X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Passenger Ship Avanti Reviews

Oosterdok , Jetty 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
733 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The Avanti is one of two boats which are next to each other and operate the same booking system. We stayed in the one right at the end of the pier, and it was very pleasant. Though we only spent one night in there - arriving around 9pm and having to leave the next day at 7am - we were made to feel at home by the guy who runs the boats - forgot his name (sorry mate) but he's the tall lad from Blackpool - was very chatty and welcoming. Definitely recommend it and wish we could have stayed longer!


97%

Nice establishment with beautiful people. We enjoyed a lot our stay, thanks to the Captain of the boat. The breakfast are excellent, and the context of the boat is very original. I hope I will back once. Laura PERRICHET and Mélanie CORNETEAU

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Smallest room I've ever stayed in but great location and was exactly what I was expecting. Would use again when travelling in small group


100%

Lovely staff, lovely location, one of the best hostel I ever slept in! They are always doing their best for the facilities to be comfortables and cleans, and for your stay to be pleasant. Don't expect your room nor the shower to be huge, just remember that you're on a boat and then enjoy the quietest night you could possibly have in an Amsterdam hostel.


83%

Awesome place to stay when in Amsterdam! Small rooms but who cares, you're there to sleep! Captain Dave and Anni are very nice, friendly and hospitable young people!


100%

Best Hostel in Amsterdam, they made oure trip very special!!! Manny thanks and greetings from Germany

  • 19th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Top place to crash for a couple of nights. Dave and Annie were great hosts.

  • 14th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was as advertised. A great location and a warm welcome from Annie and Dave. Recommended.


100%

This was our first time staying on a houseboat and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Dave and Annie were wonderful hosts and and went out of their way to provide a relaxing and home-away-from-home atmosphere. It was just great to be able to have a beer, a glass of wine or a cup of tea or coffee in the breakfast area on the boat after a tiring day of sightseeing. The highlight of our trip was getting lost in Amsterdam's canals with Captain Dave!


100%

great value for money,very clean,staff atmosphere excellent,good breakfast, will be back next year, thank you.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved our stay aboard the Avanti, the hosts, Dave and Annie were very friendly and approachable. Great location and comfortable room.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

the staff were really great and put themselves out to spend time with their visitors! They took us for majical boat ride around the canals in Amstedam in the evening, finishing off with a beer in a waterside pub-fantastic!!


74%

Nice experience to be on board! A lot of fun! The breakfast is good. And the room is very small, shall be difficult for big person then. And Wifi is available only in dining room.


100%

Avanti ist a really perfect place to stay! My sister and I travelled to Amsterdam and during this time we staid on Avanti. The staff was really friendly, nice and they helped us a lot, the room was clean and the ship is perfect to chilling in the sun an other things. We really enjoied it ans when we are in Amsterdam we will stay again :)

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Impresionant. If i will return to amsterdam Avanti will be my Hotel!!! Thanks for this new experience!!! From Spain!!!

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Best hostel experience I've had. Everyone who comes to Amsterdam and is looking for a good time needs to stay here, it made the trip.

  • 7th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very cozy, warm, nicely decorated & comfortable lounge - dinning area. Small (as you would expect!), secure & clean rooms equipped with tap sink, wardrobe & comfortable bunk beds. Very nice & laid back atmosphere. The hosts Dave & Annie were extremely helpful, friendly & made us feel very welcome (thanks again, guys! ;) Would definitely recommend the accommodation for young travelers.

  • 3rd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best place to stay in Amsterdam! The staff, Annie and Dave, run a relaxed and fun ship. They went out of their way to make sure all guests had the best stay possible! The boat is in a great location - close to central station, 5 mins walk to town and plenty of little shops and cafes around marina area. Don't listen to the reviews moaning about the size of the rooms - I'm over 6ft and found their was more than enough room. In fact, the snuggness adds to the novelty of staying on a boat!


86%

Annie and Dave were awesome! They took us out on a canal tour and were super friendly. Definitely made it worth it for us. Also, the breakfast was good. The rooms are small but that is a part of the house boat experience. Excellent stay.


100%

Our stay was very nice. Thw owners - Dave and Annie are very friendly and helpfull. Location is very good. Small rooms are so funny and you can manage to spend nice time there. Breakfasts were really nice nad Dave's boat ride was way better than canal cruise :)

  • 27th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(460 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback