X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Passenger Ship Maria Alberta Reviews

Oosterdok, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
591 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing accommodation one of the best I have ever stayed in. It is a houseboat with small bedrooms but quite big kitchen area. Very good location just next to central station and next to the town centre. AND the best ever was breakfast with fresh omelette and pancakes with a huge selection of almost everything else... We definitely will be back!


86%

The captain of the boat was really nice and helpful! Breakfast was awesome! Good location. Small rooms but comfortable.


91%

Nice and comfortable boathouse, good location the Staff was kind and we felt better than home!

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice place to stay. The owners were very helpful and will help you with everything you want. The hostelboat is right in the city centre. It has a perfect location for visiting Ámsterdam. The breakfast was perfect. It has four rooms and we stayed in the smallest one, it was really small, but you already know it when you book a room in a ship! We will come back!


97%

We stayed 2 nights in the double bed cabin and enjoyed both a good bed and great breakfasts (pancakes, bacon & eggs, cereals, bread etc). The owners are really nice and helpfull and will give you a quick overall description of the different areas of the city. You can come and go as you like, day and night. In the morning, you will be woken for breakfast between 9 and 10am (which you don't want to miss!). Only minors (if any): Very small (be prepared) and hairdryer is no good for extensive use.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

The one and only very best way to stay in Amsterdam is on a botel! This lovely houseboat was very cosy. We had the smallest cabin on the ship but had everything we needed inclusive a great view at the harbour. Lucas was a great and charming host. He made very delicious pancakes and omlet every morning and had a lot of insider news on where to go and what to to in Amsterdam. We will come back!

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great and unique place...to stay in a houseboat in Amsterdam was amazing!! Lucas was wonderful - funny and gave us tips for different places around town. The facilities are great...now, remember, you're on a boat...so space is small but clean and comfortable...highly recommend to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic place to stay. Comfy beds, good breakfasts and a great host! I certainly will be going back next time in Dam!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Captan Lukas is a real character. It's surprisingly comfortable for bunk beds in a little cabin on a boat. That said, don't show up with high expectations, because ....it is what it is.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Captain Lucas is the owner of this ship and he is a real funny, honest, helpful man. The location of the ship is very close to Central Train Station and so you can take a walk easily. The ship is full of sailor equipments and different type of thing that makes you feel you are on a big holiday in a narrow sea! The paintings are also nice but actually Mr. Lucas makes things better. The breakfasts are delicious! I strongly recommend this place if you have no problems staying in small ship rooms.


100%

What a fantastic little boat. Only 10 beds altogether (4 cabins). we stayed in a twin, its small as expected but absolutely spotless, it was lovely to look out the round window from the bed to see the marina and ducks in the morning. The main area is beautiful, wooden and curiosities everywhere. Breakfast was great, Large spread of meat, cheese, cereals, omelettes and more. The deck is very cosy, candles cushions, lovely. The captain Lucas was an absolute gentleman, helpful & great humoured.A+


97%

Excellent place!!! Nice owner, nice ship, nice place. I will back here, I'm sure!


80%

We had a nice stay in the hostel. The room is a little bit small but was oke. The location is perfect; you can walk to the center. The owner nows a lot about Amsterdam and can tell you how to walk etc.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Room was very small but that was expected. Shower was great! Lucas the boat owner was absolutely lovely and his pancakes are amazing, he does a great breakfast spread in the morning! Definitely recommend and would stay again in the future!


86%

The Boat was a fun aspect to our holiday. It is very small but it is clean and comes with a great breakfast.


83%

The owner of the boat was really nice to us, he gave us some tips of the city as soon as we arrived and there was a cool atmosphere also.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We arrived three hrs late and the captain Lucas rang me to check we were coming and waited for us which was very reassuring...he didn't stop ribbing us for it though which is part of his charm. The room was tiny as expected for a ship and there were 3 of us in it, boyfriend and son back from Uni .... which was interesting...but very well designed and the breakfast was yummy.. Definitely going back,minus son and aiming for a more romantic double next time, thank you Lucas.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hosts are very nice and friendly and they are very helpful (they pointed energy interesting location on a map for us, and also gave us useful tips and advice). The breakfast is very complete and good (we were even served pancakes and eggs and bacon). The boat is at a central and quiet location. Our room was a little tight but it is a good deal anyway.


91%

We had a great time in Passenger Ship Maria Alberta. We stayed in Cabin 4 which is the largest cabin, and it was very clean and cosy. The boat is in a beautiful spot next to Nemo Science Museum and close to the central station. At night we could hardly hear any cars, but rather swans and other birds...! The hospitality of Lucas and his wife is great, and the breakfast in itself is worth the stay!!!! So much choice and delicious freshly cooked pancakes and omelettes from Lucas. Thank you!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Breakfast was really good! Thanks Lucas! Room was a bit small but ok.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(434 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback