X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Paraty Beach Hostel Reviews

Praia do pontal numero 1a, Av. Orlando Carpinelli numero 1a, Paraty, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
581 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

A bit dingy and cramped, needs a make over and refurbishment .Good location on the beach and close to centre of town. Ok place to stay but could do better for the money.


94%

I fiund having security cameras in the actual rooms a little weird - other than that an amazing hostel :) fab breakfast!

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very expensive for what you get, but a lovely hostel with good vibes and perfect location. Owner was really nice and helpful too. If it was less expensive it would've been perfect, but it was just after Carnaval so hey ho


69%

I liked my stay, even though prices were quite high due to carnival. Maybe you could provide a little map by mail prior to arrival, so one can easily find the place walking from the bus terminal. (Of course one could also look it up on google maps before, but anyway.)


86%

Individual lights and plugs for each bed; best location possible in Paraty and good breakfast for the money we pay. Cute hostel dog. Only problem: few bathrooms, not very clean all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, believe me it is very hard to keep all toilets clean all the time. ! Glad that you had a good carnaval in Paraty. Hope to see you again. Thanks for your comment xx

100%

After staying in numerous hostels all over Brazil, this was easily one of our favourites. Firstly, it has a great set-up; with hammocks, air-con´d rooms and a lovely common area where everyone gets together to drink and socialize. Plus it´s in the best location, close to the beach and only a few minutes walk from the city. To top it all off, Gus is an exceptional host who ensured we had an incredible time. Could have stayed weeks here! Definitely the best spot from which to experience Paraty.


94%

Lovely hostel with a fantastic atmosphere and a great location right next to the beach :)


86%

Gus is a good guy, the big dorm is very tightly packed but not too much of a problem. The layout of the hostel encourages everyone to chill and drink together in the evenings as the kitchen/dining area is central. breakfast is good.


66%

Location was good; very close to the beach. Chilled out, cool atmosphere. Really easy to meet great people. Amazing BBQ on Saturday nights. 2 or 3 nights is more than enough here.


100%

Gus and the team are such great people. The whole atmosphere is incredible! For the boys there's fifa and got all the sport channels. Perfect location! Had the best BBQ there on Saturday night. Extended my stay for 2 nights as we enjoyed it so much. Maybe a bit of work on the wifi but you don't need it as you're constantly meeting people and chatting! A must stay!


94%

It was a really great times at PBHostel! The atmosphere was amazing good! It is a roustic style. The staff was very helpfull, and breakfast was good. The location is very good too. I hope go back soon to visit Paraty City, beaches and mountains and to stay at PBHostel! Tks!

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, great people! Gus is a legend! we stayed longer than we were supposed to, definitely recommend this hostel!

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostel management have the place run perfectly. Awesome atmosphere always something going on, friendly and always willing to help! BIG SHOUT OUT TO GUS!

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you a lot ! Gus.

89%

Really cool hostel, great staff and great atmosphere! Right on the beach but it a bit of a walk to the centre and supermarket!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we´re right on the beach 5 minutes walk to center ( shops, bars ,restaurantes etc) and 15 minutes walk to the bus station and supermarket. Thanks for your comment ! Gus.

100%

This is without doubt one of the best hostels ive stayed in in all my travels. I never ever leave reviews but felt the need to with this hostel as it has been so good!. Its impossible not to meet new people, there is a great social area where you can either drink and listen to music or just chill out in the hammocks. The staff are so helpful and friendly. We~ve done boat trips, had an all you can eat bbq on the saturday and i~m gutted I had to leave. book 3 nights, guarentee you will extend!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This hostel it is made exactly for people like you guys ! People who want meet other travelers, sharing experiences , people who is positive and take the best of life and over all have fun, wich is the most important thing in life. Thank you so much, you are a lovely couple and I wish all the best ! Gus.

100%

I don´t usually write reviews but felt compelled to do so for this Hostel. Great place, great vibe, great management and staff. Nothing was too much bother and everybody is made to feel welcome. The hostel vibe rubs off on all guests, thus creating a wonderful atmosphere and sense of community. Good, clean rooms / facilities and Great laundry service. Don´t miss the fantastic Barbeque every saturday night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi buddy, thanks for describing the hostel exactly as it is. Hope you have an amazing rest of your trip. Thank you so much for your comment .Take care. Gus.

97%

A hostel right on the beach, with a brilliant atmosphere. Gus is a great, relaxed host and makes everyone feel incredibly welcome. There is a massive communal area where it's really easy to meet other people from all over the world. Definitely one of my favourite hostels I've stayed in. Would highly recommend!!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much ! Have a wonderfull rest of your trip. Gus X

89%

Gus and the ladies working at the hostel were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely BBQ on Saturday which was delicious! The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner and the beds are a bit old and rickety but other than that it was a great stay. Just a few metres from the beach and a 10 minute walk into town, we would highly recommend!


100%

Great hostel!! Staff very friendly and helpful, really nice atmosphere. Good breakfast, would definitely recommend! Stayed in the big room but was fine and spacious enough.


77%

The bedroom with 16 beds in fact has 20 and is the only one that hasn't got AR con, that isn't mentioned on the Web site, they also don't mention that they charge you 5% if you pay with credit card. The breakfast is really poor and the glasses and cups are all dirty cause the guests clean up what their use. For make the things worst you have antz in the kitchen!!!! The personal is really helpful and the cleaning service too but you have a lot to better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there´re only funs avalivle for that room and of corse it is mentonied at HW profile, we also offer rooms with A/C that you can always chage AS YOU DID and we only charged you 5 R% extra to stay in a 6 bed dorm with A/C.and private toilete. To pay by card it is just one more option, you can always pay cash, It is mentioned at HW profilethat we charge 5% extra if you pay by card. Breakfast is nice , people normally don´t complain. Wake up a bit earlier next time. OBRIGADO PELO TUDO.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Paraty Hostels

Please give us your feedback