X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
10719 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The atmosphere was a bit heavy due to some people (clients) and their dressing way, posture and behaviour. The staff was a bit distracted with money issues. Thank you

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The breakfast is not interesting at all, and costs 4.50 pounds now. Too bad.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

A bit noisy due to school groups earlier in the evening but fine during the sleeping hours.


100%

203B: chambre agréable bien que petite. Chambre très propre, très bonne literie, produits de toilette et boissons à disposition très appréciables! Petite suggestion d'amélioration: ajouter un porte manteau. De manière globale, un cadre magnifique, proche de toute les commodités de transport, avec un personnel très agréable, de nombreux services et une ambiance chaleureuse. Merci pour ce séjour!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Sicuramente non è l'ostello più economico un cui sia stato, ma per questa qualità sono soldi ben spesi! Sfortunatamente non andava il wifi alla sera e al mattino dopo, quando ho lasciato l'alloggio, quindi non so in quanto tempo abbiano risolto.. Per il resto tutto buono, suggestivo alla vista e buona privacy anche nelle camere. Bagni senza pretese ma puliti e ben tenuti. Colazione non troppo varia ma decisamente abbondante, costo 4,50 pound.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Alles in Allem eine sehr gute Unterkunft in London! Gute Lage durch die U-Bahn Nähe, Essen und Einkaufen in der nächsten Straße möglich, Frühstück günstig und auf alle Fälle ausreichend. Eine freie Steckdose pro Bett wäre toll, ist etwas umständlich immer woanders sein Handy, Laptop anzustecken, Zimmer, Bett und Bad alles sehr sauber! Und sogar im 28 Zimmer Bett war es möglich gut zu schlafen :-) Komme gerne beim nächsten London Besuch zurück!


49%

2월인데 전혀 도미토리에는 난방이되지않아 너무 추웠네요 직원들은 너무 무성의하고 동양인들에게만 유독그런지... 꽤 많은 동양인들이 찾는걸로 아는데 개선합시다!!!!

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Really great building. Very clean. Lots of people milling about but quiet in the rooms at night. Quick tube ride to city centre.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Swiss Cottage was good in terms of location. Minutes away from the tube station and also minutes away from local food establishments. The only downside is that I was unable to get a refund on the nights I didn't stay when I had to return home early due to unforseen circumstances

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is one of my absolute favourite hostels in the world, nice and clean with moderate pricing and excellent location (walking distance to centre of London). I always meet friendly people from all over the world at Palmer's and there's a lovely reading lounge and a decent bar downstairs.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Hi there, the stay was excellent, good atmosphere, and good value for the cost of it, I'd just change the fact that I had to cancel 3 of days and couldn't get refound for it, as others hotels do. regardless that, everything was great

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This was such a lovely experience! The hostel was very quaint and quiet. It is a bit far from the goings on of town but is located very close to a bus stop and metro station. It has been my best experience at a hostel thus far. It seemed more like a hotel than anything.


86%

Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are happy that you enjoyed yourself. Thanks for the recommend! Tom

94%

Muy buen hostel, a dos cuadras del metro, excelente atención del personal. Los espacios comunes muy buenos, solo mejoraría las camas , colchones de muy mala calidad , pasados 7 días tu espalda lo siente !

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Das Hotel hat eine gute Lage (2 min zur nächsten Tube-Station). Es befindet sich in Zone 2, also durchaus noch sehr zentral. Man merkt dem Gebäude seinem historischen Charme durchaus an, was positiv gemeint ist. Ich hatte ein 21-Bett-Zimmer gebucht, was im hinteren Bereich, in dem mein Bett sich befand, etwas eng war, aber okay. Leider hatte ich ausrechnet eines der lediglich 4 Doppelstockbetten im Raum erwischt und somit auch keine Steckdose am Bett. Ansonsten war es aber super.


89%

Thanks for your hospitality.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

I am an "old customer" of this hotel. I've always been very satisfied, (cleanliness/facilities/staff... everything was good), but my last journey was a little bit awful. Indeed, I've been in the hotel with a group of French students. Nothing was organised to control the group of students Noisy breakfasts every day and my last night was the best. They authorized the group to do a party so: no access to the porch" and "a no night" (my room was the closest one to the porch).

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel,nice location, lots of good people and very clean. Like Arnie said: I'll be back.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we'll be happy to see you! Thanks for the positive & funny comments! All the best. Tom

89%

Excellence auberge ! Sécurité des biens et des personnes assurée, propreté entretenue au quotidien, agencement de la chambre (dortoir 28 personnes) bien organisé. Petit bémol pour le personnel dont le sourire est parfois manquant. Pour autant, auberge à recommander !

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Many of the facilities advertised were limited. Bar was poorly stocked and staffed and hard to find the right time to attend at around the scheduled group dinners. Bathrooms were awkward with both use of males and females.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We don't get too many large groups at Swiss Cottage so it's a very unusual situation where the bar is taken by a whole group. As for the bathrooms, we do have a female only bathroom located on the first floor. Kind regards

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(358 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback