X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palmers Lodge Zagreb Reviews

Branimirova 25, Zagreb, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel is very nice: staff are willing to help you out, the beds are good and the showers also. The only thing is that the location is a little far away from the tourist attractions, although really close to the main train station.


86%

Great Hostel friendly staff good location a nice place to stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this review :) We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again if you are ever back in Zagreb! Until then, have a great time :) PL team

100%

Very pleasant place to stay, very close from the train station. The staff is very kind, and prone to give you full of advice to visit the city and country !

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review, it is very much appreciated when guests take the time to write them and aknowledge all the little things we do to try and make your stay with us as nice as possible :) we hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again :) Cheers, PL team

91%

The room was clean, and the staff very helpful! Would stay here again!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this kind review, we appreciate when our guests see the effort we put into making your stay as comfortable as possible :) We hope to host you again! Cheers, PL team

91%

THIS HOSPEL'S LOCATION WAS WONDERFUL BETWEEN TRAIN STAION AND BUS TERMINAL. IF YOU NEED TO STAY IN ZAGREB YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this great review! Our location is indeed convenient for fellow travelers, and we appreciate that you pointed that out! We hope to host you again in the future, until then, happy travels! PL team

89%

Excellent staff , everything is good ......

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this reveiw :) We want to thank you for writing it and hope to host you once again! Until then, enjoy :) Cheers, PL team

89%

The location of the hostel is great. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and clean and each bed comes with own reading light and electric plug.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review :) We appreciate the time you took to write it and we are very happy you are satisfied with the provided service and the hostel itself :) Hope to host you again! Cheers, PL team

91%

The hostel was really nice to stay in. For once it wasnt a hostel with metal bunk beds and a steel kitchen. It was all made of wood which made it feel more cosy. There was also a normal bathroom without shower stalls. that was a nice too. The stuff was very nice too. At night it got a little loud outside from the tram. the location was ok. right by the trainstation and bus station. However, it takes about 15 min by food to get to the main square. It is a beautiful walk through old town though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this review :) We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel, and we try to keep it as cozy as possible. Our location is just next to the main train station and a few minutes from the bus station, so it is very conveniant for travelers, and if you felt a little bit more adventureous, we could have shown you the shorter route to the main square, it would have taken you 7 minutes on foot, but you would have missed out on the beauty of the parks :) Cheers, PL team

86%

I chose Palmers for location and becuz I once stayed in a Palmers in London - my only complaint was that the dorm room Windows open onto a tram line that runs almost 24/7, worse for me because the window had to be open (altho I think the heat should have been turned off in this room) and my top bunk was situated so that the noise had a direct line to my bed and head - them's the breaks, I guess, but I think this hostel should say something about the trams on the website, if only to head off comp

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your review, it is always appreciated when our guests write them. We apologize for the heat,but if somebody in your room asked for it to be turned on, we always comply,so all you needed to do was come to the reception and ask for it to be turned down :) we aplogize for the noise, that is why we have soundproof windows,but unfortunately,when the windows are open,we cannoit control the noise and we are located in the centre,so you have to count on that facor :) Cheers, PL team

69%

Nothing special, just fine. Didn't feel much of a vibe. Convenient location near the train and bus stations, but about 1.5k to where the action is. The staff are helpful, if asked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review :) We are very sorry you did not feel our vibe, the hostel was full when you stayed here.We always try to feel everybody welcome, as we did with you, we have showed you all the tips and tricks we know about the city, and if that did not feel enough,we apologize,we like to keep it moderate because some of the guests just come to relax and they come to us when they need us or want to hang out :) Just give us a sign and we mingle ;)

100%

Really good staff and location. This hostel is the best i'v ever stayed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you :) Come back, we will top that, we promise :) Until then, enjoy! PL team

97%

Awesome - wouldnt stay anywhere else

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review :) We hope you will stay with us again soon! Cheers, PL team

86%

Firstly I have to say that the hostel itself seemed really nice and clean, perfectly located 5 minutes from the station, and the staff were also really friendly and helpful...the only problem was that my 2 friends and I were in a 6 bed dorm, and our roommates were a complete nightmare. Very unaccommodating and unwelcoming, and because of their constant snoring and flatulence we barely slept a wink! Normally I would put it down to bad luck, but my friend says it seemed they worked there...


91%

Palmers Lodge is an excellent hostel, conveniently close to the main stations but also a short and pleasant walk from the city center. The facilities are a little basic, but clean and well-maintained, and my only complaint is that the hostel is quite close to the street - the trams are a bit noisy at night. The best thing about this hostel is the friendly and knowledgeable staff, always ready with a smile to help you out. My trip wouldn't have been the same without their advice and kindness!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this kind review :) You have made our Easter holidays great, thank you for the talks :) We hope to host you again soon! Until then! Cheers, PL team

97%

The staff here were really nice and extremely helpful. The whole thing was very clean, fairly small and in a great location less than 5 minutes form the station. For the price I was really impressed, they have a nice lobby area with sofas and computers, and a kitchen with all you need and a telly. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if I went to Zagreb again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for this amazing review! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and woule very much like to host you again! Until then, enjoy :) PL team

80%

It's very cool and agreeable.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this cool review :) We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again, we promise to be as cool as the last time :) Cheers, PL team

100%

Great staff, excellent location and good price.. really good choice :)

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for this great review! We appreciate your time, and we are very happy that you had a great stay! Hope to see you again :) Cheers, PL team

94%

The location is PERFECT. We were only in Zagreb for a couple of hours and wanted to be able to sleep really close to the train station. The staff was super friendly and able to help us with all of our questions about busses and trains.


94%

We had a great time at the hostel. Everything was perfect and specially people at the reception were really cool and kind. They helped us a lot with finding places to visit and any thing that we needed. The room was also very good and clean and like its nos a huge hostel there is a friendly and familiar atmosphere! Totally recommend it!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi girls, thank you very much for this great review! We really enjoyed your company and hope to meet you again! Until then, have a great time! PL team

91%

I booked private 4 bed room, and only upon arrival found out the room is in the basement, having blurred window looking on the main street, and tram rails. Therefore, it was very noisy. This piece of info should be included on the site, so potential guests would know what to expect.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review.Our rooms are viawble on the photographs, so you always know in advance what room you are booking, and the staff is always prepared to help you out in case you want to change rooms for any reason.We apologize for the noise, as we are located in the city center, we cannot avoid the tram noise, but our soundproof windows minimise the noise and there are complementary ear plugs if needed. We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us in the future.PL team

(41 results)


View all Zagreb Hostels

Please give us your feedback