X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Park Hotel Essex Reviews

327 Cranbrook Road, Ilford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
107 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 50%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

Good for interrailers because the train brings you from Ilford to the center of London in 20 minutes.


71%

In all honesty, this place was better than expected. There were a lot of negative reviews everywhere so I was prepared for the worst, but except the location (it easily takes an hour to get into the city centre) and the cleanliness (but then again, most British homes I've been in are not too clean either so I guess that's just the average cleanliness of the UK ;-)) it was actually quite good. Excellent value for your money, but just a bit too far.

  • 15th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Unbelievable value for money. Very friendly staff and cosy room, great breakfast too. The location was perfect, opposite a beautiful park and easy access to london city. Thanks for our stay, will recommend and visit again!

  • 4th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Customer service was bed. Reception doesn't even greet people who enter. He {or they} just stare as you walk through.

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We really enjoyed our time in Park Hotel. It is clean and silent. When comparing to hotel and hostel prices, it is so convenient for the students. The location seems to be far away but it is not a big problem since it is just 15 minutes walk to the tube station and easy to find. Definitely, I will choose Park Hotel in my next visit to London.

  • 6th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Breakfast and staff was okay. But room conditions are poor, uncomfortable bed, you hear every neighbour and you feel like being in the basement. It's okay just for sleeping when you come to see the city.

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

What does "teken" mean? That's not dutch, I think...? Breakfast was good, only too early on weekdays. Unfortunately, baked tomatoes were always finished. Good choice-options: English breakfast buffet and toast and milk or yoghurt with cereals. Friendly staff. Simple accomodation. We enjoyed our trip a lot!

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

everything was perfect


80%

The place was overbooked when we arrived so we didn't actually get to stay at Park Hotel. Instead, they had arranged for us to get the same conditions at the Best Western Hotel in Ilford, and the stay there was brilliant. Comfy bed, good WiFi connection free of charge, excellent breakfast choices, very nice staff. We don't know how such a mishap like confirming a reservation when you don't have enough rooms can happen, but we ended up "lucky", as the staff at the BW told us, so not complaining!

  • 6th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


50%

Park Hotel Ilford is a budget hotel in London zone 4. Plan 30 mins + 4 £ for transport to London. The room was very very basic but clean and functional, with small ensuite bathroom. The good sides of this hotel are the daily cleaning of the room and the big cooked British breakfast (eggs, sausages, tomatoes, beans, potatoes, ...) No fun at all, except the park in front of it and some picnic tables between the different buildings. Free but not safe parking. Staff (all immigrants) was ok.


80%

Very nice place, staff are friendly and room was very nice & clean, would recommend highly.


37%

The hotel in itself is not bad, and though it was clean, the room smelled like a dirty toilet. We did have cleaning in the morning even if we specifically asked NOT to have it (just 2 nights stay). When we came back after a day in town, we found the sink was stuck so the water wouldn't drain. Even though I understood they couldn't do anything until the next morning, they didn't even bother to take a look a


100%

Very good hotel and service 10 out of 10, keep it up...


73%

We were 3 days (separated in 2 and 1, so we got 2 different rooms). Rooms were very clean, excellent room service, good temperature and excellent matress. Breakfast was OK, not too bad, but could be better. WiFi didn't work for me any day (my laptop is fine, never fails to connect any wireless network). Reception guy didn't even try to help, too busy playing with his phone. The last day we were there, we paid for double en-suite, which didn't have toilet, only shower and sink not separated from the rest of


60%

I wasn't looking for fun or character, but just a cheap place to stay. Some staff not exactly polite or friendly. But for a cheap night- a bargain. Clean and a decent breakfast.


47%

They didn't have/find our reservation so we could had gotten there without assurance of having a room for us. The guy in the reception was very rude, impolite and made us fell like he was doing us a favor, he said that we "were lucky" cause they had rooms for us, aswell they ignored the deposit down payment if we hadn't payed attention we would have payed full price. The good things: the breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were clean, although ours smelled of smoke. 2/5

  • 5th Aug 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group
  • (1 review)


83%

Very thin walls. First night we had some serious trouble sleeping. The couple (I presume) upstairs were very active night time. The beds make a hell of a sound. But hey, revenge is sweet. Loved the staff! They make awesome breakfast for free, quick cleaning. Our room had a bad smokey smell. Our refrigerator didn't work. But that's just technicalities. We loved it.


60%

When we came to the hostel, they said that they dont have our reservation, even I reservated the hotel trough hostelworld.com (they said that hostelworld didnt send any reservation??) - But I even called a day before in hotel and ask if everything is ok with reservation and they said, if you have your reservation number it is - but it wasnt. At the end they find one free room for staying through night. Otherwise hotel is very cheap and also breakfast is included in price and its realy good.


83%

This was a comfy and humble place to stay. I enjoyed my stay despite the leak in the sink's pipes, and the shower head not working. It gives the place character--really :) The breakfast in the morning was also good. I would stay here again.


67%

Location: exactly 1 km (10-15 mins walk) from Gant Hill tube station. Then 30 mins by Central line tube to Oxford Circus. Breakfast: the same everyday (egg prepared in different ways, beans, tomatoes, turkey rolls and toasts). If you stay only 1-2 nights, breakfast will be ok :) If longer, you will want smth different. Rooms: very small, but ok. Room doors close with big noise, so in the morning you will be woken up by your neighbours' doors :( Generally, ok choice for that price.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all London Hotels

Please give us your feedback