X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Passenger Ship Avanti Reviews

Oosterdok , Jetty 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
750 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

1st experience in this type of boat hotel. The room was too small but we understand .

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

An experience definitely worth living. Plus, great breakfast!!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Dave and Anni are very nice people and gave us nice tips to getting around Amterdam. Furthermore, it's a nice experience to sleep in a boat. Only complain: A little bit noise after 7am.


100%

It's a lovely way to spent your time in amsterdam, a beautiful view of the sunset from there! The staff are really helpful and friendly. The only bad point is that you are not allowed to use the cocker and the oven inside the kitchen, but you can use the microwave what ia very helpful!


94%

I had a lovely stay there! Even better than the amazing location is really the staff! Anne and Dave are amanzingly friendly and you will love to get to know them and being hosted by them. The atmosphere is very nice and so is the breakfast!


100%

Dave and annie are great captains, always there if you need something! The cabines are small but have cozy and warm beds, the shower is hot, and the ship has a great place to hangout, play some videogame or watch the tv, with a fridge with beer and soft drinks! Don't forget to ask Dave about the next day's weather, he loves talking about it! Thanks, Dave and Annie, you are great hosts :)


100%

The best placa in Amesterdam!!!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks so much, Dave and Annie! Had a great time staying there. Next time in Amsterdam I'll plan to stay there again.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was amazingly welcoming and friendly. We felt so at home and comforted by Dave and Annie, they truly made our stay special and memorable.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Perfect place for couples or pairs of mates. Breakfast was AMAZING, had a great time hanging out with the owners. So cool being on a boat and the showers were always hot. Close walk to lots of cool things and very easy from the train station. Some people complain on here the rooms are too small but it adds to the fun of being on a boat! Highly recommended!


97%

We had a great time on the Avanti. Dave and Annie were great hosts, really friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend staying there to friends.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

You get what you pay for in sleeping quarters,short walk from Central Station and easy to find,friendly and helpful hosts in Dave and Anni,an enjoyable stay Darren

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome people and a fantastic location! Close enough to walk to just about anywhere or to the train station to take trams. Dave and Anni are awesome hosts and they make the Passenger Ship Avanti the best hostel experience I've had! SHAVE YOUR HEAD DAVE! :)


100%

Dave and Annie are running a tight ship. The best advice and a great atmosphere. Recommened for anyone who wants real traveling experience. AVANTI!!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The agency we booked through did not state it was a hostel when we booked so we were a bit surprised upon arrival to discover it was such. Although it is a boat I do think the small size of the cabins should be emphasised and people should be made aware on booking just how small they are. To combat this issue the hosts have made an effort with the common area so you can relax here in the evening. This may be a great place for others but it wasn't for us.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's a shame you didn't know that it was a hostel. We'd be interested which 'agency' had led you to believe otherwise. Our description points out that it is hostel, a boat and that you will be staying in a cabin. Our photos also reflect this.

100%

Awesome atmosphere, just like being home. The owners are great and they live on the boat as well. Great way to get the feel of the Netherlands and canals. Perfect location, look forward to going back!


100%

The Avanti is a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam! The location really is perfect, less than 10 minute walk from Centraal Station. This means you can get to pretty much anywhere in the city via walking, trams or metro within minutes. Captain Dave & Annie were fantastic hosts as well. Yes, the rooms are pretty small, there's no two ways about that. However, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, and you're staying close to everything. 10/10 Would stay again.


91%

We had a very nice time on the boat, 10 min from the citycenter, so a very good location!

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Our staying in the Avanti was just excellent, Dave has an amazing taste in music, Annie is so welcoming and organized and everything went very good, the ambiance is great, everything very clean, good breakfast, very safe and just 10-15 minutes by walking to the downtown, I'd definitely be back in the Avanti if I ever pass by Amsterdam once again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Lina, hope you are good? We got to have good music playing all the time! Glad you had a good time here and hopefully our paths cross again. Dave & Anni x

83%

Dave and Annie are excellent host. Makes our stay memorable and comfortable.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(470 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback