X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Paraty Beach Hostel Reviews

Praia do pontal numero 1a, Av. Orlando Carpinelli numero 1a, Paraty, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
553 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Gus and the ladies working at the hostel were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely BBQ on Saturday which was delicious! The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner and the beds are a bit old and rickety but other than that it was a great stay. Just a few metres from the beach and a 10 minute walk into town, we would highly recommend!


77%

The bedroom with 16 beds in fact has 20 and is the only one that hasn't got AR con, that isn't mentioned on the Web site, they also don't mention that they charge you 5% if you pay with credit card. The breakfast is really poor and the glasses and cups are all dirty cause the guests clean up what their use. For make the things worst you have antz in the kitchen!!!! The personal is really helpful and the cleaning service too but you have a lot to better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there´re only funs avalivle for that room and of corse it is mentonied at HW profile, we also offer rooms with A/C that you can always chage AS YOU DID and we only charged you 5 R% extra to stay in a 6 bed dorm with A/C.and private toilete. To pay by card it is just one more option, you can always pay cash, It is mentioned at HW profilethat we charge 5% extra if you pay by card. Breakfast is nice , people normally don´t complain. Wake up a bit earlier next time. OBRIGADO PELO TUDO.

100%

Great hostel with an amazing location!! On the beach and a 10 min walk from town. Great value all you can eat BBQ was perfect for socialising and popular when we stayed. Easy to get chatting to people in the communal area. Kitchen and bathrooms are clean and well kept. We stayed very comfortably in the 6-bed mixed dorm with AC and ensuite. Safe with lockers and CCTV. Nice and friendly atmosphere thanks to Gus and his staff who are helpful, awesome fun, and full of suggestions of things to do!!


94%

Amazing hostel. Perfect location, great atmosphere. Staff are brilliant and go out of their way to help you. You have to stay here if you go to Paraty!


43%

Terrible...the bathroom is simples the worst thing i've ever enter

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice hostel! Great place to stay in Paraty. Friendly staff and good atmosphere for meeting travelers in Brazil! Nice breakfast as well.


83%

Good all round hostel, very nice to be able to have breakfast on the beach.


54%

Los baños estaban sucios y con olor. No eran suficientes para la xantidad de gente hospedada. Todo el hostel tenia goteras por la lluvia.


77%

Both the hostel and its staff are awesome. There were some light/water/internet shortages but they were due to the city's infrastructure and the staff always tried to fix these problems as they appeared. Since it is a small city, sometimes it can barely sustain the demand for resources during high season. But even so it is not such a big problem, and it does not impede you to enjoy that incredible city.


100%

Gus, the hostel owner, and his staff made my stay in Paraty extremely enjoyable. The staff know Paraty very well and gave me great advice for all of the tourist attractions. Their weekly BBQ was amazing and at a very cheap cost. The hostel also has a great atmosphere and is setup very well with many hammocks and chairs to chill in. I'm definitely staying here again if I come back to Paraty!

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks bro ! It was really nice to meet you. All the best . !!! Gus.

100%

Brilliant location over the road from the beach. It has a great outdoor open communal area right in the middle, perfect for socialist in the evening with a few beers (the hostel has a choice of drinks). Gus the owner is great fun and helpful. He tried his hardest to accommodate us on very short notice over new year and managed to squeeze us in. I will be coming back to this hostel when I return to Paraty in the summer, thanks Gus,

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice location on the beach and within walking distance to the centre of Paraty. The Golden retriever is really awesome but gets a bit nippy at times. Our room was the 16 bed dorm where the fans were broken in which meant it was hot and full of mosquitoes. One of the nights I had to sleep outside the room it was that hot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi the 9 months old golden retriever gets nippy only because people play with him, he is allowed at the common area only if guests are agree with it. Sorry about the funs :( we already fixed them. I don´t think it was that hot as no one else said anything about it. About moskitos, all beds in that dorm have moskito nets cause it´s the only dorm without AC. Thanks for your comment ! Have a nice rest of your trip !

100%

Amazing location right by the beach. The staff were excellent including butcho the giant retriever puppy. Very chilled relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely stay there again.


100%

We had an amazing stay here! Paraty is a lovely little town and this hostel was a great place to stay. Gaston made us feel at home instantly which is really great when you have been travelling for so long. The hostel has a great outdoor area for socialising and the beach is on the doorstep. The breakfast is a great spead too. Thanks for an amazing stay!


66%

I stayed in the big dorm room, so I can't say if the smaller dorms are nicer. They probably are. But overall I wasn't very convinced by the hostel. It's not very clean and the beds in the big dorm are pretty bad. I would definitely check out another hostel next time I'm in Paraty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, all beds in that dorm have pluggs, reading lights and they are very comfy there were not complains before, anyway it´s very hard to please everyone, seems like lately only people who did not have a good experience staying only one night made comments and belive me there were many people staying at the hostel who had a great stay and they are just lazy to make a comment. Thanks thought. Take care.

83%

Nice hostel and good atmospere


66%

I stayed in a 6 bed insuited dorm and it's too small. The room don't have lockers or any space to put the bags. So, all the luggages stays in the middle of the room making impossible to all the six stays in the same time. Althought the staff said that we have security, we don´t have a room key, everyone could enter. I am not quite sure about this police. Even thought the staff is really helpful, the hostel's good location, facing Pontal beach and near to the city center, I won't come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,we prefer to have lockers outside the rooms because they could be a bit noise,more comfortable for everyone. Paraty is a small town were nothing happen about security, is not like big citys (Rio or Sao Paulo) Paraty is very safe.Real backpackers realize about this and they feel at home,also we´ve tried to have keys for all rooms but didn´t work out. Maybe you did not noticed it but there are 16 videocamaras wachting all the common areas.Just be a bit more positive.Hope you come back! x

71%

Tried to check in but couldn't find staff for 20 minutes. Staff won't overly friendly or helpful and there wasn't a good communal atmosphere where you could meet people through group activities. The hostel was clean however and located right on the beach with a nice breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi sweety, you were supposed to arrive 15hs. but came to about 23hs. Let me tell you something, we´re mormally friendly and helpful, you can just check out other comments, but we also expect the same feedback of people who come to our hostel, it was a bit hard with you. Not many guests that day so the atsmofhere it was chill. Thanks for your visit, Safe travels,x Gus.

100%

Loved this hostel, the owner Gus is so nice and very helpful, beds are comfortable and the kitchen where you can cook is very clean, and the beach is on the doorstep! Would definitely recommend.


83%

A really lovely position right on the beach and within walking distance to the historical centre and local amenities. Really fruendly staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Paraty Hostels

Please give us your feedback