we are refurbishing our 4 bed rooms, we will make sure next time the restaurant gets the proper signage regarding group meals. We hope you will choose us again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

91%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good atmosphere Breakfast very welcome. Laundry facilities great. Thankyou. Marie Portz and daughter Kathryn McRae

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope you will choose us again in the future Kind regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring

94%

This is always my first choice of place to stay when I come to London. Everything I need, at a good price. Lovely friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Thank you. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose us again in the future. Kind regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring Team

80%

only thing i would say is the location is just fair. Overall is good.


80%

My experience here was very good! The only thing I would like to say is that the spanish boys at reception are very kind but the girls, except for the english girl, are often in a bad mood. Me too I work with customers, I know there are rude people but I always smile to their. Mine was just a suggestion because you can not know who you are dealing with.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback I have taken in account your suggestion regarding our staff members and I will keep an eye out, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

97%

Absolutely fantastic value and hospitality

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for the review and feedback We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring

89%

It was good, the internet worked well, the breakfast was fine. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose us again in the future. Kind regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring Team

63%

The privacy curtains seem to make people forget others. Main light switched on at 2am, 3am and 5am, and loud conversations at all hours. Five nights of broken sleep, worst in two years of travelling. Perhaps on check-in staff could remind people in the large dorm about respecting others. Better signage to self catering kitchen and lighting in basement showers, smell of chlorine in lobby. Has much under utilised potential.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, I'm sorry to hear your room mates where inconsiderate during the night, our hostel has signs around regarding the noise after 11PM but I will make sure we will provide more of these to raise awareness, usually this can be easily fixed by asking assistance from our 24 hour reception. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

94%

GREAR HOSTEL!! If it was a bit closer to the city center it would be perfect


86%

You need to isolate the 4th floor dorm. And also do something about the bathroom/toilets which are way to small. SOme kind of redesign maybe where toilet and shower is not necessarily together. With regards to 4 bed mixed dorms. You should consider not letting couples staying in those as it creates a weird and somewhat uncomfortable atmosphere, especially if they in my case slept in the same bed.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, We have taken under account your ideas, in regards with couples staying in 4 bed dorms they are mix dorms unfortunately we can't do that, sleeping in the same bed is not allowed so please report this at reception. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

71%

Hostel was clean and secure, although considering it is pretty far out of London, I didn't feel we got value for money as our room was the size of a shoe box. The staff were friendly, although some of them probably need to work on their english as we had trouble communicating with some of them.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The room for 4 persons were very small, we coudn't be the four at the same time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review and feedback I'm sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your stay in our 4 bed room, our hostel has a high range of rooms and bigger rooms are available, although all our 4 bed rooms have the same size maybe a room with more beds would be more suitable for your party next time, We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

63%

The heating didn't work in the top room, it was always freezing cold. The duvet was never washed or changed when someone had checked out only the sheets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, I have reported this to our maintenance team, please accept my sincere apologies for this. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

83%

Very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Staff is always ready to answer questions in a polite manner. The facilities are cleaned regularly and the cleaning staff is also extremely nice.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, We will pass along the nice words to our staff members, Please come and visit us again in the future. Kind regards P.L Team

86%

I would totally recommend it if you don't mind spend about 20 minutes to get the city centre. The only cons I can remind are the high temperature there were in the room and the toilet (considering it was winter, I didn't carry in my luggage summer clothes, so I almost melt while sleeping in a winter pyjama) and the lack of wall sockets to charge cameras and phones (nowadays, it's a must). In a shared room, everybody would like to charge their phones at night, so there should be some adaptors.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • kaede8
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, We apologies about the room temperature, I have reported this issue to my maintenance team. We usually provide 2 sockets per bed, unfortunately all plugs in UK are the same therefore if you are traveling from outside you will need to bring an adapter or you can buy one from our reception. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

91%

great hostel! a bit far from the city but so clean and staff is so nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for the review and feedback, Please come and visit us again in the future. Regards Reception P.L Team

(1935 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback