Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Patong Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zoemichelle
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
7.1

Cheap hostel and you get what you pay for. A lot of other people staying refused to lock dorm room doors and there is nothing to stop people walking in off the street so that voided security measures. Lockers were available for small valuables.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
8.6

You can't get a better location but it's much different than any other hostel I've been too. The only communal space closes at 1am, so essentially if you come back after 1am you have to go to your room. My room was on the top floor and faced the water. It was miserably hot outside so many stayed in, but the air conditioner in our room could not keep up. It was still at least 80 degrees in our room and had a weird smell and The beds were hard. I will not stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
4.6

The lady at the front desk was really pain in the ass. The facilities and cleanliness was very poor. There were absurd rules etc.... The only good thing about this hostel was its location. The location is perfect: close to beach, close to Bangla road, close to whatever you want...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
2.9

It's very dirty, we had no working toilet or shower on our floor. Beds are old, this place needs to be burnt down then rebuild. Literally way to old. DONT STAY HERE, save your money!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
7.4

You get what you pay for. Quite basic. They provide a small locker for passports and electronics. Bags are just left in the room. There isn't much atmosphere. No real fun space to hang, listen to music and have a beer with people. The street entrance is difficult to find. We had to ask locals. As non-smokers We didn't like that the smoking area was at the top of the stairs at the front door. It made the whole stairwell and common area stink of cigarettes. We only stayed one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • myiasaunders81058
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.1

I was a skeptic at first but by far one of the safest places I've stayed the manager ( momma) slept by the door at night and always knew what was going on she was so cute and welcoming and it was a great place to meet new back packers. you get your own key for the room as well as a locker in the lobby! Reccomend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
7.4

Thanks, enjoyed my time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Patong Backpackers is a lovely homely place with a great atmosphere. Facilities are clean and the staff is friendly and efficient. Great location as well. Happy to return one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Jan 2017
7.7

only stayed one night. Found one bed bug at night time before we went to bed so couldnt quite get a full nights sleep. booked a 6 bed room and got a 3 bed room ( not complaining) no lockers for bags just passports. Quite soundproof from outside bars however quiet time in hostel is 1am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
9.4

Really good location and fairly clean. They sweep all the time but the amount of people that are bringing in the sand can't be helped. Basic hostel with decent beds :) had a great time with the people at my hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.