X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Parthenon Hostel Reviews

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1025 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I was well treated when checked in, it was very nice. The breakfast is good and the room was pretty good!!! I will for sure choose one more time this hostel cause I felt comfortable.


77%

Great location for the price. Its only a short walk to the Loop and its also a quick walk to the local CTA stop.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel definitely needs a better wi-fi. Also there should a little more choice on breakfast.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

If you want a Hostel near Downtown for a very good price,try this. But don't expect much of the facilities. Some were present, but out of order (the public internet computer) or very old (dorm doorlock).

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were great, breakfast was great, rooms were fine, toilet/showers good, no kitchen in main building never went to the other building with the kitchen 'close by'. Wifi was very slow and a bit rubbish. Super handy with train stations.


74%

Good hostel for that money


77%

Front desk lady is a bit off-putting.


57%

The kitchen wasn't the best. Hardly any pots or pans to cook with and it's was pretty dirty.


83%

Men's bathroom could be better. No kitchen facilities.


51%

This hostel doesn't allow you to bring alcohol on to the premises. There is no atmosphere and quite disappointing given the location. Breakfast is regulated by a person with a power complex but otherwise good. If possible stay at the other Chicago hostel - unless you are happy keeping to yourself.


89%

Very good place to stay. Within easy reach of the centre. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Well worth it.


94%

Noe was absolutely fantastic. I loved staying in a hostel. It was my first experience, but I will surely stay in one again!

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was a nice room - small but private


77%

The Hostel was excellent, took care of things that were messed up on the booking. Very friendly.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel is in an ideal location for backpackers who are in and out of Union Station!


83%

Overall, we had a nice stay a the hostel. We stayed in a private room for two with shared bathroom facilities. The room was clean and comfortable. Not many people were staying there doing our stay over the July 4th holiday. The only negative experience was the bullying old man at breakfast. He asked that I bus my table after breakfast because breakfast was free! That was some cheek, since breakfast was included in the room charges. But that was the only blot on the landscape.


97%

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the beds (sheets and blankets) were nice and clean. I've stayed at hotels abroad, and this one was very on par with the nicer ones I've stayed at. I would definitely recommend this hostel to friends, and would stay here again if I visit Chicago in the future.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • adamskm
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The bedrooms do not have cooling, it was near impossible to get any sleep. .The place had no atmosphere & alcohol was banned.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Air-condition is not working, it is hard to sleep in summer.

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Primo location. Couldn't ask for better. Right in the heart of Geeektown.


(514 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback