X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
11723 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The hostel is so far away from everything which wouldn't be an issue but the bar closes at 11-11:30.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank for taking time to share your experience with us. Our hostel is in zone 2 at 10 minutes by tube from Soho which is the city center ! Loads of night buses are running all night long from Central London. Just ask reception next time and they'll be more than happy to advise you regarding transportation. Unfortunately our license doesn't allow us to let the bar open after midnight. There is a pub just down the road if you wanted more drinks :) Kind Regards

94%

Since I already have two very good experiences with Palmers Lodge, I plan to stay there every time I visit London.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is great!! We`d love to see you staying with us again when in London. Please come back and visit us soon! Palmers Lodge Team

80%

One big advantage over other is that their are custom-made and offer a very decent amount of privacy , even in a 28-bed dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review We are happy to receive all our customers feedback, hope to see you staying with us again when in London next time. Palmers Lodge Team

91%

Enjoyed my stay. Would love to visit again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review. We would love to see you again too! Please come to stay with us again when in London next time Palmers Lodge Team

80%

good value for money, just the kitchen is really small and not practical for preparing a meal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. We do have a self catering kitchen for our guests, we are working around the clock to offer the best possible experience to all our customers. We hope to see you staying with us again Palmers Lodge Team

71%

overall i had a great stay. it is a very clean hostel. the only negative experience that i had was the wifi. my bed was at third floor last few beds, i cant get any signal and had to move to the few beds in front to have a connection.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time reviewing your stay with us. We are currently working to improve our WI-Fi signal and speed. Should in London next time, why not come and stay with us again? I am sure you will enjoy the Wi-Fi too. Palmers Lodge Team

83%

enjoy my time there,generally its nicely located,close to two tube stations,very close to shops and cafes etc,good that they cleanded the rooms and bathrooms on a daily basis and keep the place cleand,liked privacy in the beds,staff were very helpful with any you needed help with,maybe time of the year I was there,it was quietish on the atmosphere,otherwise enjoyable time had.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi many thanks for your review. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay at Palmers Lodge. We would love to see you staying with us again. Palmers Lodge Team

97%

The hostel is run by very friendly staff, makes all the difference!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your great feedback. We are very happy to know that our guests are enjoying their stay with us. Please come and visit us again Palmers Lodge Team

100%

This was my first time staying at a hostel at 47 years old I don't know why I've never stayed in one before if there all as good as the Parmers Lodge I'll definitely be staying again 😊😊

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. A great feedback from a great experience is always rewarding. Thanks again from all the Palmers Lodge Team

86%

I stayed at the hostel for two weeks while looking for an apartment in London. It is in a good location, first tube stop of Zone 2, in a safe area. Most of the staff is really nice and it is very clean. Traveling has changed in the era of smartphones and laptops... so not many people actually talk to each other in the lounge. Maybe one place without Wifi would be a good idea. The 28 bedroom probably is best value for money.

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks a lot for your feedback. We are listening to all our customers feedback, and we really appreciate your consideration. We are working to make the lounge more sociable place. Should in London next time, please come and stay with us again. Palmers Lodge Team

69%

I thought the location of the hostel was great just because it was located near the tube station as well as some nice restaurants and pubs. Very much enjoyed the facilities like the lounge and the downstairs bar and sitting room. The bathrooms were disgusting in my opinion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi tanks for taking time reviewing your stay. We are sorry to hear you have encountered some issues with the bathroom. we are working hard to keep the whole hostel nice and clean at all time. We would like to see you staying again with us to demonstrate differently. Palmers Lodge Team

97%

Great hostel for meeting fellow travelers from all over the world. Standard dorms, clean bathrooms, and a nice rec room. The bar and outdoor patio are great for meeting new people. Close to restaurants, a pub and the underground. Take the #31 bus into Camden Town (my favorite part of London).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi we love to know you had a great experience with us. We do appreciate a lot our customers feedback's. Hope to see you staying again with us and try our new beers. Palmers Lodge Team

89%

This place was great. It's super easy to get around London with the tube and is nice because the Swiss Cottage neighborhood is less hectic than most of the city. The bathrooms were very clean and they offer safes to rent in addition to lockers. The beds are cozy and have curtains around them so its like your own tiny little room! My only issue with the bunks was that whenever anyone in the 3-bed bunks moved or shifted at all, the whole bed swayed. I woke up with sea legs. But I would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking time reviewing your stay with us. We really appreciate all feedback`s from our customers. This will be definitely look into. We are always trying to offer the best possible experience to all our guests. If in London next time, why not try staying with us again? Palmers Lodge Team

69%

Location aint't bad, near the jubilee line tube station which gets you to the center pretty easy. Atmosphere is alright, depends on the people staying there I suppose. Nice bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks a lot for your feedback. Visiting London next time? Why not stay with us again? We are looking forward to see you again Palmers Lodge Team

74%

The dormitories have huge heavy doors, which slam shut very loudly when opened/closed. So the larger the dorm the more likely you will get constantly woken up during the night as many people check in/out at all hours of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking time reviewing your stay with us. The hostel has big old doors but they should not slam at any time. We have now rectifies this issue and we do apologies for any inconvenience. We are hoping to see you again staying with us at Palmers Lodge

83%

I had a great time in Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, though my bed was double booked by another girl, Palmers Lodge deal for the problem fast. I will go back if I go to London again!


49%

Nothing major, not the worst not good. For me was just an emergencie option as due to a mistake I found myself with nowhere to stay on a saturday night during big design and fashion festivals in the city. Wouldn't recommend it at all, but if there is no other option in London, is a safe budget option to bet. But just that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that our hostel didn't reach your expectations even though we didn't understand what were yours. As you say, it was an emergency option in your case. Our guest however are in general very satisfied and let us know everyday. Regards, Palmers Lodge Team

94%

Just an amazing place to spend in London if you are looking for something good. The common areas are big and very clean.


89%

I stayed at the 12 ppl bedroom at first and then changed to the 28 ppl bedroom. It has a lot more space and is better value for money.


71%

It was a great hostel if your not looking for a cheap place to stay. The hostel itself is rather basic but the extras are what set it apart. The ride to and from the airport saves so much money and the tour was fantastic.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(187 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback