Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Patagonia House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
Patagonia House Located at Avenida Independencia 416, , Punta Arenas.
Patagonia House
Chile
Punta Arenas 6200000 Avenida Independencia 416
75% 216
-53.1639220 -70.9162867
Patagonia House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
5.1

In order to leave and enter the hostel you need to pass through a dirty and cramped passage way. The hostel is located around a lot of strip clubs. The owner was more interested in blasting AC/DC loudly on the first floor speakers than ordering the taxi that we paid for and he said he could provide. The taxi did not show up, so we asked for a refund and got another taxi to the airport for a better rate. The rooms are very dingy, the curtains are falling apart. The sheets are threadbare. Noisy

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
6.9

Good hostel for a travel day in Punta arenas. Not enough bathrooms for people staying there, though fully equipped kitchen and nice counter space and enough tables to eat at. Though kitchen was very crowded and noisy in later hours of night. Common space is small, and not super conducive to getting to know people. Staff helped coordinate taxi to airport. They were helpful offering suggestions of where to buy groceries from their hand drawn map!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
4.3

The kitchen is tiny, there are only two bathrooms. In the room, the roof beam was 20cm from my bed, no ladder, no key to close the room. The transfer to the airport is with the owner's car, it is more expensive than a taxi and the transfer to the pier never came for us. But the worst is that the owner relies exclusively on non-paid volunteers who seem to live in the worst possible conditions (some sort of a cellar with mattresses on the floor, no window, no furniture). Don't support that.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
7.7

Fun crowd. Easy walk to bus station. Not enough bathrooms for the number of people that the place supports. Owner told everyone that they had to pay more than that hostelworld quoted. Several people experienced this when I stayed there. Opportunity for hostel world / Owner to get on the same page. At the end of the day it was a financial discrepancy of ~$3USD per day but I could see how that would frustrate many travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
4.9

The owner is a control freak. He denied us access to call our own cab only so he could drive us himself and lecture us about how to book a hostel. The kitchen is nice, beds aren't bad and the volunteers were nice but the owner has some strange desire to fill the walls with signs of what NOT to do in his hostel. It's like living with a passive aggressive roommate with OCD.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.0

Comfy beds, open kitchen and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
7.1

You get what you pay for. The staff is very friendly, but it is a little dirty. Very comfortable for me though and a positive atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
3.7

Terrible stay. The people who worked in the hostel were rude. The wifi didn't work at all. They put me in one bed, and when I came back from dinner, all my stuff was off the bed and scattered on the floor. They then came and told me they needed to move me to a different bed because they mad a mistake. Never apologized about throwing my stuff on the ground. They moved me to a bed next to the bathroom. The door to the bathroom kept hitting the bed. Terrible experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • felicitycmartin
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
5.4

Not the most enjoyable stay ... crappy bedroom with no window except from the bathroom which looked out at the entrance/exit and the smoking area - gross. Room was very dingy, bed uncomfortable and right next to the kitchen which was noisy until about 2am. Nowhere comfortable or nice to hangout. And for all this it's so expensive! You can't even leave your bags at the hostel while you wait for your bus/flight without laying a fee. At least the wifi was decent...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
6.3

Staff were not very welcoming and lots of rules plastered all over the walls in this hostel, which was a little off putting! Breakfast is not included. Kitchen is very small. OK to spend one night. Location about 10 minute walk from bus station, surrounded by lots of strip clubs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.