Hostelworld.com

Parthenon Hostel

  • 310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.4
Parthenon Hostel Located at 310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago.
Parthenon Hostel
USA
Chicago Illinois 60661 310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations
84% 1141
41.8774436 -87.6474114
Parthenon Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.6

Thanks to the all-day nature of the convention I was attending, I didn't really spend that much time at the hostel. The beds were nice although the pillows were a little flat for my taste. They did provide some very nice towels and there was a good spread for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sdickett525
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.1

Friendly staff and great location. It's a nice walk to downtown and right next to some great places in Greek town. Good value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
8.0

Great place to stay! Located in a nice area and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were very cozy. Will definitely be staying here again during our next trip to the city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
6.3

The place is ideally located. The staff at the desk were superb. The grouch in charge of the breakfast was a real ogre. He unsuccessfully tried to hide his indifference and sometimes annoyance with guests with perfunctory words. After being reprimanded by him for accidentally tapping a wall with my foot, I said I was sorry and said good morning. No response. His gruffness would be okay if the place wasn't such a dump. The 2 showers for men are squeezed into an AWKARDLY small room!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
4.0

This hostel is about 20-30 minutes from the city. I stayed memorial weekend and it was a hot and humid weekend, there was no AC whatsoever and the people working there kept on blaming it on the guests saying it was their fault because they were opening their windows so the humidity was getting in. Even if that was the case you would still feel some sort of freshness coming through the vents but nothing was. So hot in there! No elevator so you have to carry your own luggage up the stairs

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
8.9

Extremely convenient location! Lacking an elevator, but the free breakfast and weekend bar are a plus. Would I stay here again? You betcha!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
9.1

I really liked the hostel. There was no air conditioning in my room on 3rd floor. The wi-fi was terrible, it didn't work the 6 days I was there. when we asked the technician working on the AC, he made a joke that this is America and that things don't get fixed right away. Perhaps it would be good to inform him to not insult the country he is living in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
9.7

Best described as a guest house rather than a hostel. It was a pleasure to stay in a private single, freshly painted, spotlessly clean with adequate toilet and bath facilities. The free breakfast is great to start the day and there are enough take- always next door to fit all budgets. Downtown is a short walk away. It is a family run business and they work silently behind the scenes 24x7 to ensure the comfort of guests.Recommeded for anyone looking for a short stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
3.1

This was, without doubt, the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. It is inconceivable to me that one would have to pay $85 a night for a hostel which offers no private bathroom, no climate control, paper thin walls, and a tiny room without a TV or phone. Never again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
9.4

The location and the staff were really great and you have the most civilized breakfast option of anyplace I have ever stayed. My only complaint is that the showers are crowded and inconvenient. The kitchen was barely adequate as it is poorly equipped. Overall the stay was pleasant th staff was exceptional and I will stay with you again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.