X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
11725 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

One of the best hostel in London which is licated only 3 mins walk from the nearest tube station. Clean and great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your great review. We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us at Palmers Lodge and we are looking forward to see you staying with us again! Thanks from all Palmers Lodge Team

89%

Great and spacious building, but the room I was in was a bit cramped. The bunks are curtained in, which is very nice for privacy, but I never knew if I could turn on the light or if I could make noise because I could never be sure someone wasn't trying to get some shut-eye.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your great feedback. The aim of the curtains around the bed is to offer a bit of privacy inside your bunk. The fun side of sharing a dormitory is that you will never know if you can find someone respectful as you. We wish all our customers had the same thought as yours about turning on the lights at night! A big thanks from Palmers Lodge, we hope to see you staying with us again. Regards

86%

We stayed there to celebrate Silvester in London: perfect clean room with own bathroom, tube station right in the near, polite service - all in all very good :)

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marcel , Thank you for sharing your feedback with all the other travelers. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your New Year's Eve with us and wish you the best for 2016 ! Please note that you are more than welcome back whenever you have the opportunity to travel again in London. Warm Regards, Palmers Lodge Team

69%

Very nice hostel and staff. The washrooms had hair and a lot of unclean parts.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for this great feedback. Our housekeeping team cleans the bathrooms frequently every day until 10pm . We are sorry to read that they were not clean enough when you used the premises. Next time don't hesitate to report it to your receptionists so they can act and improve everyone's stay. We really hope to see you again next time you go to London ! Palmers Lodge Team

100%

Wonderful staff, very friendly. Clean facilities and comfortable accommodations. Loved my Stay!!!

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Charles for this really nice feedback ! We look forward to seeing you in the future again with us ! Palmers Lodge Team

94%

Overall I had a great time in this hostel. The staff are very friendly and approachable. Huge lounge, nice bar and you can meet loads of people all over the world. Take your lock with you to lock your laptop and small bag (10kg-ish) under the bed in the locker or buy a lock for £2 from the reception. However the kitchen is tiny and while you queue for the microwave at lunch time, chat to each other :) and they have only one fridge which is jammed. Cheers guys, I would defo recommend it!! ;)

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Edvard ! Thank you for sharing this nice feedback with the others ! We are about to get a second microwave and a second tiny fridge in order to improve our guest's stay and comfort. We are also happy to read that you liked the atmosphere of this place and would be more than happy to see you again whenever you feel like to ! All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

80%

I really enjoyed staying here. The staff was wonderful. The only real problem I had, and I do not have great solutions given that I was staying in the 28 bed room, was that it smelled so bad. It was really hard to fall asleep, and I wanted to be out of the room as much as possible. I appreciated the glade freshener in the room, but it really did not do enough. I was there for 4 days and when I left all of my clothes and luggage picked up the smell of the room and smelled bad too.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Natalie, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We recently put an air freshener and the housekeeping team often opens the windows in order to improve our guest's stay and we are sorry to hear that the smell was still an issue for you. We look forward to seeing you again next time for your next London trip :) All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

94%

Every thing was very good !! Only thing was that the kitchen was very small and not very good only a toaster and microwave and a small fridge .. I expected more..

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matt ! We are getting an extra microwave and a small extra fridge for your next time here ! You are more than welcome at any time , Palmers Lodge Team

86%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The location was convenient and a close walk to the tube station. In the neighborhood there were plenty of shops for groceries and necessities, and up the hill a bit is a really cute shopping and dining center. The facilities were ample and very clean, I really enjoyed and appreciated the lounge with tea and coffee. My only complaints from my stay are out of the control of the staff and due to other guests' respect level.


100%

It was so lovely! This hostel is so beautiful, I couldn't believe it! Also, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is great!


86%

Little room for a stay with 2 children

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place. Though it'd be nice if the rooms had more socket, like maybe one at every bed with the lamp. We only had six sockets between twelve people. The en suite facilities were great, I was worried there'd only be one shower but there were two, and two toilets, and a hairdryer, so no queues with only twelve of us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Juliet, Thank for these kind words, we re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us ! There are usually enough plugs for every one, but we will take note at it and see what we can do in order to improve our guest's stay in the future. We wish a great Christmas holidays and hope to see you next time in London ! Kind Regards, Palmers Lodge Team

86%

Helpful staff, friendly with a smile.


69%

Have stayed before in a first floor room and loved it. This time we were in the basement. The bathroom facilities down there are very cramped, the rooms swelteringly hot, and unlike upstairs there are no personal plugs in the beds, which caused some issues. I would recommend the breakfast! And suggest asking for a non basement room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Megan, First of all thank you for coming back in our hostel and for your kind words. As we need enough toilets for everyone, this is the reason why it could seem tinier than the one upstairs. Next time feel free to ask reception if you experience any inconvenience like the temperature in your room, we are here to improve your stay . Have a lovely Christmas holidays and we look forward to seeing you next time ! Kind Regards, Palmers Lodge Team

83%

The guests weren't friendly but everything else about it was fine and made our stay worthwhile.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kelsey, Thank you for this kind review. Have a good Christmas holidays and we look forward to seeing you next time ! All the best, Palmers Lodge Team

94%

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here, it was my favorite hostel yet. The place was gorgeous, and I liked how spacious the rooms were and how the curtains provided privacy in the dorm rooms. The staff was helpful, and overall it was a really great atmosphere.

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff, great value, rooms are clean and comfortable. Very basic, so if you're unwilling to keep things simple you won't enjoy it. Kitchen facilities not enough for the size of hostel (one fridge, one microwave for all guests), but clean and good enough. Location is excellent, and overall vibe friendly.


97%

Very Nice Hostel, excellent breakfast! I would only recommend more space for the backpacks into the rooms, the space given is not enough


77%

staff were kind and helpful. willing to speak english. we shared the large attic room with 20 or so women. it was great place to be. quiet and clean. the cleaning staff worked efficiently, quietly and well. was thankful for the curtains around each bed. it gave privacy and shut out the light for resting with lights or outdoor lighting showing in the room thru window .


77%

If posible, customer Kichen has, it will be perfect! and a few stuffs are great service! I wl I troduce toy friends and customers !

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do have a tiny kitchen but it only has the minimum like a fridge and microwave for ready to eat foods. But thank you for your suggestion and feedback!! :)

(186 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback