Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pans Place Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
Pans Place Guesthouse Located at Banh Vieng Keo, Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng.
Pans Place Guesthouse
Laos
Vang Vieng Vientiane Province 10030 Banh Vieng Keo, Vang Vieng
79% 719
18.9223633 102.4487972
Pans Place Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.4

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Good location, rooms nice and good vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
6.6

The facilities are quite basic, but for the excellent price for a double ensuite you can't really expect much more. Lack of aircon didn't prevent me sleeping, but the noise levels did - some rules around after hours noise would be an idea. Staff were helpful enough but some could have been more friendly. Wifi was very poor - seemed to work ok elsewhere in VV so not sure why. Room not especially secure. Good location close to activities, shops, restaurants in VV, and a bike hire place next door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.6

The 6 person dorm is incredibly small and smells of mould and had no place to put valuables. The attached restaurant is great with lots of opportunity to meet people. Staff were really friendly and helpful when our bookings got messed up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.1

Really great hostel. It was so easy to meet people and the breakfast was great. No a/c but the fan kept the room cool enough and the hammock chill out area was nice after a long bus ride.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2016
7.4

Nice little guesthouse, for around $15 a night for 2. Much cheaper if booked directly there though. Don't expect much cleanliness wise, after all it's a backpackers hostel. Atmosphere OK, nothing special, staff not particularly helpful but at least they try to help :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Staff are friendly, was a good hostel. Close to everything. You get what you pay for. I had no problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jun 2016
2.0

The staff were really friendly here, really enthusiastic and helpful but that's where the good stuff ends. I'm sure if you stayed a night here you'd catch poverty. The rooms had no security and the lighting was darker than my humour, the social area was a dirty mattress to lounge on and a paddling pool filled with algae. Wifi was good though. We used it to looks at other hostels in the surrounded area and quickly moved on. Wouldn't recommend staying here if you like cleanliness.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the review. Slightly baffled so I will address your points one by one. 1) You stated that the staff were 'really friendly, really enthusiastic and helpful but only scored 2? 2) The rooms had no security - We have locks and padlocks on all rooms. The dorms all have a padlock and an inside lock except the bigger dorm due to guests repeatedly losing the keys. However we do have lockers inside for valuables that are rent free. In addition we have 1 night guard and at least 5 members of staff who live on site as well as CCTV. 3) The paddling pool was brought in for a bit of fun during the hot season and was actually cleaned around the time you left. It is now the rainy season and obviously it catches a lot of rain water - it has now been removed due to it being impossible to maintain during this weather. 4) Wifi was good 'we' used it to check out other hostels. I remember you being here but looking at the checkouts you were the only one checking out of the dorms that day so I'm not sure who 'we' is. It really helps us when guests bring problems to light during their stay so we can address them rather than leaving reviews which are at best misleading or confusing (see Staff score) and at worst innacurate. Safe travels, kop chai.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Jun 2016
6.3

Good location. 6 bed dorm is so small there's not space for anyone to move or put bags. Very hot in dorms, fan works okay. Wifi is sketchy but it is everyone in Laos. Staff a bit unfriendly but was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jun 2016
4.3

The social area is directly next to the bungalows (which have paper thin walls) and it was difficult to sleep with people yelling and talking all night. The no air con accompanied with thin mattresses and rock hard pillows made it even harder. Staff were helpful however did nothing to stop the noise at night. Our belongings felt safe as our bungalow was locked every time we left. Food was average.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.6

Cool place! Cool folk! Cool cool all round!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.