Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Pension Amalur Located at San Martin 43 - 2iz, 20007, San Sebastian.
Pension Amalur
Spain
San Sebastian San Martin 43 - 2iz, 20007
90% 1271
43.3159984 -1.9856500
Pension Amalur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

Miguel was so very helpful- even though we didn't speak any Spanish and he didn't speak much English, he worked so hard to tell us all about San Sebastián. It was such a nice quiet place to say and in such a perfect area! Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2016
8.6

For what I paid, this hostel was great value since it is so central - 1 min walk from the beach and a 7 min walk to the old town. Everything was kept clean and it was great to have clean towels every day. The host and owner, Miguel, was very friendly and welcoming even though he doesnt speak any English. The only downside was the lack of washing machines (and there being only 1 laundrette in town which charged €10 per wash) but this wasn't a dealbreaker. Overall, highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

I stayed here for one night and I wish I have stayed longer! This is a cosy, homely hostel. I had no dramas with the facilities. No kitchen, but the food in San Sebastián is that good you don't need one in the hostel. Rooms were spacious enough. Bathrooms always getting cleaned. Miguel is a great host. Always helpful and great to have a joke with. Will definitely be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

We had a lovely 4 days with Miguel - the hostel is very close to everything and is easy to get to and from the train station. Your bed gets made every day which is a bonus in a hostel and the whole place is very clean and homely. We spoke only limited Spanish but managed to navigate all experiences with the lovely Miguel with a laugh and some help from google translate. Only downside was the hot water was a little sporadic (just had to shower fast) and the squeaky bunks but not a major issue

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
7.4

Great atmosphere and perfect location. Clean facilities with a maid on staff. But wasn't allowed to check in until 1pm and there were no secure places to store luggage before checking in, had to drag my bag around with me all morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

I enjoyed my stay in the pension a lot. It is located in the center and all important facilities are nearby. Especially Miguel, the owner of the pension, was so nice! He explained the city to me when I arrived and helped me with all the questions that I had. The rooms are nice and clean. I can definitely recommend everyone to stay at that place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Staying at Miguel's hostel has seriously been a highlight of my 6 months travelling in Europe! The location is perfect, it is exceedingly clean; bathrooms are spotless, made bed and fresh towel provided everyday. The best part was Miguel who is such a warm and genuine host! We want to thank him so much for his kindness to us and for sharing a lovely bottle of red wine and biscuits! 10/10 experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Pension Amalur. Miguel was such a cheery, generous man - always willing to help. I hope our selfie with Miguel makes it onto the wall by the time you visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.9

Pension Amalur was great! The location was perfect and the owner was very friendly and extremely helpful in giving tips and advice about what to do and where to go in San Sebastian. The room was clean, spacious, and had lockers to keep valuable goods safe. I would recommend it for almost all visitors, except if people are travelling alone and want to find people to go out in the night with, as it was quite quiet when we went.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2016
9.7

It was a nice hostel and the owner was wonderful. Unfortunately our hostel mates weren't, so gender divided dormitories would be a great addition.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.