X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Panda Guest House Reviews

#635, Kroum 1, Phum Vihearchen, Sangkat Svay Dankum Krong, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
54 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Panda guesthouse was clean and comfortable and the staff polite and helpful. Its not a particularly sociable place so I wouldn't recommend it for solo travellers looking to meet people, but its good value for couples or friends travelling together


69%

Staff were helpful arranging pick-up from our bus on arrival (despite it being 2hours late), and also arranged a tuk-tuk for our visit to the Angkor temples. The tuk-tuk driver was excellent and we would have no hesitation to recommend him. The hotel was clean and quiet. Other reviews talk about the distance from town, smoking in the guesthouse and the lack of breakfast: - We timed the walk, it takes 10 mins -There is now no smoking in the building - Breakfast now available (eat in or take out)

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Accommodation was excellent, service was very helpful in arranging tours and transportation. Internet didn't work well in our room, but it depends what room you stay in. Very relaxing atmosphere and enjoyed the place.


100%

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay. Everyone was helpful. They picked us up at the airport and were helpful with tours and buses. A great place to stay :)

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything was good except that they forgot to clean my room on one day. Mr Steve, manager of the hostel, was extremely helpful in our stay, and I'm grateful for his help during my stay


86%

Great hostel, rooms cleaned daily, clean towels & drinking water daily, great hot shower, no smoking allowed inside anymore so the smoke some previous guests mentioned is no longer an issue. 10 minute walk to Pub street.


91%

They arrange to have you picked up upon arrival in town and recommend reliable and trustworthy tuk tuk drivers.


100%

One of the best hostels in Asia. No restaurant yet, but Panda is pretty new and good things take time. I can definitely recommend the place. clean, friendly, helpful staff and something that is not common in todays Cambodia: Honest and fair. So much better than anything else on my trip through beautiful Cambodia.


97%

The two managers were extremely helpful with any questions we had and were able to give us advice on things to do around Siem Reap. They also offer tuktuk rides around the temples for a day, which are really good value for money. Our driver, Kampaul, was really friendly and very knowledgable about the temples. Other staff were very friendly as well. The hotel very clean and relaxed and in a nice area just a short walk from the Old Market and main goings on. Made our trip to Cambodia worthwhile!

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We enjoyed our stay at panda, but really missed a common room where we could relax outside of our rooms. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review of our guesthouse and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The only puzzling point was the lack of a 'common room'?? We have upstairs and downstairs lounges, with free tea/coffee available 24/7 downstairs...plus a large seating/relax area in the garden. Thanks again for your feedback.

80%

The mattress was awesome. Tuk tuks are basically the taxis in Cambodia. Panda is walking distance from Pub street. It was a calm place.


77%

Negatives first. No lockers in room and no real atmosphere. Not ideal for solo travellers unless you need some rest. Now for the positives. Good power shower with warm water, comfy bed and a nice little balcony. Organised tours and decent proximity to pub street. Also got some good tips on how not to get ripped off at the border crossings...


94%

Staff were very helpful and helped us get tickets for Phare, the Cambodian circus, and a cheap and easy bus transfer direct from the hostel to Phnom Penh. Pub street is just a few minutes walk away, but we were allocated a tuk tuk driver who took us everywhere for very reasonable prices. Our particular driver, Mr. Kambol, was incredibly helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The room itself was lovely, and we would highly recommend Panda to anyone!


97%

We loved out stay at panda guesthouse. It is owned by a friendly westerner who went out of his way to assist us with tips such as fee free atm's, good places to eat and general advice for the city. There was an issue with how we booked the room and it was all sorted for us so without a doubt would recomend panda to everyone staying in siem reap. The location, service and rooms were perfect for the price.


100%

If you are looking for a quiet, clean and reasonable accommodation, this is the one. It is situated away from the busy streets. The hallways, the room and bath.room are clean. The staff/owners are helpful. They are native English speakers. I stayed more than one week.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great time in Siem Reap and the staff at Panda Guest House were really good with organising a day trip to Angkor Wat as well as our onward travel to Phnom Penh both of which we were happy with. The room was a good size and clean. The walk to Pub street was five to ten minutes and we were given good recommendations for places to eat. Will definitely be back.


97%

I enjoyed my stay at the Panda, the management; Steve and Patrick were both helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and the location is decent. I'd certainly recommend this guest house to friends traveling to Siem Reap.


97%

We love: - free coffee and tea. - clean rooms with private bathrooms - a comprehensive breakdown of the different types of tours that can be provided by their tuk tuk drivers. (Bargaining is fun but can be tiring, so these fixed prices are a godsend!) We were assigned to Mr Kampaul, a very reliable tuk tuk driver who speaks English. He has a very positive attitude.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Panda Guesthouse is an excellent choice for any stay in Siem Reap to visit the Angkor Temples: it is located 10 minutes away from the old market and the staff is really helpful. They arrange countless tuk-tuk tours to visit the temples but they do not push their tours if you don't want. We chose two tuk-tuk tours to visit the temples and it was PERFECT AND AT A FAIR PRICE

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I had a very bad experience with the cigarette smoke. Unfortunately once at the guesthouse I realised that it was allowed to smoke in common areas, which are directly outside the rooms. Unfortunately one of the British owners is a smoker and he is constantly at the reception, therefore the room used to smell like cigarette once the main doors are closed at night. Not great location, fairly 20 mins walk in the dark to get to the main amenities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a 'bad experience' with the cigarette smoke. Our guesthouse is a smoking environment with smoking permitted everywhere except in actual guest bedrooms. This is clearly stated on WRI and normally this does not bother our non-smoking guests as their rooms are smoke-free zones anyway. Sorry you have such a sensitive nose. Oh, and as EVERYONE else says, our guesthouse is TEN minutes walk from Pub Street. I would have thought a healthy non-smoker could do it in 5? ;

« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Siem Reap Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback