Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pensao Royal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
9.7

I was delighted in staying 3 nights at Pensao Royal. The 3 ladies that work there are amazing and so helpful. You feel like your mother is taking care of you. The breakfast was great with fruits, cakes, cereal, biscuits, bread, ham and cheese, coffee. Everything you need to start off your day. The location couldn't be better. You can reach most of the touristic points by walking and its 1min walking to the metro station. I highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.4

Such a great stay here. The best thing was the staff...they were all so friendly and helpful and made our stay wonderful. The room was really nice, very spacious. Breakfast was amazing, so much choice and plenty of food! Location was great, could walk wherever we wanted to get to in the city from here. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jessicalapgar5443
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2017
8.0

Room was clean and staff was friendly - awesome location. Very close to a bunch of sites, restaurants and bars. Some bad points: NO AIR CONDITIONER (even though it lists having one) tons of stairs and the street noise was LOUD and went until 6 am on the weekends. Private bathroom was a plus. Would probably stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
9.7

Super clean. Great location. Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast. I have never had this good breakfast in any hostel I have stayed in. Definitely will recommend everyone to go for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.4

Excellent location, less than a minutes walk from Baxia- Chiado metro station. Located on the 3rd floor of the building, isn't very well signposted however on thee ground floor of the building there is a hairdressers. No elevator so be prepared for the steps. The hostel itself was very clean and the staff were so friendly. Breakfast was a let down. Coffee was awful and food was very basic. Stayed in the twin room en suite. Shower excellent. Could have done with more sockets. Noisy outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
4.3

Quirky. In need of refurbishment. Guests need to know that Reception is not on the ground floor so luggage can be pre planned.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.0

The location makes this place perfect for a first visit to Lisbon. No matter where I ended up, I was never very far from my bed. Bring your own shampoo, soap and lotion; it's VERY basic. The Wifi was not great but worked, and there is air conditioning if needed. The breakfast was pastries, breads, yogurt, etc. and well-suited to a day of eating! MAIN DRAWBACK: the street noise is VERY loud and constant. I'm from a city and slept great, but it was inescapable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
8.3

It is clean and nice. In the 3 beds room, the 3rd bed is rather for a child. The bathroom has no hooks for towels and clothes to hang when using it. A problem not announced : to have to pay in cash for the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
7.4

Central location:perfect for explore .Third floor:no lift!Breakfast menu limited - fresh fruit, cake( not the best ) , biscuits,bread and jam.Thinly sliced processed cheese , ham- would benefit from eggs and better choice of pastries like croissant.Poor coffee.The breakfast room cramped,stuffy and the round table too small. TV on despite a request to have it turned off.Asked to move after two nights into double room which had booked originally. Noise levels from building works outside awful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
6.9

I specifically chose this location because they advertise that they have air conditioning. They did not. They eventually changed me to a different room that did have ac but no tv so rooms are very inconsistent as to advertised amenities. Wi-Fi was fine. Breakfast was not thrilling but fine. Staff member at all times, willing to help or answer questions. Some reviews mentioned a sewer smell which I found mild and understandable for an old building. There are 68 steps! GREAT location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×