Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
8.0

A lot of people describe this place pretty bad and i never go by that. Thats why i choose to stay at pause. And no its not as bad as people describe it. I mean it could need some renovation for sure and yes it smells a bit outside and only there. The dorm is pretty cool and we had it all to ourself. The lady is very nice amd helpful and the place was clean enough. I loved the fact tht u acrually habe the showers and toiletts outside and not as usuall in the. Building. We used free bikes from the

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th May 2017
6.6

Good location. Comfortable beds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
10.0

I wouldn't consider myself a cat "lover" exactly, but I did love this place. The cats were cool too. A beautiful dock to sit on and enjoy the breeze, great kitchen, hammocks everywhere (as well as cats), and the were comfortable with plenty of space to lock things up. There is a slight odor of...cat..as mentioned by a few others, but I only ever noticed it on the ground floor near the house. The dock, dorm, and kitchen didn't seem to have that problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
5.1

I was expecting there to be animals, just like the posting mentioned but I didn't expect the entire place to smell like a litter box. I would not recommend this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Feb 2017
5.1

Not for the faint hearted. I found the smell of cat urine overpowering. The general cleanliness of the hostel was poor. The bunk beds were very unstable and rocked every time someone moved. Showers were cold. It's a great cause and the animals are lovely. A number of improvements could be made to the hostel however

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.1

Beautiful spot, pretty basic showers and bathrooms but it's got everything you want. Would be one of my favorite hostels if it weren't for all the cats.....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
5.1

Some issues with getting the right price for the room I stayed in which ended up to be too much to be a hassle to get a refund for. Owners had a terrible excuse. Accommodations were basic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.6

I love animals and this is a great place to stay if you do too. Madi is a patient, friendly and helpful host and the location is beautiful. My only suggestion would be to have a spray bottle with water and a bit of bleach in the kitchen, lots of folks cooking fish and a bit more need for food safety. I loved it here and would recommend it to anyone who loves kitties!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
3.4

When we got there all you can smell is overwhelming cat pee. There are no locks on any door and everywhere on the island takes cash so that wasn't great either. They got us to pay for all our booked nights ahead of time and because it was not at all what we were hoping for we wanted to leave a night early. We told them more than 48hrs in advance and they still wouldn't give us our money back for that night. And you're not allowed to wear shoes in the common area including the kitchen! not good

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Jan 2017
7.1

Nice hostel if you're on a budget. Good self catering facilities, nice relaxed atmosphere. Free canoes. Near the island's generator so a little noisy but you get used to it. Slept in the 6 bed dorm, there's a resident rat, saw it a few times. Had droppings on my sheets most days. It also bit holes in my backpack which I'm annoyed about as the bag was a gift. I didn't keep any food in it. Told the hostel and they've said they'll lay down traps. Had a great time otherwise, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.