X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
11199 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I liked the ambiance, the room, the beds with the curtains, the building, but I thought that 1 shower for 9 people was far from enough

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm pleased that you like the building. I understand about the lack of the shower, however there is another bathroom on the ground floor near to the lift. Thanks again for the comments. Tom

57%

While the drop down review gives this hostel a pretty good score, I had a horrible experience. I even ended up leaving the hostel one day early and staying elsewhere for a night. Multiple times their booking system double booked beds. Both nights I returned to the hostel to find people in my bed or there were clearly used sheets and dirty towels on the beds. I had to move rooms both nights which was a huge inconvenience. When I decided to leave they could not refund me. One star if that.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, firstly I would like to apologise for the bad experience that you had. We have taken a look at our hostel checking procedure pre-checkin each day in an effort to avoid such problems. However apologies again. Tom

89%

More showers would be great.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

My friends and I stayed here for four nights and on multiple occasions there were people in our beds because the hostel double booked the beds making us move from room to room. After all of this there was no effort made by the staff to right their wrongs after we all explicitly stated how upset we were. The hostel itself is beautiful and in a lovely location. It was clean for the most part, but when we first checked in two out of four of our beds were still dirty from past stays.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are always looking to improve our service, and your comments are useful for this. We are changing the way we perform our daily hostel checks to ensure that the correct beds should always be free for those arriving. However I apologise for the fact that this wasn't in effect for you and your friends. thanks again for your comments. Tom

94%

My stay was nice and pleasant. Noelia in reception was very kind and helpful. The facilities are vey good and the level of cleanliness excellent. The breakfast team are very nice and welcoming. I would most definitely recommend Palmers Lodge as a fine place to stay! Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself here. It is also nice to hear that you will recommend us to other travellers. Thanks again, Tom

94%

Great hostel in terms of facilities, location etc. but it has a weird vibe - the place was full but no one talked to each other. Not a good place for solo travellers wanting to make friends to explore London, but great if you want a quiet hostel


77%

Almost everything good in this hostel The only regrets: the kitchen for guest too small and , the last time I was there, with just one microwaves In some dorm there are few plugs

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I understand that the self-catering facilities are limited at our hostel. However due to the nature of the building it is difficult for us to make space for a larger one. If your bed doesn't have a plug then you can go to reception where we can provide extension cables. Thanks again. Tom

97%

I've had a lovely time at the Palmers Lodge Hostel, and would stay there again any time. Staff is friendly the house is charming and you get free tea and coffee too :)

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The beds were rather crowded, being triple bunks; the room was also small, and the lockers couldn't fit hard shell suitcases so they made it even smaller.


91%

I really liked my stay in Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage! It has made a fantastic experience my first time in London.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was lovely and staff were helpful; however, for the price it would have been nice to have a basic breakfast included. Unfortunately, during my stay there was a significant noise disturbance one night at 1 a.m. caused by other guests who thought it appropriate and funny to shout and bang on other guest's doors to try and wake them up. I realise the hostel can only do so much to moderate these situatuions, but quite disappointing for what is advertised as a boutique hostel.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was always loud in our room (12 people). Some guys just came at 3 a.m. and turned on the light - my bed had no cover above so the light was over my head. Horrible. But that was nearly the only bad thing.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next » last »
(252 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback