X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge Zagreb Reviews

Branimirova 25, Zagreb, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
516 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Everything was good except for my 'basement' room with just a tiny window opening right onto the public pavement. Aircon was turned on to shut out the street noise but could still hear and feel the occasional trams rambling on the tracks. But credit to the hostel for keeping the room so clean and comfortable though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your time, and kind words for our cleanliness and comfort :) We are sorry for the noise, it is downside of this location in the city center, but if it bothers you, just contact us prior to arrival, and we will suggest more quiet room types. We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again, since the tracks are being renovated as we speak, and we truly hope to reduce all tram noise! Kind regards, PL team

71%

Wasn't amazing but close to the station and had a kettle so I was happy. beds are really high, close to the station if you want to go to Plitvice. bit far from the centre to get food which is a pain


91%

Very close to the train station. small room but clean and safe.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your time! Hope to host you again and leave you with the same good impression :) PL team

86%

Good value and very good location near train station but still only a short walk to the center of the city. Was very empty while I was there and staff were not lively/chatty at all. Recommendations were kind of flat as well. Watch out with your room as well, half of them are underground and really feel very dungeon-like

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We were a bit confused with your review since the hostel was full during your stay. We are sad that you didn't like our recommendations, usually people are very happy with them and our staff is always praised, but it's a two way street , sometimes if you are quiet, they don't push it :) We apologize for the rooms, since you have stayed there 3 days, you could have told us, we would have changed it! Talk to the staff, don't leave unsatisfied, we are here for you! PL

77%

Very clean, comfortable, friendly staff one of the better places we stayed in central europe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Than you for you great feedback, we are happy that you have liked your stay and we hope that you will have a chance to stay with us once more, and be satisfied with our level of service and location :) Cheers, PL team

97%

Very comfortable beds and nice place. Not far away from the train station. I didn't like that we just knew we had to pay one extra euro per person when arrived there. I think it should be included already when booking through hostelworld, because when I booked it didn't say anything about that. If you receive a recipe saying amount due on arrival and then you have to pay extra it's not nice (what if I had travelled with the exact money?).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate the time you took to write it. We only wished that you have asked the receptionist about that, they would have explained right away.Maybe you did not notice the information about the tourist tax on Hostelworld, but it is also marked on the receipt which you receive when your booking is confirmed, and it is also written on the reception. It is the Croatian tax law, and we have to abide it, but we do apologize for the inconvenience. PL team

94%

Everything was just perfect and the staff went the extra mile to help us. Our stay was short but lovely in every way. Keep it up guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very very much, we have really enjoyed reading your e mail, and will most definitely keep it up :) We hope to host you again, maybe for a longer period of time so we can show you how much more lovely we can be :) Cheers, PL team

100%

My experience at the hostel was excellent. The place was very well located and thus also easy to find. My room was clean and very big, and there was everything I needed. Also, when I arrived, the girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and was able to provide me with a lot of useful information. Overall, I was really satsfied with the hostel!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this kind review, we are happy that you loved your stay with us and we sincerely hope that we will have a chance to host you again in the future! Cheers, PL team

89%

I shared a 4 beds room with my friend and 2 other people. We naturally start chatting and I met other balkan people in the kitchen. It was an easygoing atmosphere. The bathroom was inside the room, quite big and clean. There were large boxes underneath the bed to keep your belongings safe. I borrowed a locker from the reception for free. The staff was really helpful and friendly even cheering me up when i lost my friends on the way to the airport :S

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for these kind words, we hope that you caught up with your friends in the end :) We also hope that you will have a chance to stay with us some other time and have the same positive experience ! Cheers, PL team

97%

We stayed here for one night and arrived around 930. We checked in very quickly and we were also upgraded from an 8person to a 4 person room so that was nice. It was very close to the train station which was great for us because we arrived in Zagreb at night. Overall great stay and I would stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
We truly appreciate these kind words and such a nice review :) We always try to find the best solution for all travelers and try to upgrade as much as we can, and are very happy when our guests see the effort we put in. We hope to host you again and leave such a positive experience once more! Kind regards, PL team

83%

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! There is a nice atmosphere and the facilities are good. The only downside was our window that looked into walls and that was surrounded by very noisy airconditioning machines...

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this great review, we appreciate your time :) We apologize for the noise, we had no idea that they could bother gusts and we will try to find a better solution. Hope to host you again and leave the same impression :) PL team

91%

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Didn't stay long enough to give much more judgement than that. Really good location near to the station. Small city means that it's really quite close to the centre. Zagreb is a good night out though, on a Fri or a Sat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review, we try to encourage our guests to do so, it helps to see our guests opinion :) We try and keep a certain standard and are very happy when our guests leave satisfied! We hope that you will have a chance to stay when it's a little bit warmer and see how vibrant and colorful Zagreb really is :) Cheers, PL team

91%

Really helpful kind staff. A great kitchen and chill out space. Good location right near the train station, perfect for when you arrive and depart. Rooms are more compact than some hostels, but they are super clean and comfortable, modern and well kept. Cute decor too. Lockable underbed storage is great, you can fit your whole backpack in it (but bring a padlock)! Bathrooms again very clean and modern. Overall a very happy stay and I would recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this great review, we appreciate the time you took to describe our features, and we are happy that you liked our hostel so much :) Do not worry about the padlock, we provide them also, for FREE! We hope to host you again in the future and leave you with the same impression! Kind regards, PL team

100%

Excellent services

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this great review, we are happy that you left with a great experience :) We hope to host you again! PL team

89%

close to train station; free towel upon request; helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing this review, it is important to know our guests opinion. Our location, staff and cleanliness are our praised features and we are happy that you have recognized it! Hope to host you gain in the future! PL team

66%

Pictures looks much more better that we have got when we came. The room was in the basement and it feels like in prison. That was the worst experience during my trip:( Staff is friendly, location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing this review. We are very sorry you did not like the room, but you have booked that specific room and have seen the pictures online. If you have a chance to stay with us again, just contact us prior to arrival and we will help you to choose a room on the ground or second floor if you prefer those :) In the future, just talk to the receptionists, they can always help and make your stay as comfortable as possible so you don't leave dissatisfied! Hope to host you again! PL team

94%

It was really nice, the hostel staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is great, it is only a 5 minute walk from the train station and maybe 15 minutes from the Ban Jelačić Square. They also have a kitchen, which is great if you want to travel cheap.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this great review :D We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope that you will have a chance to do so again in the future :) Cheers! PL team

86%

The staffs were nice, the room was clean, with cute wall painting , we like it very much

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing these kind words :) We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope that you will have a chance to do so again in the future :) Cheers! PL team

100%

Awesome Hostel! Just a 15min walk away from the Main Bus Station. The private rooms are very nice and clean with Air con, TV and nice bathroom. Staff is awesome: super friendly and always ready to help you out. From the hostel you can easily reach the main train station (5min walk) and the city centre (15-20min) walk. We would definitely come back and stay at this hostel. Thanks so much!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! You and your friend have been great guests and we truly hope you will indeed stay with us again and have a great experience as this one! Cheers PL team

100%

Cheap and very good location. Rooms looks pretty.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this review, and for the room compliment, we aim to please :) Hope to host you again, so you will have a chance to see that all of our rooms are this pretty :) PL team

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Zagreb Hostels

Please give us your feedback