Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Parthenon Hostel

  • 310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.5
Parthenon Hostel Located at 310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago.
Parthenon Hostel
USA
Chicago Illinois 60661 310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations
82% 1190
41.8774436 -87.6474114
Parthenon Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
8.9

Good convenient location. Hard to find a better breakfast provided by a hostel anywhere. Laundry facilities at a reasonable price too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
7.4

You get what you pay for: a good location, clean and functional (if slightly worn) facilities in a good location, for a reasonable price (Chicago is expensive).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Sep 2016
8.0

Excellent location - especially if you're coming from the Greyhound! Nice big rooms. Kitchen in another building so essentially it doesn't have one. Main issue was that the old guy in charge of breakfast was the most unpleasant person I've come across in all my years of staying in hostels (or eating breakfast!) and his awful energy put a total damper on the mornings - he is the reason I won't stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
5.1

The situation is allright, three blocks from Union Station and five to the Loop. BUT. Wifi does not work AT ALL. There are too many beds for those few toilets and showers, which also were not as clean as they should have been. And then, they wanted to charge me for leaving my hand baggage there for a couple hours.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
6.0

Unfortunately the wifi does not work at this hostel. At all. The hostel is an easy 2km walk from most things one would do when visiting the city, and has shops/coffee and limited restaurants really close by. Breakfast was average, and access to full kitchen is only by request. The room was very very loud on a Saturday night due to bars nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

I was in Chicago for two days and I loved this city, and also it is about this hostel. Location is really good. If u need greyhound it is not very far from there and most visited places like Willis Tower and Millennium Park are also not very far from there. I didn't know that it was in Greek Town, however it was very fun. Exactly that days there kind of Greek culture days. So it is perfect place if u need not very expensive place to live while you're staying in lovely Chicago))))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
9.7

I found this hostel to be outstanding. The staff were helpful, accommodating a big thank you to Katrina. The room was a little tight but well laid out. The washrooms were clean and close to our room. The common area was spacious and well appointed. The one drawback with the hostel was the WiFi which seemed to be on or off at high peak times. Other than that I found this hostel to be an oasis in a long and hectic trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.4

Very tidy and clean. Close to public transportation. One of the you g male staff real nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Great location, 4 blocks from Amtrak, 3 blocks from Greyhound. Dorms nice and spacious with hardwood floors. Breakfast is extensive with hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cold cereals, toast, apples, juice, coffee, tea. Internet is weak, but otherwise it's really nice. And no need to pay taxis.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

I love this hostel. It's location is brilliant, the Greek quarter is wonderful with great food and atmosphere. It's near Union Station which is convenient. They provide a nice breakfast. Don't expect a well decked out kitchen area, it's a fridge, microwave and a kettle but lounge area is nice. Laundry facilities are across the road. My one gripe would be all the stairs you have to drag your case up. They will look after your bags once checked out so you don't have to drag them around wit

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.