X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Passenger Ship Avanti Reviews

Oosterdok , Jetty 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
722 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Awesome place to stay when in Amsterdam! Small rooms but who cares, you're there to sleep! Captain Dave and Anni are very nice, friendly and hospitable young people!


100%

Best Hostel in Amsterdam, they made oure trip very special!!! Manny thanks and greetings from Germany

  • 19th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Top place to crash for a couple of nights. Dave and Annie were great hosts.

  • 14th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was as advertised. A great location and a warm welcome from Annie and Dave. Recommended.


100%

This was our first time staying on a houseboat and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Dave and Annie were wonderful hosts and and went out of their way to provide a relaxing and home-away-from-home atmosphere. It was just great to be able to have a beer, a glass of wine or a cup of tea or coffee in the breakfast area on the boat after a tiring day of sightseeing. The highlight of our trip was getting lost in Amsterdam's canals with Captain Dave!


100%

great value for money,very clean,staff atmosphere excellent,good breakfast, will be back next year, thank you.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved our stay aboard the Avanti, the hosts, Dave and Annie were very friendly and approachable. Great location and comfortable room.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

the staff were really great and put themselves out to spend time with their visitors! They took us for majical boat ride around the canals in Amstedam in the evening, finishing off with a beer in a waterside pub-fantastic!!


74%

Nice experience to be on board! A lot of fun! The breakfast is good. And the room is very small, shall be difficult for big person then. And Wifi is available only in dining room.


100%

Avanti ist a really perfect place to stay! My sister and I travelled to Amsterdam and during this time we staid on Avanti. The staff was really friendly, nice and they helped us a lot, the room was clean and the ship is perfect to chilling in the sun an other things. We really enjoied it ans when we are in Amsterdam we will stay again :)

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Impresionant. If i will return to amsterdam Avanti will be my Hotel!!! Thanks for this new experience!!! From Spain!!!

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Best hostel experience I've had. Everyone who comes to Amsterdam and is looking for a good time needs to stay here, it made the trip.

  • 7th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very cozy, warm, nicely decorated & comfortable lounge - dinning area. Small (as you would expect!), secure & clean rooms equipped with tap sink, wardrobe & comfortable bunk beds. Very nice & laid back atmosphere. The hosts Dave & Annie were extremely helpful, friendly & made us feel very welcome (thanks again, guys! ;) Would definitely recommend the accommodation for young travelers.

  • 3rd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best place to stay in Amsterdam! The staff, Annie and Dave, run a relaxed and fun ship. They went out of their way to make sure all guests had the best stay possible! The boat is in a great location - close to central station, 5 mins walk to town and plenty of little shops and cafes around marina area. Don't listen to the reviews moaning about the size of the rooms - I'm over 6ft and found their was more than enough room. In fact, the snuggness adds to the novelty of staying on a boat!


86%

Annie and Dave were awesome! They took us out on a canal tour and were super friendly. Definitely made it worth it for us. Also, the breakfast was good. The rooms are small but that is a part of the house boat experience. Excellent stay.


100%

Our stay was very nice. Thw owners - Dave and Annie are very friendly and helpfull. Location is very good. Small rooms are so funny and you can manage to spend nice time there. Breakfasts were really nice nad Dave's boat ride was way better than canal cruise :)

  • 27th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Hosts were excellent! Heating control in showers a bit dodgy for one cubicle.

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great little Botel with very nice and helpful owners. Cabins are a bit small, but enough for sleeping and storing your luggage. I can just highly recommend it for everyone who is looking for a low price accomodation but good value.

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I absolutely loved staying on the Avanti while in Amsterdam. The ship was warm and had a comfortable atmosphere, and my friend and I often enjoyed just hanging out in the common area. The staff were incredibly helpful with recommendations for places to eat and things to see around the city. They were even kind enough to store our luggage for a few hours even after we checked out. I definitely recommend it to anyone planning a trip in Amsterdam.


94%

very nice ship, the staff is really good and helfull


(456 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback