X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pause Reviews

1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
58 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Absolutely excellent stay at PAUSE, the owner Maddy is a lovely person, very approachable, friendly and helpful and is very knowledgable of the island, being a long term resident. I stayed in the mixed dorm during my stay which was well equipped with two large, rotating fans, ample power socks and a couple of lockers for storage of valuables. The hostel itself has a wonderful private beach w/kayaks, which is great because beaches are very few and far between on this islands. Highly recommend.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I really loved my stay at PAUSE...it was probably the best place I've stayed in a month in Central America. The location is perfect – very quiet and literally backing onto the Ocean. the island is tiny, so it's near everything you need. Madi the owner was very welcoming and provided kyaks for free, which are perfect. the room and bathroom are basic but clean and comfortable. i also walked a puppy almost every day... oh, you definitely need to like dogs & cats to stay here! highly recommend.


97%

You will love this hostel! Especially the thir own beach and free kayaks


54%

The smell of cats wee is unbearable, couldn't wait to leave. Bed bugs also. Not the greatest of stays. Luckily caye caulker is a fantastic island

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sadly this gentleman refused to read our profile which is clear before he booked probably just went for the cheap price therefore, since he does not like animals/cats the first smell that comes to his nose is going to be blamed on the cats. For every ones' info. that smell was reported to authorities a while back which is coming from our neighbors sewer tank that broke & it has not been fixed yet. In addition, sand flies are all over the island & not just here which is what was biting him.

74%

Its a smaller and quiet Hostel in the side streets. Lots of tranquility. The staff lives on the property and is very nice and friendly. They keep it very clean, yet you cannot avoid the smell of animal poop. Lots of cats and dogs. No breakfast. Direct access to the ocean with three beach chairs which is also the only common area outside of the room to sit. I don't think there are any cooking facilities. Yet definitely among the cheap hostels on the island.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sadly this person did not read our profile which is clear that the animal sanctuary with a few cats & 4 dogs is located on the same grounds so you will find animals here, she booked for the cheap price & since she does not like animals/cats the first smell that comes to her nose is going to be blamed on the cats. For every ones' info. that smell was reported to authorities a while back which is coming from our neighbors sewer tank that broke & it has not been fixed yet.

66%

This is a cat sanctuary with a couple beds, not a hostel with lots of cats roaming around. I commend Madi for her desire to help the stray cats of caye caulker, but she has to much on her plate with the cats and doesn't have time to run a hostel. It's a great opportunity for volunteering and having a bed to sleep in while you help the cats, but not the best place to pay money to stay at. Madi is cats over guests, if cats need food or we need gas for the stove, the cats will get fed before we do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We welcome every ones comments but we are afraid that you did not read our profile which states clearly what we do here, its a cat sanctuary this is what we state & the funding from our accommodations goes to the care of the animals & we treat everyone here humans & animals with dignity & respect & no one can say anything other than that. If you made a mistake on choosing where to stay because you were only looking at the dollar sign & not reading please do not blame us for your decision.



View all Caye Caulker Hostels

Please give us your feedback