X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
10266 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Overall a beautiful, very pleasant hostel. I'm very happy with my stay!

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Where should I start ? The magnificent mansion, the kind receptionist full of stories about the place, the bar and lounge for breakfast, the free bananas in the common room, the bed and bathroom, the price or the funny don-key doll

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It is very easy to go to the centre from there and the beds are very comfortable!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was ok, but nowhere to cook your own food. The common area was quite comfortable, but dull. It was more expensive than other hostels, and you have to pay extra for breakfast. I also had to pay extra to use a towel, and I didn't use the security locker as there was no padlock provided - you have to buy one.


80%

Good location on the Jubilee line for getting downtown easily Our room was small but overall the beds were comfortable for a hostel This was a good option over staying in a more expensive hotel


77%

It was a good clean hostel, but I was disappointed that breakfast wasn't free. Also I had booked for a female dorm, but when I arrived the staff told me I would have to be in a mixed dorm. I was not aware of the change, and I feel that I or any other customer should be notified when something like that situation happens.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

18인실 믹스 2일, 12인실 믹스 2일, 12인실 여성 1일 묵었음. 다른후기처럼 침대에 커튼과 개별등이 있어 좋았음. 다인실인데 시끄러운건 없었고ㅋ 한국인 많음..ㅋㅋ 욕실에는 뜨거운물 짱 잘나옴.근데 공용 샤워실에서는 30초마다 자동으로 꺼지는 시스템이라 좀 불편, 여자방에는 안에 샤워실이 있는데 그건 안그래서 좋았음. 홀은 대체로 편한 분위기고 커피나 차를 무료로 줘서 좋았음, 단점을 내몸에서 나는건지 시트에서 나는건지 어디서 나는건지 한 번씩 수건묵은냄새?하수구냄새?가 났었는데 피곤해서 신경쓸겨를없이 기절함. 벌레는 없는듯. 못봄ㅋ 대체로 만족하고 담에도 또 묵을 의향있음. 추천함

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Palmer's Lodge at Swiss Cottage is such a wonderful place to stay. It will ruin you for other Hostel experiences. Highlights are the gorgeous lounge room with free coffee all day, the spacious and exciting basement bar, the easy access to buses & tube stations, and a great general feeling of comfort and relaxation. Highly recommended, worth the extra few pounds.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really friendly staff, very clean facilities, nice bar, good location. First experience in a hostel and it was great. Definitely to recommend.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I truly enjoyed my stay at Palmers Lodge. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and the general feel of the place was cosy and welcoming. Closer to the Swiss Cottage station than I had anticipated which was a nice surprise and the curtains for the bunk beds were a bonus. The one remark I could leave is that the showers were somewhat disappointing. Weak flow and it was sometimes impossible to adjust the temperature. But that was only a minor set back during an otherwise great stay.


89%

Great place to stay - the area is not the prettiest part of London, but its very easy to get places from there, and the sandwich bar down the road is really nice


77%

It was clean and very well kept, great property. Very quiet kind of hostel with little interaction. More of an older crowd, late 20s - late 30s. Beautiful building with good access to busses and the tube. If you are not looking for a party hostel, its a great place to go. Breakfast wasn't worth the five pounds.


89%

The reorganisation downstairs means that the basement rooms are very much noisier than before because the bar doors are left open to the corridor. Some of the breakfast staff and check in staff could definitely be more welcoming and friendlier, some pretty dour faces at times. Bar staff good. Overall, this is still one of the best hostels in London - clean, good value, hot water most of the time, but they need to keep an eye on customer service.


97%

This is a really nice hostel. I was really surprised with the quality and the professionalism of the staff. I only had one issue with this hostel and that's because the hot water went out and cold showers are not fun in the morning. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and will return.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Reception staff in the mornings were very rude and unhelpful, but location is convenient and easy to get to, rooms and bathrooms are clean, and curtains over each bed was good for privacy.


100%

Great as always although disappointed the breakfast is no longer included. The new conservatory extension is great to sit and chill in.


83%

Very clean, has a bar/restaurant, pay to use laundry facilities and free iron, and free linens. My 12-person mixed dorm had a shower facility down the hall which was clean and spacious, however the showers were timed (you have to press a button to reset it every time you want more water) so you can take a 20mn shower if you want, it's just annoying. They do this to save water which is great, however they advertise the time as 30 seconds when it is 10, so every 10 seconds you press a button.


80%

It's good value for your money and easy access to all of London via the tube which is very near to Palmers Swiss Cottage Lodge.There are some local restaurants around the corner which are also a good value.If your just looking for a place to hang your hat at night while visiting London and to save money it's worth checking out.I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.


80%

Great staff and excellent location. Very good WiFi. Very good rooms to work and/or be social and meeting new friends. The hostel would be even better if there would have been bigger places to store personal belongings. With the current slimmed space under the bed one could only store a part of the belongings. Other hostels around the world have place for much more storage right next to the bed, so that people won't need to leave their bags around in the open space.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

To expensive, literally have to pay for almost everything. The main thing are the plug converters, but there's loads of others stuff: breakfast, towels, padlocks for your locker...you name it, it has a price tag.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(279 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback