X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Parthenon Hostel Reviews

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1003 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice clean space, very nice location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at both check in and check out. It wasn't quite as interactive and sociable as other hostels, probably due to the no alcohol on premises policy, but it was okay especially for a nice quiet get away.


77%

Good little hostel with very nice clean facilities. The breakfast was very good and the location is nice and central. There was not much atmosphere in this place as everyone keeps themselves to themselves, but this may be because it was a quiet time of year. Taxis are only about 8-10 dollars back from most central areas of Chicago making this an easy place to return to. The value for money here is great and would recommend staying here.

  • 3rd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, only 10 minutes walk to downtown. Would stay here again soon.


86%

The breakfast was very nice. Dominicks down the street 4 or so blocks is a big help for groceries. Walgreens one block shy of this had a nice selection of 1/2 size sandwiches and salads great for travel on the train, or if you have to, the bus. There was some night life across the street, but not hearing it until in bed, I didn't check it out in person. The kitchen in the adjacent building was far enough out of reach to make the microwave and refrigerator the primary options for cooking.


86%

Free breakfast was great. Wifi was horrible, hardly any connection from the room.


97%

I stayed 4 nights and had a lovely time. The beds in the dorm was very comfortable and there was an extra blanket if I was cold. The only thing was the blind in the dorm room didn't go the whole way down (it was broken) but it was nice to wake up early! The free breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hostel. Would DEFINITELY stay again. Highly recommended.


80%

The sound proof need to be improved. Other than that, everything is fine.

  • 23rd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location. But Noisy

  • 22nd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great experince! I slept sound and solid. I felt good each morning I woke up.

  • 21st Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel was good - staff were friendly. Rooms were big and clean. Breakfast which was included was good. Laundry facilities were adequate - across the road. Walking distance to the Greyhound and easy to get to Chicago airport. Showers were good and clean. Nice part of Chicago to stay - the middle of Greektown.


77%

The bed linens and other areas of the room had traces of other people's hair on them. A toilet was constantly running in the bathroom down the hall, all through my stay, even after I alerted the staff about it.

  • 18th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The kitchen facilities weren't always available, and were difficult to access. Staff were either extremely helpful or barely so, depending on who was on duty.


77%

good location but a bit noisy

  • 15th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The location is very good. It's convenient to reach the downtown even on foot. It seems there is only one bathroom to have a bath on the first floor, and we have to go downstairs to have a bath. It will be better if there is a bathroom for bath on each floor.

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Breakfast is free and delicious. Bed is comfortable except the space of toilet is little narrow

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean, good bathrooms, and good stay. Location is good being a few minutes walk to the CTA blue line, which connects to the airport, and right near the bus station - but not an amazing amount to do in the immediate area (Greektown). Downtown is walkable.


80%

If I were travelling alone. maybe it would have been a bit quiet , but honestly this was a great place to stay. Loads of nice cafes and restaurants near by, and an organic supermarket with a hot buffet has just appeared! Really easy walking distance of downtown Chicago and BRILLIANT for the airport and bus station. Staff were really helpful, gave good down to earth advice, no lockers, but for a pound you can leave your bag in the office. Security good, breakfast good, I would stay again!


80%

Nice place, clean and pretty quiet. Bathrooms are a little awkward (not a whole lot of space) but it's a 15 minute walk into downtown Chicago or a 2 minute walk to the UIC-Halsted CTA stop. The free breakfast is also good - toast, eggs, cereal, coffee and fruit. Basically, you get what you pay for and I'd stay there again.

  • 9th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed the location and staff, thanks for being accessible!


100%

I have stayed in many hostels across the globe and Parthenon was fantastic. Great location with tons of amazing restaurants and cafes nearby. The staff was hilarious and always greeted us when we came in and damn those bathrooms were well maintained. It's great to have such solid security too. Definitely recommend this hostel to visitors! Be sure to eat at that breakfast place on the corner too.

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(506 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback