X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Passenger Ship Maria Alberta Reviews

Oosterdok, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
610 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

A very nice boat house with small cabins but still comfortable. We felt the cost of 36 euros per person was high but it was a very nice place to stay. A very delicious and warm breakfast was served personally without additional costs.


94%

It was my first experience in a ship and it was awesome. Lucas and his wife are amazing hosts, he gave us recommendations of the places to visit and he made a delicious breakfast next morning. The location is very good, you are 10 minutes away from the central station, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the only thing is that they are small, but this obvious, you are in a ship. One of the best places where I've stayed.


100%

We stayed one night at Maria Alberta and were made to feel very welcome. Lovely breakfast, apple pancakes cooked by the host and comfortable beds. Our room was the smallest but perfect for our short stay. Would definitely recommend as a great location on a budget.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Had an amazing stay here, very comfortable and was made to feel very welcome. Lots of useful information was given to us and access to discounts too. A great breakfast with amazing apple pancakes. If we visit Amsterdam again will be booking to stay here again.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Cheapest room is very very tiny, we couldn't have stayed longer than a night in there. However you get a bathroom with that room and the people are lovely and breakfast is brilliant too. We had a good time but do not stay in the cheapest room!


80%

Staff was very polite. I had a very nice conversations with them. Breakfast excellent and view in the roof of the ship hilarious. Bedrooms reeeally small but worth it.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for taking care about us. The stay at yours was a pleasure for us, we spent unforgetable moments on Maria Alberta with you as the boss, Lucas :-)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely LOVED this hotel boat! Hands down one of the best decisions I've made travelling abroad. The couple who owns the boat are very sweet and funny. While the room was a bit cramped, it was to be expected. I mean, it's a boat! Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Homemade crepes with Nutella and jams, meats, cheeses, scones. Juices and milk. The works. I would DEFINITELY stay here again! About a fifteen minute walk from everything. Really, I highly recommend. Stay here, you won't regret it.


91%

I stayed at the Passenger Ship Maria Alberta with two friends and we had a great time! It was really really nice and the staff was the best! They were kind and funny, gave us many useful informations about Amsterdam and prepared an excelent breakfast! The room was quite small but very comfortable and clean and the atmosphere was unique and special. I highly recommend everyone to sleep at least once in this ship! We stayed just for one night and the day after we didn't want to leave anymore!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing accommodation one of the best I have ever stayed in. It is a houseboat with small bedrooms but quite big kitchen area. Very good location just next to central station and next to the town centre. AND the best ever was breakfast with fresh omelette and pancakes with a huge selection of almost everything else... We definitely will be back!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

The captain of the boat was really nice and helpful! Breakfast was awesome! Good location. Small rooms but comfortable.


91%

Nice and comfortable boathouse, good location the Staff was kind and we felt better than home!

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice place to stay. The owners were very helpful and will help you with everything you want. The hostelboat is right in the city centre. It has a perfect location for visiting Ámsterdam. The breakfast was perfect. It has four rooms and we stayed in the smallest one, it was really small, but you already know it when you book a room in a ship! We will come back!


97%

We stayed 2 nights in the double bed cabin and enjoyed both a good bed and great breakfasts (pancakes, bacon & eggs, cereals, bread etc). The owners are really nice and helpfull and will give you a quick overall description of the different areas of the city. You can come and go as you like, day and night. In the morning, you will be woken for breakfast between 9 and 10am (which you don't want to miss!). Only minors (if any): Very small (be prepared) and hairdryer is no good for extensive use.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The one and only very best way to stay in Amsterdam is on a botel! This lovely houseboat was very cosy. We had the smallest cabin on the ship but had everything we needed inclusive a great view at the harbour. Lucas was a great and charming host. He made very delicious pancakes and omlet every morning and had a lot of insider news on where to go and what to to in Amsterdam. We will come back!

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great and unique place...to stay in a houseboat in Amsterdam was amazing!! Lucas was wonderful - funny and gave us tips for different places around town. The facilities are great...now, remember, you're on a boat...so space is small but clean and comfortable...highly recommend to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic place to stay. Comfy beds, good breakfasts and a great host! I certainly will be going back next time in Dam!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Captan Lukas is a real character. It's surprisingly comfortable for bunk beds in a little cabin on a boat. That said, don't show up with high expectations, because ....it is what it is.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Captain Lucas is the owner of this ship and he is a real funny, honest, helpful man. The location of the ship is very close to Central Train Station and so you can take a walk easily. The ship is full of sailor equipments and different type of thing that makes you feel you are on a big holiday in a narrow sea! The paintings are also nice but actually Mr. Lucas makes things better. The breakfasts are delicious! I strongly recommend this place if you have no problems staying in small ship rooms.


100%

What a fantastic little boat. Only 10 beds altogether (4 cabins). we stayed in a twin, its small as expected but absolutely spotless, it was lovely to look out the round window from the bed to see the marina and ducks in the morning. The main area is beautiful, wooden and curiosities everywhere. Breakfast was great, Large spread of meat, cheese, cereals, omelettes and more. The deck is very cosy, candles cushions, lovely. The captain Lucas was an absolute gentleman, helpful & great humoured.A+


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(443 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback