X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage Reviews

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
10942 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Fantastic Hostel, with an unpaired atmosphere and close to the tube station. I was in a 9 bed room and privacy was granted by courtains on every bed, and the only issue was due to the only plug available for every 3 beds.


89%

I had a great stay. A shame though that breakfast wasn't included in the price!


100%

Tudo muito bom. A Localizacao, o atendimento, as acomodações. Recomendo aos que gostam de estar em otimos hostels.


66%

My reviews going to come from a more business-perspective: you're going to want to wear ear plugs and have an eyepatch for sleeping, as each cubicle has no roof and the walls are plywood. There are plenty of lockers to keep your belongings safe, though you might want to bring your own lock. There's also no stove in the safe-catering kitchen, making it more of a microwave room than a kitchen.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

By far the best hostel I've stayed in. I don't have a bad word to say about it. Beautiful building, warm atmosphere, helpful staff. Not really a crazy party hostel so if you're looking for that it might not be for you, but honestly I couldn't recommend it more. Definitely be staying here next time I'm in London.


100%

Pleasant helpful staff, have stayed four times now & no doubt I'll do so again next year. Also excellent value for money, I really can't fault Palmers Lodge!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff was not very helpful or friendly. It was a bit stressful to deal with them.


74%

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and the curtains are a good feature. One suggestion for every traveller bring an eye mask because other travellers can be quite inconsiderate and turn lights on in the middle of the night/early morning. The lounge area gave us a nice place to relax at the end of the day. I would recommend if you are on a budget.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Mi experiencia en general ha sido muy buena. La limpieza de habitaciones como baños y salaa comunes es perfecta. La gente es muy amable y servicial. Mi unica queja es que la cocina del hostel es mas bien un microondas mas que una cocina. No hay siquiera una cacerola para cocinar ni sarten ni nada parecido. Ademas teniendo en cuenta la cantidad de ge te que se aloja aqui, el microondas es uno solo y aveces se arma cola para el mismo.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice and clean place.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Ótimo hostel! Boa localização, internet ótima, seguro, banheiro em bia quantidade e agua quente! recomendo! ótimo custo benefício!


94%

The beautiful building, the nice staff, the atmosphere and great location makes place a bonafide winner for travelers needing place rest, fuel up and be ready for a good time in London.


86%

Very interesting hostel, looks more like a hotel from the outside. The lounge is lovely. Very few useable outlets in the room, especially if you have a top bunk. Curtains around the beds, which is nice. The bathrooms were cleaned often. Internet worked well. The bar downstairs was cute. Swiss cottage stop is Zone 2 on the tube, but still convenient. Lots of bus stops around too.


86%

Nothing to complain about.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Camas e banheiros meio pequenas. Ambiente mais tranquilo e reservado. Boa localização com metrô e vários restaurantes em volta.


74%

It was elegant and austere. The thing about the curtains is, that you get to have some privacy in your very small space of your bed. But, since most of the curtains are almost always closed, when someone gets to the bedroom they tend to talk loudly as if nobody was there. That was very annoying, and also the fact that the bathroom felt more like a public bathroom. The breakfast was pretty expensive for a hostel and the kitchen is really small, so you can't cook a proper meal. Other than that, ok


91%

I loved the hostel! The privacy curtains for each bed are a huge plus, the bathrooms were always clean and the beds very comfy. Convenient location close to the tube station with only a short tube ride to Oxford Street or Westminster. I will definitely stay here again.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place to stay in London!


89%

will be nice if the washing machine has hot water too

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

El hostel estaba bien. Tenia una sala común donde podías tomar café y té lo que querias. Los baños estaban fuera de las habitaciones lo cual me pareció incomodo porque eramos muchos. La cocina no es para cocinar. Sólo tiene microondas. No tiene organización. Yo compre cosas y me desaparecieron a las horas.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(289 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback