X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Passenger Ship Maria Alberta Reviews

Oosterdok, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
619 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Fantastic place to stay. Comfy beds, good breakfasts and a great host! I certainly will be going back next time in Dam!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Captan Lukas is a real character. It's surprisingly comfortable for bunk beds in a little cabin on a boat. That said, don't show up with high expectations, because ....it is what it is.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Captain Lucas is the owner of this ship and he is a real funny, honest, helpful man. The location of the ship is very close to Central Train Station and so you can take a walk easily. The ship is full of sailor equipments and different type of thing that makes you feel you are on a big holiday in a narrow sea! The paintings are also nice but actually Mr. Lucas makes things better. The breakfasts are delicious! I strongly recommend this place if you have no problems staying in small ship rooms.


100%

What a fantastic little boat. Only 10 beds altogether (4 cabins). we stayed in a twin, its small as expected but absolutely spotless, it was lovely to look out the round window from the bed to see the marina and ducks in the morning. The main area is beautiful, wooden and curiosities everywhere. Breakfast was great, Large spread of meat, cheese, cereals, omelettes and more. The deck is very cosy, candles cushions, lovely. The captain Lucas was an absolute gentleman, helpful & great humoured.A+


97%

Excellent place!!! Nice owner, nice ship, nice place. I will back here, I'm sure!


80%

We had a nice stay in the hostel. The room is a little bit small but was oke. The location is perfect; you can walk to the center. The owner nows a lot about Amsterdam and can tell you how to walk etc.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Room was very small but that was expected. Shower was great! Lucas the boat owner was absolutely lovely and his pancakes are amazing, he does a great breakfast spread in the morning! Definitely recommend and would stay again in the future!


86%

The Boat was a fun aspect to our holiday. It is very small but it is clean and comes with a great breakfast.


83%

The owner of the boat was really nice to us, he gave us some tips of the city as soon as we arrived and there was a cool atmosphere also.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We arrived three hrs late and the captain Lucas rang me to check we were coming and waited for us which was very reassuring...he didn't stop ribbing us for it though which is part of his charm. The room was tiny as expected for a ship and there were 3 of us in it, boyfriend and son back from Uni .... which was interesting...but very well designed and the breakfast was yummy.. Definitely going back,minus son and aiming for a more romantic double next time, thank you Lucas.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hosts are very nice and friendly and they are very helpful (they pointed energy interesting location on a map for us, and also gave us useful tips and advice). The breakfast is very complete and good (we were even served pancakes and eggs and bacon). The boat is at a central and quiet location. Our room was a little tight but it is a good deal anyway.


91%

We had a great time in Passenger Ship Maria Alberta. We stayed in Cabin 4 which is the largest cabin, and it was very clean and cosy. The boat is in a beautiful spot next to Nemo Science Museum and close to the central station. At night we could hardly hear any cars, but rather swans and other birds...! The hospitality of Lucas and his wife is great, and the breakfast in itself is worth the stay!!!! So much choice and delicious freshly cooked pancakes and omelettes from Lucas. Thank you!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Breakfast was really good! Thanks Lucas! Room was a bit small but ok.


89%

Very nice captain and breakfast. Already know it is small room but also surprised how small it is! But it is very clean! The terrace on the boat is beautiful.


100%

A really Perfect accomodation which will make your stay in Amsterdam Even more special! Really familiar atmosphere thanks to useful tips of the boat's "captain Lukas" and his Great breakfast with omelette and pancakes!!! All in all the best Place to stay in Central Amsterdam for a good (!!!!!) price!!!!

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We had an amazing time staying on Maria Alberta. Our host was the friendliest person imaginable and he cooked us an amazing breakfast that included pancakes... these were seriously the best pancakes I have ever had. The second morning we were there we had to leave early and he prepared us a breakfast to take with us that included filled rolls and omelettes, the omelettes were delicious. He also drove us to the markets because we would have missed them if we had walked. Definitely recommended!


97%

We have been at Passangers ship Maria Alberta for two days and really enjoyed our staying.... Wonderful atmosphere and perfect breakfast.... The Accommodation is small but very beautiful. The Maria Alberta run out by Lucas, a great guy with a lot of humor. If you looking for a friendly and cheap place during your staying in Amsterdam, you have to go to Passangers ship Maria Alberta.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The Captain is a great character (crazy :), funny and very helpful). He also makes very good breakfast and pancakes. Locations is very good near the central station but also in a quiet area. Rooms are very small and so is the bathroom (you are in a ship!) but the common area is big enough for the all the passengers! Ship also has a nice terrace. I recommend it very much and we are most certainly going to come back here if ever revisit Amsterdam.


91%

Really good accommodation: good value for money, friendly staff, super location, free tea and coffee's, nice breakfast! Only negatives (and considering the price these should be overlooked): small room and weak shower (yes, I'm a man of comfort!) Would definitely return to the boat :)


100%

Great stay, made our weekend trip special. Close to the centre, very nice and helpful hosts, clean cabins, great breakfast (the pancakes were really tasty!). All in all an awesome place to stay in Amsterdam!


(447 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback