X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
9576 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Things Fall Apart, says the title of Chinua Achebe's best-known novel. So, apparently, does Palmer's Lodge. Deterioration since I last stayed there a few months ago stunned me. I brought a group of 14 based on previous experience there. Wrong move. The staff was inefficient and sometimes rude. Lights and electricity points at bedside did not work -- and were not fixed despite pleading. And the place was in chaos because of renovation. I was promised a guest kitchen would be installed, It wasn't.


74%

Pros: -nice beds, curtains on beds -clean bathrooms Cons: -not greatest location -small, awkward lockers


77%

Hostel is located a little bit far from the center. However, subway station is nearby. The staff is ok, they get the job done. Bathrooms are very new and clean. Rooms are a little bit on the old side. The room I was in felt a little bit stuffy. (And that was in march! can't imagine how hot it can get during the summer....). All in all, good value for the money, but I feel you can find more centrally located hostels in london


83%

A hot chocolate would be great at breakfast...

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Rooms are a bit small, as are the beds. It was a bit tight for a 1.80 girl like me. Breakfast was really good, staff very friendly and a great location near city centre


91%

I go to London twice a year or so, for a day or two or three. Till a year ago I always went to a hotel for €60,- a night. I found that Palmers Lodge, at €17,50 a night, provides me with all I need: A place to sleep, a shower and a breakfast. Add to that the good location, 2 minutes from a tube station and the pleasant atmosphere and it's clear whyl I'll be back!

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Wonderful building, staff. Great value. Not too far from center of London. Breakfast prompt with good hours-limited selection. Very clean. Would visit again :)

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

positives: loads of privacy, comfy beds, curtains, free wifi, coffee machine, close to swiss cottage station, easy to get to from the airport negatives: atmosphere is always lacking in this place. big groups suck, showers are annoying, no kitchen you can cook in just a fridge. Great for people who want to sleep!! i always pass by when i'm in transit but would never come to meet people and be social


94%

Staff were very helpful. Loved the coffee/tea all day. Kitchen services were poor (microwave and toaster…no way to cook).


89%

It was very nice. The breakfast is excellent !


74%

Nice old ex-mansion in a good location.Good value for the money in this part of London easy to acess via public transport. My main disappointment was the breakfast.I know it's budget but an offering of something hot(even at cost)would have been a nice option. But on the whole you can't complain at the cost in this area of London. I did like the sitting/reading area nice atmosphere. Thank you.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I had a great stay at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage. The staff was very friendly, the atmosphere was very cosy and with great shared facilities.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

They are ALWAYS cleaning the bathrooms. Which is such a nice treat for hostels. You never have to worry about getting into a shower that's filled with hair and grime from the last 8 people. Please keep this great work up. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. The only downside is it's. Bit far from Central London. But way better than other hostels in London. Near two tube lines and great bus service makes it easy to get around.


100%

Great atmosphere and lovely staff!


100%

As a mature woman needing affordable, safe accommodation whilst studying midweek, in london, the hostel provided everything I needed and surpassed my expectations. I will be returning on a regular basis.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great price that included breakfast and Wifi, friendly, beds made and comfortable, makes London more affordable.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Security is good, you need keycards everywhere. Location is not so good, but it has a metro station close as always. Staff are indifferent and people are numbers. Atmosphere is cool, lots of young people. Cleanliness is great, bathrooms are cleaned 6 times a day. Facilites are not so good: there are not enough toilets, definetly. Every time you want to use it, be prepared to wait 20 minutes. Lots of people sharing the dorms (28 beds!), so it is hard to get the rooms organized and silenced.


100%

I really love this place, be carefull some bedrooms are really tiny but others are great! Lovely place & great staff!

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

2nd stay at this hostel. Great atmosphere from the off, all but one of the reception staff were nice and helpful at all times. One seemed tired and grumpy a few times. Beds comfy,my request taken into account, lots of space, WiFi great and lots of different people to meet. Felt very secure As a lone female...location is in a great place very near the tube and lots of amenities around.


86%

Car park was always free, since 1st March you have to pay £ 5/day which I don't think it's a reasonable charge for the nature of customers that choose to stay in a hostel.


(203 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback