Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Papaya Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 47 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 47 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Aug 2017
4.9

In the front of the hostel there is a Rent signe (?) We asked to a guy who was there and he told the hostel was closed. Then, another guy arrived and said the hostel was opened, but they had some water issues. We decided to stay because was only one night. The room is ok, with air conditioning. The bathroom is not very clean and don't have toilet paper. If you decided to there anyway, don't buy the ticket to Gili Island with them, we had some huge issues with the agency.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • katyateasdale9140
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jul 2017
6.0

Did the job for a one night stay. Wouldn't recommend if you're a female solo traveler though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
7.7

I was the only person staying at this hostel during my stay (which was a little odd), but the staff were very friendly and kind. Location is close to a lot of things and easy to get around with a scooter (they rent them at the hostel for a good price).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
5.7

I stayed as a pit stop before going to the airport. It has no sink so had to brush my teeth in the shower. The beds are cumfy. I don't think I'd stay longer then one night. The staff is helpful but tried to charge me 10x more then it should have cost to get to the airport so don't take their original word when it comes to that kinda stuff. Basically you get what you pay for with this one, which isn't that much but it was a cheep bed for the few hours I was there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
7.1

Really comfortable beds. WiFi was pretty bad. Nonexistent atmosphere. Still - outstanding value at 50k IDR per night. Ideal for travellers on a tight budget. Just make sure you have a motorbike/car if you stay here as its not within walking distance to most places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
7.7

I stayed for 3 days and overall i am quite satisfied. The location is good if your plan is to rent a car and go for day trips here and there because it has and near large parking space and it's not in a crowded area. It has clean bed sheets and so-so bathroom, but for me it's okay. The staffs are really friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it doesn't offer much other than bed and bathroom but for some people it's enough. Everyone also have their own locker so your stuff is safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.9

Was a good stay for a small price! We were allowed to refill pur waterbottles for free every day. Air Condition was great! Internet didn't work and also bathrooms were a little disgusting .. but we had everything we needed :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Kenny_the_flyfisher
  • Norway, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
9.1

The Hostel was good! Friendly Staff and very helpful With all my requests 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for staying with us next time fishing I win

9th Apr 2017
5.4

This is a pretty terrible hostel, that being said for the price it's fine. Only for a one-night stay. Bathrooms are gross, "dorms" are just bunks separated by plastic walls. You can hear everyone in the room. Doors creak horribly when opened or closed. Giant spiders in the bathroom, wifi doesn't work. AC was strong though and there is a nice market next door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your rating and I am sorry about the doors who where a bit noisy but I am real disappointed about your rating first of all you now we still try to get everyone happy and no way there are BIG spiders or any spiders in the bathroom and the 2 you gave for cleanliness where did you base that on???? and any customer who see a spider in my hostel I give them stay for free

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay in Kuta. Cool A/C.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.