Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
Pause Located at 1 Pasero Street, , Caye Caulker.
Pause
Belize
Caye Caulker 1 Pasero Street
79% 210
17.7443949 -88.0257546
Pause
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
6.9

I would certainly suggest adding more fans in the rooms, it was just way too hot in the rooms at night, which made it difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.6

The lady who owned the hostel wasn't around when we arrived so we weren't shown the kitchen facilities etc. Dorm was ok, lots of fans to cool down. Good shower! I'm allergic to animals but wasn't a problem at all as they are kept separate, it is a bit smelly though! Nice little beach area to relax in hammocks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • amantle
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.0

Good place to stay, not on the beach but has kayaks to borrow. Nice to have furry friends. Not a far walk from the main drag (nothing is far on this small island). Nice big fans at every bed to stay cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.7

Loved the eclectic vibe of this place! The staff and volunteers were all so friendly and helpful. THe location is great, so close to everything, yet it also feels like you are secluded in a true sanctuary. This hostel is tucked away with plenty of shade and a private dock and beach access. Enjoy lounging on the hammocks or sitting on the dock sipping from a fresh cut coconut! And of course there are all the friendly animals wandering around looking for some love. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.0

Very mixed feelings about this hostel, firstly the location is unbeatable, Caye Caulker is heavenly and the dock right in the hostel with kayaks was so great. However we felt rather neglected during our stay. On arrival we waited 7 hrs to check in despite arriving during the advertised times. The kitchen was filthy and toilets often without paper. So much promise and the animals are well looked after but there needs to be improvements to warrant the cost for guests. Would pick somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
9.4

Loved it here! The owner is so sweet, location has the best sunset and big mantas that float by and there's cayaks you can borrow for free! Would def come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
5.1

Let me begin by saying I am a total cat lover - but 87 cats on a hot beach is pretty stinky. Both our room and the communal kitchen were quite dirty - there were piles of dishes (no clean cups) the 4 days we stayed. Our phone charger was also stolen from beside our bed. Pause is also located near an electrical station and an industrial dock. It was very noisy and the water from the end of the dock does not appear clean enough to swim.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.7

Great location on quiet side away from bars & private dock. Free kayaks. Interesting & unique hostel in an animal sanctuary. Cold showers and relatively poor kitchen facilities only negatives. Come here if you want a chilled stay - make your own atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
5.4

Pause is special for those who have a very high interest in staying in a cat sanctuary, but the level of amenities and overall finish of the place makes it less appealing for those who are simply seeking a good place to stay in Caye Caulker. There is no a/c in the rooms, no hot water in the showers, and limited plumbing facilities. However, it is right on the beach, and has a relaxing shaded hammock and bbq area, and it is close to the beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.7

Pause has a wonderfully laid back chill-out vibe. Great hammocks, decent WiFi, ample kitchen and social area, free kayak rental, free coconuts, fans in the rooms, it's on the water and has the most spectacular sunset from the private dock. Madi and her family are lovely, helpful and you can tell the animals are loved and well looked after. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Caye Caulker - I liked it so much I extended my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.