Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pensao Royal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 702 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 702 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
8.3

It is clean and nice. In the 3 beds room, the 3rd bed is rather for a child. The bathroom has no hooks for towels and clothes to hang when using it. A problem not announced : to have to pay in cash for the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
7.4

Central location:perfect for explore .Third floor:no lift!Breakfast menu limited - fresh fruit, cake( not the best ) , biscuits,bread and jam.Thinly sliced processed cheese , ham- would benefit from eggs and better choice of pastries like croissant.Poor coffee.The breakfast room cramped,stuffy and the round table too small. TV on despite a request to have it turned off.Asked to move after two nights into double room which had booked originally. Noise levels from building works outside awful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
6.9

I specifically chose this location because they advertise that they have air conditioning. They did not. They eventually changed me to a different room that did have ac but no tv so rooms are very inconsistent as to advertised amenities. Wi-Fi was fine. Breakfast was not thrilling but fine. Staff member at all times, willing to help or answer questions. Some reviews mentioned a sewer smell which I found mild and understandable for an old building. There are 68 steps! GREAT location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
9.1

Excellent location, quite clean, AC worked well, wonderful staff, and a great breakfast. I find it slightly strange that they request you to give them your room key every time you leave the hostel, but this didn't create any problems for us. The bed could have been a little more comfortable--it tended to slope in the middle--but I would still stay here again, and I would recommend it to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
10.0

A great location! Right in the heart of Lisbon, easy walking to most central Lisbon sights. Easy access by train, bus, cab. Helpful staff and a charming atmosphere, breakfast was a huge spread! Would stay again and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in central Lisbon for a lot less then the hotels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
4.0

Our room smelt like someone just went to the bathroom in it but it was actually just the whole hostel. Felt like we were staying in a little girls room. Had to walk up 6 flights of stairs to get there. WIFI connection was terrible everywhere. Breakfast was awful and the woman was just staring at us eating putting things away so we wouldnt eat too much. Overall horrible experience and dont understand how it has such a good rating. We were supposed to stay 4 nights but stayed 1.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
8.0

This accommodation had an excellent location in the heart of the historic district in Lisbon. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Here are a couple of suggestions for the owner/manager: since we were leaving at 2 a.m. to catch our plane, the door was locked which caused a momentary panic. We contacted the staff member on duty and she opened the door for us to leave the hotel. But what if there was a fire?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
9.1

Great room, friendly staff, excellent location. Be aware that you have to carry your luggage up multiple flights of stairs when you arrive. The signage at the street level could be improved. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Our stay in pensao royal has been really good. It's located in the center of Lisbon, reception 24/24h and the kindness from people who works there, was the perfect recipe we were searching in our short stay in Lisbon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
6.0

2.5 inches cockroach shooting across the floor Cleanliness threatened. Three of us slept together on higher bed as daughter's bed was low bed. Suitcases zipped in case this big cockroach laid eggs. We just got half night sleep because making precaution. Next morning, we checked out ,not comfortable for three more nights. The lady insisted about 100 Euros CASH paid for the night. I showed her we paid about 65 already online. She ignored. We paid about 100 Euros Please refund the online deposit.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.