X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Passenger Ship Avanti Reviews

Oosterdok , Jetty 2, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
733 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We had a great time on the Avanti. Dave and Annie were great hosts, really friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend staying there to friends.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

You get what you pay for in sleeping quarters,short walk from Central Station and easy to find,friendly and helpful hosts in Dave and Anni,an enjoyable stay Darren

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome people and a fantastic location! Close enough to walk to just about anywhere or to the train station to take trams. Dave and Anni are awesome hosts and they make the Passenger Ship Avanti the best hostel experience I've had! SHAVE YOUR HEAD DAVE! :)


100%

Dave and Annie are running a tight ship. The best advice and a great atmosphere. Recommened for anyone who wants real traveling experience. AVANTI!!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The agency we booked through did not state it was a hostel when we booked so we were a bit surprised upon arrival to discover it was such. Although it is a boat I do think the small size of the cabins should be emphasised and people should be made aware on booking just how small they are. To combat this issue the hosts have made an effort with the common area so you can relax here in the evening. This may be a great place for others but it wasn't for us.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's a shame you didn't know that it was a hostel. We'd be interested which 'agency' had led you to believe otherwise. Our description points out that it is hostel, a boat and that you will be staying in a cabin. Our photos also reflect this.

100%

Awesome atmosphere, just like being home. The owners are great and they live on the boat as well. Great way to get the feel of the Netherlands and canals. Perfect location, look forward to going back!


100%

The Avanti is a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam! The location really is perfect, less than 10 minute walk from Centraal Station. This means you can get to pretty much anywhere in the city via walking, trams or metro within minutes. Captain Dave & Annie were fantastic hosts as well. Yes, the rooms are pretty small, there's no two ways about that. However, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, and you're staying close to everything. 10/10 Would stay again.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

We had a very nice time on the boat, 10 min from the citycenter, so a very good location!

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Our staying in the Avanti was just excellent, Dave has an amazing taste in music, Annie is so welcoming and organized and everything went very good, the ambiance is great, everything very clean, good breakfast, very safe and just 10-15 minutes by walking to the downtown, I'd definitely be back in the Avanti if I ever pass by Amsterdam once again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Lina, hope you are good? We got to have good music playing all the time! Glad you had a good time here and hopefully our paths cross again. Dave & Anni x

83%

Dave and Annie are excellent host. Makes our stay memorable and comfortable.


100%

The couple running the ship were as helpful as ever and extremely friendly; we even went out for a couple of beers together! Location is perfect; 5 minute walk from the train station, 10 minute walk to red light district and a 10 minute bike ride to the museum quarter. The ship has a homely feel with all the guests socialising in the main lounge/diner; the munchies at whatever hour can be satisfied on board if you can't wait for the brilliant breakfast spread the following morning! Cheers Guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a pleasure :-) Stay in touch with us and come visit next time you come to the Dam. Dave & Anni x

94%

Great place to stay! Small rooms (to be expected on a small ship), but the boat was very stable. Amazing and extremely knowledgeable staff. Great breakfast with grilled cheese, cereal, juice, etc.. however last day they were 40 minutes late putting it out. We were able to stay, however we watched at least a half a dozen people wait around and then leave without breakfast..

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed at the boat with a group of friends and as we wanted a cheap night sleep, near to the city centre this was then a good choice. Nevertheless be aware that the cabins have very limited and as well the toilets. As an experience I recommend but I wouldn't stay longer than 2 nights.

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and beautiful location - would definitely recommend it to others.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Dave and Annie are the perfect hosts, the place is spotless, and there's a great communal area for the free breakfast and a beer whilst planning. Yes the rooms are tiny, but its a boat! Much better value than staying in a 32 bed dorm for the same price. Its not a party boat, but perfect for chilling out after hitting the bars in town!


86%

We enjoined our stay very much. It was wonderfull to have breakfast on the water. As well in sunshine as even when there was some rain. Dave and Annie are excellent hosts, always kind and helpfull. May be the space in the beds is a bit too small for us

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Just what we needed - basic accommodation very close to the centre of Amsterdam, with breakfast included. The owners of the boat were very nice and very helpful, and the facilities were basic but all there - wifi, breakfast, showers with hot water etc. Not for claustrophobics though - the rooms are small (as might be expected on a boat!) and there is not much headroom in the bunks.


100%

Dave, Annie and Admiral Nelson are fantastic hosts and made our stay on board very memorable. If you are visiting Amsterdam and are looking for somewhere to stay on a budget, the Avanti is great. Excellent value for money and a great location. Dave had plenty of tourist tips and Annie was like a machine with the cleaning products. The boat was absolutely spotless and It is very clear that Dave and Annie love their jobs and their boat. Thank you for a great stay, from Charlotte and Chris x


97%

Merel is very nice owner!! The day of our arrival is rainy and windy. He help us to settle down kindly. Facilities are quite good in the boat. It would be better if wifi connection is stronger. The best thing is the food and beverage provided with free of charge! Though the breakfast is stated to be start at 8.30. Because of our early flight, they serve us before 8.30.!! Thanks so much(: .............comments from HK.


94%

If you are looking for something a bit different from all the big hostels, this is the place for you! Very welcoming and the staff is really nice! has a good breakfast, comfy beds even thou its a ship! the fact it's a ship has its limits on space an stuff, but the atmosphere is so nice that you wont mind. Security is top notch and the location is good aswell. Not for partying, but for those who want a good night sleep in a personal hostel this is your place. And did i mention its a SHIP!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(460 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback