X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pension De Laurier Reviews

1e Laurierdwarsstraat 52, 1016 PZ, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
162 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The room is small but clean. Great location and good staff.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very well located in a quiet street next to a channel in a walking distance from the main attractions of Amsterdam and cafes and restaurants. Friendly owner, nicely decorated and sufficiently spacious room and bathroom on the ground floor with large windows looking at the street. Best option to get the "feeling" of the city. Highly recommend, especially for couples.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What a beautiful little B&B in a great location!! The owner was very nice and helpful. In a nice location with funky boutiques at your door step. The place was hard to find as the written directions were not very clear and all the streets have similar names. Highly recommend and perfect for a couple!!


89%

Unable to find the hostel but asked at a local bar she rang hostel owner and within minutes were sitting in what we had seen in the hostel pictures a very clean and comfortable room. Hostel owner explained everything to us and we felt very welcome and at ease to call on him if needed. Very quiet and centrally located for everything we required. Computer in room was a bonus plus the tea and coffee making facilities/hairdryer/towels and umbrella. No card facility had to pay cash on arrival.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Very basic room, small, shower mixer hard to control. Radiator also not under control.


63%

This studio is in an excellent location for exploring Amsterdam and very near the canals. The studio itself is quite small but has what you need for a few nights. There were unfortunately some downsides. We had no hot water or heating the evening of Valentines day or the following day and Tariff the owner didn't let us know or give us any explaination. Overall it's nothing special and a bit expensive for just a room.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Brilliant location - easy walking distance to everywhere and near to trams. Pretty little street near tree lined canals and great bars and cafes. Very quiet so we slept well. Nice area, no hassle, very safe even late at night. The owners were lovely, helpful yet discreet giving us privacy while easy to reach. Warm and cosy room with comfy bed. Very clean. Fridge, tv and free wifi good. Good value for money in an expensive city. We will be returning. Charlotte & Michael Ball

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It has all you need - clean room with ensuite, computer fridge and coffee. Located in probably the nicest area of amsterdam. Definitely would stay again or recommend to anyone.


100%

Everything we needed including bathroom, internet, keytle and some mugs and plates. Lovely part of Amsterdam as well, very easy to get to the sights. We loved our stay


83%

This property is a room with a street access door. It was quite difficult to find based on the instructions so I recommend taking some Google map screen shots of how to get there from the tram stop. Also there is no recent desk as it is a house. All that being said, Tarif was fantastic. Our flight was delayed and our luggage not delivered. Tarif waited till we arrived all the same. He even was the contact for the airline despite travelling as well. I would recommend staying here as a couple.


100%

We had a fabulous stay at the Pension De Laurier. The staff were fantastic and very helpful during our stay. The location was amazing really close to the attractions and within easy walking distance to the Anne Frank house. I would definitely return and recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break with a great location to the Jordaan.


94%

Thank you so much! Perhaps the best hostel stay I have ever had :) I was sorry I didin't have anything good with me from Finland, we wanted to show you our gratitude. Felt like we lived there ourselves and it was nice to listen sounds of your house (children etc.), I don't care for noisy and populous center to stay a night. Hope to see you again some time :)

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The room is in a small and quiet street, closest to the center, in the Jordaan area. Really a good place to stay in Amsterdam.


97%

Loved the place, felt like we were staying in our own apartment in Amsterdam. However, it isn't clear from the Hostelworld posting that it is a private residence, with a door saying "51". We were looking for a "hostel" sign or something like that, which really made it difficult.


91%

Our stay at this hostel was comfortable and clean. We were greeted by a friendly staff member who had our room ready for us. Only a short walk to cafes and bars and city centre. Would stay here again.


97%

We had a comfortable stay at Pension De Laurier! Comfortable bed, big shower and bathroom. We felt safe and clean in the Neighborhood of Jordaan. Highly recommend this place to others who only plan to the room as a means of sleep and showering. My only suggestion to the owner would be to have dehumidifier. We felt sticky when we were in the room, but it didn't ruin our experience!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in the middle of April 14 and it was amazing. Being able to live like a local in the Jordaan district was an fantastic experience. Tarif was an awesome host who met us at the door with a smile. The room was perfect and the internet was fast. We were within walking distance of everything. We would definitely recommend. We cannot wait to come back and stay again!

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My husband and I stayed here just a little less than one month ago. It's not really a hostel, but more like a spare room and bathroom separated from someone's house. The hosts were nice and willing to help with anything but we had no issues or problems. The location was exactly where we wanted to be: close to a lot of activity but still a quiet area overall. We would definitely stay here again. We loved it.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We saw some reviews saying it was a bit too far from town. Nonsense. Easy walk south to the museum or east into town over a couple of canals before you get to the square in around 20 minutes and 10 minutes respectively. Accommodation was clean, bed comfy, shower was great and computer came in handy. Obviously not big due to what it is but great value fro money and would definitely stay again. David

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place in a perfect location! The owner was lovely and gave us great tips about the City. Very clean, free internet, and right on the canals. What more can you ask for? Would definitely stay here again!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(100 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback