Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Peniche Surf Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2017
10.0

Stayed a week and wish I could stay longer!! Claire and Duncan were so helpful, friendly and welcoming. Everything about the hostel was brilliant. Will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Sep 2017
10.0

Claire and duncan are great and the lodge is a great stay! Its clean and the facilities are great. The lodge isn't a party place so if thats what you're looking for look elsewhere. Instead its a great place to relax, detox, surf and hang out with really cool people. Theres a great restaurant nearby and a huge supermarket. Peniche is not as dead as everyone says, only if your expecting clubs or bars. Make sure you explore the cliffs at sunset just across the road, it truly is beautiful!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
6.9

The lodge is nice and clean with good amenities. However: - bus station is not 7 mins, but a good 10 mins on a partly remote road (solo girls beware at night!) - it's remote: about 30 mins walk into Peniche and no taxis at all - dorm: 7 people on 15m2 Solo travlers: go 2 Baleal!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello,thank you for your comments though we are very surprised ,we thought you were having a great time ,loving the surf, going out with the other guests ,spending time with us all on the beach we loved listening to your stories of home ,we wish you could have told us at the time any concerns you may have had we could have addressed them immediately! Just for any future guests knowledge ,our surf hire is 20€ for the whole day and a lessons is just 15€ extra We always offer pickups at night but some guests want to make their own way and pass the shops on the way In which case we send guidance and a map, its a busy safe main street and an easy 7 min walk from the station.If you want to party yes I agree go to baleal we are a quiet family lodge that enjoy making new friends, going out to dinner or cooking together and having civilised conversations .Thank you for helping us make things a little better , Claire and Duncan

2nd Aug 2017
8.0

Pros: - Nice atmosphere - Super clean - Nice place to Surf (but ONLY TO SURF) Contras: - There is NOTHING to do in Peniche, other than surfing - The nice beaches are kind of far from the hostel - Peniche is really a dead town (average age of inhabitants is 60)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thankyou for your great review ,it was brilliant to have you come stay and surf with us ,though for future guests reference the beautiful papoa beach is just across the road ,then the bay 3km is 5 mins walk from the lodge,we are surrounded by beauty we drive all our guests to the best surf each day ,there is just so many places to go ,which is fantastic ! The town is a quiet old fishing village with lots of beauty, the coast is all around it and great restaurants and shops within the ancient castle walls ,its just not a party town for sure ! Thankyou for helping us make things a little clearer ,Claire and Duncan

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

RAVE REVIEW 😁 absolutely awesome hostel. Modern and clean building. Claire and Duncan go above and beyond to make you feel at home and have a good time. Definitely recommend, book longer than you think you'll want 👍🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Claire and Duncan were great hosts who brought us to the best surf spots each day! The lodge had a great atmosphere where it felt like a little community of friends who you went surfing with everyday. The place was very clean, quiet at night and a stone throw away from the magnificent cliffs of Peniche. It is also just a 10 minute walk to a great little restaurant called Profresco. I would recommend this place to young couples or solo travelers looking to surf/ learn to surf and meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
9.7

Very nice, friendly staff (they drive you every day to the surfspots around peniche and answer you every question about surfing and the region around peniche). Also is the atmosphere in the hostel very friendly and relaxing! Was a cool vacation, would love to come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KristelV
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

Great place with super friendly and helpful people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
10.0

Duncan and Claire are the two best people in the world! They care about you like family and won't tolerate anything but a perfect stay for you! This place will feel like home immediately! We had fam bbqs and dinner nights out. Not to mention their great selection of surf gear and their knowledge of riding and the local area is impeccable! I'll definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
9.7

Claire and Duncan are the best. I loved the hostel, cozy dorm with skylights and good mattresses. Kitchen was well stocked and clean, living area was cozy and everyone was social. I didn't surf as I was too lazy, but the surfers said that was excellent too and I believe them. Also, best hostel shower I've had in a long time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×