X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
10256 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

It was ok, but nowhere to cook your own food. The common area was quite comfortable, but dull. It was more expensive than other hostels, and you have to pay extra for breakfast. I also had to pay extra to use a towel, and I didn't use the security locker as there was no padlock provided - you have to buy one.


77%

It was a good clean hostel, but I was disappointed that breakfast wasn't free. Also I had booked for a female dorm, but when I arrived the staff told me I would have to be in a mixed dorm. I was not aware of the change, and I feel that I or any other customer should be notified when something like that situation happens.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

18인실 믹스 2일, 12인실 믹스 2일, 12인실 여성 1일 묵었음. 다른후기처럼 침대에 커튼과 개별등이 있어 좋았음. 다인실인데 시끄러운건 없었고ㅋ 한국인 많음..ㅋㅋ 욕실에는 뜨거운물 짱 잘나옴.근데 공용 샤워실에서는 30초마다 자동으로 꺼지는 시스템이라 좀 불편, 여자방에는 안에 샤워실이 있는데 그건 안그래서 좋았음. 홀은 대체로 편한 분위기고 커피나 차를 무료로 줘서 좋았음, 단점을 내몸에서 나는건지 시트에서 나는건지 어디서 나는건지 한 번씩 수건묵은냄새?하수구냄새?가 났었는데 피곤해서 신경쓸겨를없이 기절함. 벌레는 없는듯. 못봄ㅋ 대체로 만족하고 담에도 또 묵을 의향있음. 추천함

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Palmer's Lodge at Swiss Cottage is such a wonderful place to stay. It will ruin you for other Hostel experiences. Highlights are the gorgeous lounge room with free coffee all day, the spacious and exciting basement bar, the easy access to buses & tube stations, and a great general feeling of comfort and relaxation. Highly recommended, worth the extra few pounds.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really friendly staff, very clean facilities, nice bar, good location. First experience in a hostel and it was great. Definitely to recommend.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I truly enjoyed my stay at Palmers Lodge. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and the general feel of the place was cosy and welcoming. Closer to the Swiss Cottage station than I had anticipated which was a nice surprise and the curtains for the bunk beds were a bonus. The one remark I could leave is that the showers were somewhat disappointing. Weak flow and it was sometimes impossible to adjust the temperature. But that was only a minor set back during an otherwise great stay.


89%

Great place to stay - the area is not the prettiest part of London, but its very easy to get places from there, and the sandwich bar down the road is really nice


77%

It was clean and very well kept, great property. Very quiet kind of hostel with little interaction. More of an older crowd, late 20s - late 30s. Beautiful building with good access to busses and the tube. If you are not looking for a party hostel, its a great place to go. Breakfast wasn't worth the five pounds.


89%

The reorganisation downstairs means that the basement rooms are very much noisier than before because the bar doors are left open to the corridor. Some of the breakfast staff and check in staff could definitely be more welcoming and friendlier, some pretty dour faces at times. Bar staff good. Overall, this is still one of the best hostels in London - clean, good value, hot water most of the time, but they need to keep an eye on customer service.


97%

This is a really nice hostel. I was really surprised with the quality and the professionalism of the staff. I only had one issue with this hostel and that's because the hot water went out and cold showers are not fun in the morning. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and will return.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Reception staff in the mornings were very rude and unhelpful, but location is convenient and easy to get to, rooms and bathrooms are clean, and curtains over each bed was good for privacy.


100%

Great as always although disappointed the breakfast is no longer included. The new conservatory extension is great to sit and chill in.


83%

Very clean, has a bar/restaurant, pay to use laundry facilities and free iron, and free linens. My 12-person mixed dorm had a shower facility down the hall which was clean and spacious, however the showers were timed (you have to press a button to reset it every time you want more water) so you can take a 20mn shower if you want, it's just annoying. They do this to save water which is great, however they advertise the time as 30 seconds when it is 10, so every 10 seconds you press a button.


80%

It's good value for your money and easy access to all of London via the tube which is very near to Palmers Swiss Cottage Lodge.There are some local restaurants around the corner which are also a good value.If your just looking for a place to hang your hat at night while visiting London and to save money it's worth checking out.I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.


63%

1- Hot water is rare in this hostel. This is shameful! Like this hostel is still in 1900's... 2- reception staff is not cordial at all at times

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The construction of the building is very well included in the location and facilities styles. Unfortunatelly we werde at Swiss Cottag, when some new staff got introducted. We needed to be a little bit more passion. Nevertheless the did a great job, were allways friendly and answered all our questions. Comparing the value for money to other hostels in europe Swiss Cottage ist rather expensive. But this may be because of being in London, so in general it is ok.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Very few toilets and showers, No plug beside your bed Upper beds have small room because they added other bunks on an added mezzanine ... first night I woke up 3:00 am and hit my head at the wooden beam supporting the mezzanine. If that was a metal one I may have had 4 stitches or something. Stuff barely had a welcoming smile for someone who have just arrived from a long journey Keeping the camera or laptop in the locker is not recommended by staff so everytime I sleep leaving them I get worried


71%

There was no hot water in the shower. Maybe include more hangers in the shower. There should be water available near the tea/coffee table.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great rooms love the curtains and fact everyone has a light although plugs at each bed like your sister hostel would be great also. Bar is nice and rooms big. Negative kitchen... It isn't a kitchen is a microwave and a kettle pretty much it's crappy so if you want to save money like most travellers don't expect a decent kitchen, also breakfast is 4.50 and pretty sure it's same as the hill spring which is free.. So that sucks but otherwise really good


80%

Staff could of been more helpful. I was made to feel a bit silly as I didn't know how hostels worked. Toilets and showers very clean but could be more showers and shower cubicles could be bigger to put your clothes etc. Room was warm and spacious but the side of bed was very dusty and hadn't been hoovered. Bar and lounge was fantastic. Reasonable prices for booze and lounge comfortable. Only suggestion would be to have better tea bags and milk

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(276 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback