Hostelworld.com

Pencil 5 Seoul Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Pencil 5 Seoul Hostel Located at 295-39 Bulgwang-dong, Eunpyeong-gu, Seoul.
Pencil 5 Seoul Hostel
South Korea
Seoul 295-39 Bulgwang-dong, Eunpyeong-gu
87% 108
37.6169009 126.9243136
Pencil 5 Seoul Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Apr 2016
7.7

Even with the YouTube video it's still a little hard to find. It's close to a train station but the hostel itself is quite far from the city center. Though if you like hiking it's located really close to bukhansan national park which is a nice perk. Breakfast is standard: eggs toast and jam. Staff are helpful but most seem to sit in the common room watching tv...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.0

Cozy hostel where everyone is a one big family. Dj was very friendly and I enjoyed the Wednesday bibimbap lunch he made!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
8.9

+ comfortable beds; quiet and off the main street; good shower (though small); standard included breakfast (toast, eggs, jam, tea, coffee); very helpful staff; 20-30 min. to Gyeongbokgung Palace; easy access from airport by limo bus; lots of restaurants and shops nearby. - rooms are a bit small, so not much space to put luggage; did not seem to be regular cleaning of the rooms for short-term stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
19th Feb 2016
10.0

Perfect value, staff, rooms and facilities. Also speedy Wifi for each floor. Location is 10/10, 2min walk to train to get to many of Seoul's attractions, 2min walk to Bukansan National Park bus and 5min walk to Rodeo st filled with restaurants and bars. A quiet hostel with a great atmosphere in the common room where it is easy to strike up a convo. The people are very welcoming and will treat you as one of their own. Would recommend anyone to stay here. Free eggs + bread too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Big thanks for your stay with us. Wish you so much luck. Hope to see you for the next chance to have fun more ^_^ We will be mission you~

1st Feb 2016
9.7

Excellent staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank for your stay with us. You were the most excellent guest ever. Keep enjoying your travel~ Cheers !!

19th Jan 2016
9.4

I've had a great time at Pencil 5 and decided to extend my stay. The staff are super nice and welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying at Pencil 5!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We shall have Korean BBQ together when you visit Seoul again! All the best!!!!

6th Jan 2016
9.1

Very helpful staff. Was just a bit hard to find the location from the subway station. Other than that everything was fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for being here with us. We always email about how to get here easily(with Youtube video and the map), next time please check it out ^_^ We also want our guests to find here easily. We all miss you, wish you so much luck and happiness. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers !! <3

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
10.0

A real home away from home - I had a great time. We spent New Years together watching Korean TV eating ice cream cake and watching back to the future 2 - fabulous. The next day the guest house owner cooked Korean New Years soup for is- which tasted amazing. The staff was fabulous, they had lots of suggestions for what to do and helped me send my postcards - I would definitely come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay in Pencil 5 hostel. I love this saying, 'You area what you eat' so i can say we were making you with new year's Korean soup haha =) Wish so so much luck and happiness, and please keep your great memory here in Seoul with us. Cheers !! <3

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2015
10.0

Whether you are coming with friends/couple or alone, I can say Pencil 5 is the best choice! DJ and the rest of the staff are simply amazing, and will always try their best to help you and make you feel at home. Almost every day there is some kind of activity going on in the common room, be it home-made dumpling making, a tasty Korean dish made with love by DJ, or simply drinking Soju while playing cards while sharing stories with other travellers. Will definitely come back next time in Seoul!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for being here with us~ We love lazy travelers like you ^_^ so can be more close together~ Yupp making Korean dumpling was so interesting. haha giving you XOXO

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2015
9.7

amazing place, I originally came only for two days, but I was happy to stay longer. Friendly staff who help with anything at any time, or just chat. The hostel has a nice owner, DJ, who will prepare eggs for breakfast for you, taking to the markets, and still does even lunch. Thanks for a great time with you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Big thanks for being here with us. Next time please try lunch together, we cook lunch for our guests almost everyday especially Korean food ^_^ We miss you so much, best wishes !!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.