Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 12666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 12666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.0

Card didn't work several times, staff were usually talking to each other and didn't recognise or respond unless you waited for a while at the counter. WiFi required reentry of password instead of single entry. Very noisy dormitories, might be a good idea to offer ear plugs for free at check in. Positives are that was reasonably clean and very well located for food in the immediate vicinity and to access Westminster and many attractions with single tube line that runs during the night as well

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.7

I loved the hostel! Really close to the tube station and places to buy food (there is a small street market nearby with great food!). The beds with the curtains for privacy are just the best idea! Great and nice staff too =D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ciao Gabriella ! Grazie tanto per il commento ! Siamo contenti to sapere che ti ha piaciuto il nostro posto. Speriamo di rivederti presto :)) Buon viaggio, Palmers Lodge Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.6

I had no problems with this hostel. Stayed for 5 nights in a 21-person female dorm. The only downside was I ended up with top bunk and the ceiling is sloped so there wasn't a ton of space. There also was no outlet nearby so I had to charge my phone across the room. The room I stayed in was surprisingly quiet and people were very respectful of each other. Plenty of bathrooms, privacy curtains on beds, large under-bed lockers, good common areas and very clean environment. Location was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.9

When i arrived it was at 11.30pm and i was waiting 45 minutes for the guy to check me in and he wasn't very helpful, didn't tell me breakfast time, check out time or where anything was. Also my room wasn't cleaned the whole time i was there and it was very messy. I also had trouble finding a plug in the room most of the time i had to charge my stuff in the hell next to the luggage room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Paula, thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the Hostelworld community as we attach a lot of importance to our customer service. We will kindly remind our reception about what you developed in your comment. Reception can sometimes be busier than usual especially in the late evening when there is only one receptionist. On behalf of Palmers Lodge, we'd would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused and hope it did not affect your stay too much. We look forward to seeing you back soon! Palmers Lodge Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.0

Great place, will stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Darren ! Please do, we'll be happy to welcome you as much as you want ! Palmers Lodge Team

9th Feb 2017
8.6

Hostel staff accommodating an will also give you polite reality check. This is a hostel not a hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.7

Bedsheets were clean. Wi-fi internet was working fine. All beds had curtains so I spent the 2 days not even seeing the face of the other people who stayed in the same room - total privacy. All beds have power sockets and I have noticed travel adapters were available to buy at the reception. I had no problem whatsoever, nothing to complain about. The hostel is situated close to the tube station but relatively far from the centre if you prefer walking, which I did.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Petru for your amazing recap' :) You're more than welcome back whenever you feel like to ! Safe trip, Palmers Lodge Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
4.3

Super strange atmosphere. There were people hanging out in the hallway and knocking at my door permanently. A girl tried to get in the room again and again to ask one guy for cigarettes. At night, the windows had to be open, otherwise it would get too hot - as my bed was right next to the window I was in wind all night and sick the next day. Not good to meet people - the bar was empty and the staff was not friendly. I do not undestand the good rating and would definitely not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Saskia for your honest review. We do appreciate it and we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. Our bar has amazing competitive discounts on mixers/cocktails/shots ! We hope you could give us another chance in the future. All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Cleanest hostel i think i've ever stayed in. Bathrooms are cleaned about 5 times a day. big hostel with heaps of room to chill and meet people. super fast wifi and comfortable beds. although they are stacked 3 high which was a surprise to me when i arrived. would stay here again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • matt282
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.6

Don't bother staying here unless you're in a dorm of less than 16 people. Full of old weirdos that act like they own the Joint very inconsiderate of other people staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.