X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Patong Backpacker Hostel Reviews

140 Taweeeong Rd., Patong beach Kathu, Phuket Patong Beach, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
478 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

A great place to meet loads of people. Also, is a stones throw away from Bangla Road and the sea. Would recommend for anyone wanting to meet some people and be in a sociable area


71%

Location is great..2 min walk to the Patong beach and the area that is most happening and lively. Met a few excellent people with interesting stories. Staff was helpful overall..But the no shoes inside policy was annoying..they have Buddha inside..I respect that but a truly international hostel has to accommodate others as not everybody is comfortable walking around barefooted. Going to the shower and toilet barefooted is a bit gross..great place though even a gecko wants to join the fun


100%

This hostel was really great and convenient. The staff is so friendly and always willing to help you out.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I have been working in Customer Service for over 10 years and there is a so-called "extra miles" which is similar to exceeding guest expectations. The door key was accidentally broken inside the doorknob and they charged me for the Labor, Door Knob etc for Baht 800 and as per them, It has never been broken pointing that It is my fault. Just think when did the hotel started. Obviously, the key was very old already.I think for maintenance issues like this, guests should't be charged.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel, really cannot find any faults. The staff are so friendly and are always cleaning the hostel. Mama and Meymey are so nice and are always willing to help. Mama helped me out when I was ill and even stayed up all night with another guest who had become really ill to make sure he was ok. Cannot recommend this hostel highly enough, will definitely be coming back!


94%

Lovely hostel :) the location is close to the bangla road where all the Bars and Clubs Are .the Staff is very Kind and takes Care of you as well. I really recommend this hostel.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a good hostel, located 2 minute walk from the Bangla Road nightlife. Mamma is very welcoming. Definitely recommend this hostel as you meet loads of people.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location right by the beach and Bangla road, staff are all very friendly (especially Mama!), and they have The Beach on DVD so you can watch it before you visit the real thing on Phi Phi. Couldn't ask for much more, would definitely stay again.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Place to stay. If you are travelling alone, like I was, you can meet some great people there and its simple and easy to book some great tours and elephant trekking, canoeing, snorkeling etc.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

WE LOVED OUR STAY HERE SO MUCH WE CAME BACK! Mama And Pia were the perfect hosts for us and made us feel completely at home!! There is an amazing communal area and the rooms are extremely clean! It's also perfect location for the beach and for the PARDY STRIP! AND best if all Mama and Pia help us find the sexy boiiiiiiis!! Bring your father so Mama can find love! Lots of love the hons!!! Xxxxx

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel in a crazy place. 'Mama' is very hospitable. Around the corner from bangla road where all the action is...

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

What a fantastic hostel! Located one block from the beach, less than a block from Bangla Road, and surrounded by good restaurants, shopping, and bars. The staff are phenomenal, especially Mama who runs the hostel and treats everyone staying over like family. Mama told everyone in the hostel throughout the day one day to make sure they were around later for dinner. That night we all ate Mama's delicious Thai food together. And it was free! Great social scene and hangout area. I will return!

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay there was amazing. We were all treated to a nice home cooked dinner by Mama and the rest of the staff were equally hospitable. Overall they do a great job of making you feel at home. Travis - California, USA

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

mama and pia makes me feel like home! meet alot of interesting people here! A MUST STAY!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

I'd say the dormitory is not really clean especially their toilets.Mama for me is rude because she talked to us like an idiot. She booked us a taxi for 800 baht good for 2 then Mama said there's one guy who wants to join us and split the bill so thats fine with us.when the taxi arrived Mama said we need to pay additional 100 baht so we asked why?but she reacted negatively.Super bad and rude.!!!


83%

NICE HOSTEL NEAR BANGLA RD.


83%

Great location near the beach and bars/restaurants. Basic bedrooms, but nice social area and lockers in reception for valuables. Overall a good hostel.


74%

Great hostel, good location, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Need bag lockers though.


91%

Mumma is amazing as are all the staff!!! Great hostel you won't be disappointed!


91%

Great kind staff -- of two ladies. Aircon wifi. Cheap hostel. Great location


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Phuket Patong Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback