Hostelworld.com

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 12,037 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 12,037 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Located at 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London.
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
England
London NW3 5LB 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage
86% 12037
51.5457078 -0.1757812
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.9

Very pleasant stay. Clean and attractive building. Good location. Be aware that cleaning staff will enter your room without knocking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
7.4

The building is very beautiful, just as shown in the photos, and location is good. Rooms are surprisingly spacy, dorms included. Guests include different people, from backpackers, through families to people on business trips. Breakfast is very good, although not included. The only problem is the kitchen: it is very small and ill-equipped (for example, for security reasons there are no knives other than butter knives). Wi-fi connection is unstable. In short: nice overall experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
9.1

Everything was pretty good. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
7.4

Great place, privacy is nice with the curtains. Strange smell because of the cleaner they use I believe. Some of the toilets didn't have a bin (difficult for some ladies at times) and one of the showers completely flooded on our last day. Tube stop is right outside the door which is convenient. Bar closes whenever they feel like!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
7.1

We paid for three nights, stayed for one, decided it wasn't for us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
4.9

The lady working the front desk most of the time was extremely rude and had a lot of attitude. electrical outlets were not working at the time and one staff members was very helpful but others tried to charge me to charge my phone. The location was mediocre and I would not recommend to a friend based on the service I received compared to how much I paid for 1 bed in 12 person dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel in a central location; I walked to Buckingham Palace and the museums from there. Staff is friendly and the bar very nice. Beds clean and comfy with curtains. The only problem is the tiny kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
4.3

It was a nice place, which is why I booked it. It is a fantastic place for ages 40+ but is awful otherwise if you are looking for a cool experience as a traveler. Bad location, boring staff and a boring culture.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Matthew, We are really sorry to read that we didn't reach your expectations on the location, and the general atmosphere. We are located in zone 2 and the Jubilee Line brings you in Central London in 10-15 minutes maximum. Camden Town which is one of the biggest highlights in London fro its markets, pub crawls and the lovely canals, is only a 10 minutes ride by bus from our hostel by bus. We do have a lot of backpackers especially during summer that seem to enjoy their stay in our hostel. Our staff is often mentioned in almost all of our reviews too. We wanted to tell you that you will always be more than welcome here at any time ! Have a safe trip back ! Palmers Lodge Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.0

Stayed here for one night, loved the building, full of character... in a lovely area and perfect 2 mins from tube station. Stayed here as close to Wembley for Coldplay concert.. Only 20 mins on the tube. Great value would stay again ! Thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Kimberley, Go Coldplay ! We hoped you enjoyed your stay with us as much as the gig :) Please feel free to come back at any time ! Palmers Lodge Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jun 2016
10.0

This place is amazing! Not only is the place beautiful and close to Camden market, the buses and the underground - the staff are great! I arrived at 2am and they were super helpful in getting me checked in. I didn't have enough for a towel rental (I really needed a shower after an 18 hour journey) and they gave one to me anyways as long as I returned it the next morning. Plus a staff member personally walked us to an amazing breakast place nearby the next morning that he loved.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Maura, Thanks a lot for this amazing feedback ! We are glad to read that all our efforts have been rewarded . It motivates us more to deliver an even better customer service. We definitely hope to see you next time you have the opportunity to travel in London ! All the best and safe trip back home ! Palmers Lodge Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.