X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
11727 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very interesting hostel, looks more like a hotel from the outside. The lounge is lovely. Very few useable outlets in the room, especially if you have a top bunk. Curtains around the beds, which is nice. The bathrooms were cleaned often. Internet worked well. The bar downstairs was cute. Swiss cottage stop is Zone 2 on the tube, but still convenient. Lots of bus stops around too.


86%

Nothing to complain about.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ! All the best ! Palmers Lodge Team

74%

It was elegant and austere. The thing about the curtains is, that you get to have some privacy in your very small space of your bed. But, since most of the curtains are almost always closed, when someone gets to the bedroom they tend to talk loudly as if nobody was there. That was very annoying, and also the fact that the bathroom felt more like a public bathroom. The breakfast was pretty expensive for a hostel and the kitchen is really small, so you can't cook a proper meal. Other than that, ok

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maria, Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The breakfast is actually a good deal for money regarding the fact that each guest can eat as much as he/she want. As we don't have enough space, the kitchen remains small and this is why we do have a restaurant. We hope to seeing you again in the future, Palmers Lodge Team

91%

I loved the hostel! The privacy curtains for each bed are a huge plus, the bathrooms were always clean and the beds very comfy. Convenient location close to the tube station with only a short tube ride to Oxford Street or Westminster. I will definitely stay here again.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic hostel, I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Staff were really helpful and kind. Very close to Jubilee Tube line. Breakfast is good value for money. My whole experience overall was great.


97%

Great value for money. Nice facilities, good working Wi-Fi. Amazing breakfast - definitely a good choice.


80%

Nice Hostel! Really beautiful place and the beds are comfortable. Definetly would stay again!


100%

Best place to stay in London!


89%

will be nice if the washing machine has hot water too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Giovanni, Our washing machine has hot water. You can actually choose your washing program and therefore the water temperature ! All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

97%

Staff here are always friendly and really helpful. They do their best to keep the place clean even if your fellow hostelians are determined to make things otherwise. My favourite place to stay!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I like the this old building and love the fact that they have added curtains to each bed for privacy. It's on jubilee line which is pretty convenient to get any attractions want within 10-15 min

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shiya, Thank you for taking your time to write us this good review. We hope to seeing you back in the future in our hostel ! Warm regards, Palmers Lodge Team

83%

Nice hostel, quite large but because of the layout you don't feel overwhelmed by all the people there. The 4-bed girls room was clean and quiet, with good secure storage space (though you did have to close the drawers to let people in and out of the room). Enthusiastic staff! One thing to note if you're arriving later at night is that there is no food places open in the area after 10, so grab dinner before you arrive. The restaurants and grocery stores during the day are plentiful.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachel, Thanks a lot for these kind words ! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Most of the food places closes around 9pm but there is still this Off Licence shop selling food, open till late (after midnight). We hope to seeing you again next time ! Warm Regards, Palmers Lodge Team

100%

Staff was excellent and the four poster beds offered comfort and privacy.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vivien, Thanks for this awesome review ! Please feel free to come back whenever you want. All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

80%

Spacious, gorgeous old mansion with super comfortable beds, and easy access to both bus stops and metro. The staff are cheerful and always willing to help. Absolutely enjoyed my stay here. Will definitely stay here should I go back to London and recommend it to others who do go. Cheers!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shweta, Thanks you for this awesomw review ! Please don't hebsitate to pop in at reception and have a chat at reception. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Warm Regards, Palmers Lodge Team

91%

Stayed for two nights, good hostel would stay again. Curtains around beds in the 12-bed dorms are cool. A friend mentioned putting a bench in the downstairs shower rooms would be handy to keep stuff from getting wet, but other than that facilities were decent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kirsten ! thank you for this kind review ! We take note about your idea, it may improve our guests satisfaction indeed . We look forward to seeing you again soon ! All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

54%

On the arrival there were a misenderstood about the room : we were a family of 5 persons included 3 children, i had to book a bedroom of six places because there was no 5 available ; thinking that we would be 5 in the bedroom. In fact it was not a family room as i thought but a room mixt du to be completed by a sixth personn. Also very disapointed about the kitchen very small and poor Im using youth hostel and it 's the first time that there is no kitchen well at least it was clean,secure

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Staff doesn't clean beds properly and had even 'cleaned' the wrong peoples beds of people who hadn't checked out instead of people who had. Only has a microwave so can't cook your own food . It's not a bad hostel just not necessarily a good youth hostel

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Used it for 14 women on a weekend away, while we were at a conference at Wembley. Worked really well for us. Hostel was clean, and well appointed. Made use of the bar each evening too which was very reasonably priced!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We enjoyed our stay with you. We would have preferred our own bathroom but knew when we booked that we would have to share. It would be great to have a dry private place to get dressed after using the public showers. We appreciated the cleanliness and the safe environment.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was my first experience ever in a hostel, and as an older woman, it was quite daunting to begin with. But, I am delighted to report that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the staff ever so helpful, everything neat and clean, the atmosphere totally cosmopolitan and interesting. Not to speak of the lovely Victorian building, the ceiling and chandelier in the lounge, the ornate wooden floor, the wide staircase leading up to my room. Not forgetting a cuppa tea ad lib!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(7733 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback