X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Patong Backpacker Hostel Reviews

140 Taweeeong Rd., Patong beach Kathu, Phuket Patong Beach, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
557 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Mama was great! Met a bunch of great solo travellers here. Nice common room


83%

Great location with basic but clean facilities. Good cable TV and movie election in common area for days spent hungover after 'exploring' Patong. Kind of expensive for Thailand - but Patong's a tourist 'hotspot' so not entirely surprising.


77%

This hostel is clean and the staff is attentive. The atmosphere is great as well. However, there are a few issues. One being they don't have any bed covers. The give you like a 1x2m super thin sheet as a blanket, that is all. Also, 'Mama' doesn't allow others to bring in drinks and insists you buy her overpriced beer there rather than going right outside and paying less on the street.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I only stayed here for one night got in at around 2am met a group of people outside had a few drinks and headed straight out with them! Rooms were good I got upgraded to a 3 man dorm for some reason on arrival free of charge which is a bonus. The hotel books really cheap trips to phi phi which is the main reason I came to Patong anyway it was 300 baht for taxi from the hostel to the ferry and the ferry across!


89%

Mama is perfect. Good location and very helpful staff.


83%

you must stay here,security, location, cleanliness well, and the best is staff, may and other helpfull, tks to much to "mama",for atention and kindness for me and my family.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

When we arrived we were greeted with the news that the hostel was over booked and blamed for booking the hostel just two days in advance. They found us alternative accommodation at kool backpackers which was clean with great staff and brilliant atmosphere. The only downside was that it was situated on Bangla Rd. Next door to a night club. The music did not stop till 5 am every day. Not kool.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Wasn't overly happy with the location - very loud. Also thing there are other guest houses in Patong that are as cheap but with better facilities and cleanliness! Also they didn't give me a key for some reason so when I needed to go to the room, they had to unlock it for me... In all, the people who worked there were very kind and went out of their way, but I left after just one night as I wasn't fully satisfied.


94%

The Good: Best value for money. Friendly innkeeper (known affectionately as Mama). Convenient Location. The Bad: Hot showers not available in all showers. Drinks are cheaper outside at the FamilyMart or 7E down the road. WiFi can get congested. No drinking water provided FOC (bottled water is sold). Conclusion: Still worth it.


100%

Place was warm and amazing, All the other guests there were also very fond of the place. The location was superb; just at the beach and near the best party street. Mama, who runs the place, is more than amazing person !! definitely going back here if visiting Patong beach again.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I have stayed in many many hostels over the years and Patong Backpackers Hostel rates right near the top of best I have ever stayed in. "Mama", runs an extremely tight ship so do not expect to get away with anything though. Outside drinks are prohibited and bringing anyone home for the night is strictly prohibited. The hostel has an awesome lounge area where everyone hangs out, watches movies, and drinks beers, (Mama sells beer for cheap). Great location too next to the beach.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice and helpful staff.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Patong backpackers is a must if you want to be thrown into the heart of Patong beach. It is literally a cross the road from the beach and a stone's throw away from the most popular and crazy street in Phuket, bangla road.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is wonderful. Mama and the staff are exceptionally friendly and so kind. My experience at PBH was incredible and well worth every penny. It's a 2 minute walk to the beach and a great vibe surrounding the Bangla Road experience.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This is a party/drinking hostel, and can get loud. There are not enough lockers to accommodate all guests. The location is central to bars and nightlife, staff was excellent.


100%

Good location as its 1minute from beach and 1minute walk from the main party road. Very nice staff who will help you with anything. Cheap drinks from reception and a nice sociable area to chill in. Would highly recommend this place


86%

This hostel is in an amazing location; super close to the beach, fresh food markets, convenience stores and Bangla Road night life. While the hostel itself is quite old and the rooms are very basic, the staff are constantly cleaning and keeping all the facilities spotless. Mama and her staff were always helpful and genuinely care about the guests, which makes this place even better! If you're looking for basic, cheap accommodation among like-minded travellers in Patong, you can't go wrong here!


100%

Mama is the best, best location, best people


100%

This is probably the best hostel ever! Patong snd Phuket may not be the best place for a backpacker but you meet so many new people at this hostel and you become like a family. Mama is honestly the best and she looks after everyone. The hostel is so clean and they literally clean all the time. If you're going to Phuket you have to stay here. So close to Bangla Road and our own cocktail bar!


100%

Stay here! Mama was awesome!!!!!!! GREAT social area for solo backpackers


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(67 results)


View all Phuket Patong Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback