X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
10724 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The atmosphere was a bit heavy due to some people (clients) and their dressing way, posture and behaviour. The staff was a bit distracted with money issues. Thank you

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The breakfast is not interesting at all, and costs 4.50 pounds now. Too bad.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

A bit noisy due to school groups earlier in the evening but fine during the sleeping hours.


91%

Really great building. Very clean. Lots of people milling about but quiet in the rooms at night. Quick tube ride to city centre.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Swiss Cottage was good in terms of location. Minutes away from the tube station and also minutes away from local food establishments. The only downside is that I was unable to get a refund on the nights I didn't stay when I had to return home early due to unforseen circumstances

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is one of my absolute favourite hostels in the world, nice and clean with moderate pricing and excellent location (walking distance to centre of London). I always meet friendly people from all over the world at Palmer's and there's a lovely reading lounge and a decent bar downstairs.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Hi there, the stay was excellent, good atmosphere, and good value for the cost of it, I'd just change the fact that I had to cancel 3 of days and couldn't get refound for it, as others hotels do. regardless that, everything was great

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This was such a lovely experience! The hostel was very quaint and quiet. It is a bit far from the goings on of town but is located very close to a bus stop and metro station. It has been my best experience at a hostel thus far. It seemed more like a hotel than anything.


86%

Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are happy that you enjoyed yourself. Thanks for the recommend! Tom

89%

Thanks for your hospitality.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel,nice location, lots of good people and very clean. Like Arnie said: I'll be back.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we'll be happy to see you! Thanks for the positive & funny comments! All the best. Tom

51%

Many of the facilities advertised were limited. Bar was poorly stocked and staffed and hard to find the right time to attend at around the scheduled group dinners. Bathrooms were awkward with both use of males and females.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We don't get too many large groups at Swiss Cottage so it's a very unusual situation where the bar is taken by a whole group. As for the bathrooms, we do have a female only bathroom located on the first floor. Kind regards

74%

The location was OK. Place was very cute with the Swiss Cottage look. College area; young people. Surprisingly not too loud or crazy to stay at. Good value when booking online. I'm not sure about security. I believe they did have CCTV, which would be excellent because before checking in, I was allowed to put my bags up (Bonus), but no one checked who I was. The room was OK, it was small, like I expected. As long as I have a clean bed, and a hot shower, I'm happy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We do have CCTV, but it's a shame that the receptionist didn't check who you were as it's something that we should always do. It was probably just an isolated case. Glad to hear you had a good time overall :)

91%

Swiss Cottage was an absolutely great hostel. From the ability to eat breakfast there in the morning to the rooms and facilities, the entire place was great. The location is also very good, being mere minutes from the Tube. Definitely will be my top choice for future trips to London, and I'll definitely be recommending the place to my friends. Keep up the good work! Only "problem" was that the WiFi was a bit shoddy in my room (4), but that was no big deal, as it was fine elsewhere!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Glad you enjoyed the hostel! We look forward to seeing you back here for future trips! Thanks again, Tom

86%

Lounge was full when we got in at midnight so no where for the 8 of us to have a chat Other than that perfect!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was clean, centric location and nice stuff. Good place to stay.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a very nice stay! Thanks to Cody, my favorite receptionist, who managed everything I needed ;-) One could advertise the bar downstairs more, because there was not much goin' on except for the rugby on the tele

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The staff are brilliant.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we would look forward to you coming back any time! Tom

69%

Reception not so professional

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We always appreciate the feedback as it helps us to grow and to bring an even better service. Unfortunately you didn't write nothing specific about what happened during your stay to make you feel this way about our staff. That way we could have investigated further and improve where we were failing. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

89%

It's a great place, very cute, offers free wifi, and smaller dorms are well worth the money. It's much more pleasant sharing a room with only three strangers instead of 20.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and that's good advice for some travellers, but others can be happy to meet more people! Anyway, glad you found the best balance for you. Tom

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(281 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback