X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pensione Sorriso Reviews

via Gavino 4, Vernazza, Cinque Terre, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
173 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

We didnt end up staying here. We canceled at 9am on the 10th for our reservation of 10am on the 13th. (Over 72 hours) however the woman on the phone was extremely rude, told us we would be charged for the night anyway because it was too late. We remained polite and calm explaining the hours. She hung up on us twice and it's appearing on our cc that we were charged. Terrible staff with no manners, and apparently no basic math skills.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This guest can't understand a very simple thing.Our cancellation policy is 3 days (72 hours) so: 13 august (arrival date) 12,11,10 august (cancellation doesn't respect the policy so we'll charge) 09 august and days before (cancellation without paying). In this case the cancellation was on 10 august (never mind the time) ... too late

57%

Not a true hostel. Staff were not entirely helpful. Poor internet, no connection in rooms. Said there was aircon, it was just a fan.


91%

Pensione Sorriso was very close to the train station which made it nice and easy. It was close to everything and the staff where great. The breakfast was fresh and enjoyable. Would 100% stay there again.


100%

Staff were most helpful. The hostel had a fantastic location. Very clean and bright. In a peaceful location.


51%

This hostel is good value for money considering where it is in the world. Some rooms don't have air conditioning but just very loud ceiling fans. The traintrain station is really close so there is a lot of noise from trains. The village bin store is also next to these apartments and the get emptied everymorning witch is also really loud. Overall this is a cheap no thills place to stay if you get air conditioning in your room it's worth it.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Owner was very rude, the bathroom had a horrid smell. The internet only worked when We sat outside in the park. Would not stay here again

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, very very clean. The woman who runs the place can be very unpleasant and difficult when simply asking a question. She's immediately defensive. Otherwise, great value for a basic place to sleep.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

LOVELY! One of our favorite hostels on our three week trip. Loads of character and charm and location is top notch. Privacy was great - so quiet! Beautiful views from the windows, great common areas, bathroom was nice and never crowded. Our only complaint - staff was efficient but not very friendly!


57%

The reception wasn't very good, staff was not very sympathic or helpful, there was no interaction with them during our four days stay. Also the breakfast is 10 aditional euros. The fan in our room was also very noise, but you get used to it as well as with the noise of the train.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, clean rooms work fan. Good value for money. Only complaint is that wifi signal available in rooms but wouldn't connect. We asked other guests who had the same problem. Wifi worked well in the reception area though. A little annoying that when we mentioned it to the staff on the way out just as a heads up they seemed defensive and didn't believe us. Other than that, it was a basic place to stay for a reasonable price.


100%

Stayed there in 2002 and just now in 2015 and will most definitely stay there again!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

clean rooms, nice terrace. Wifi did not work in room and was inconvinient to sit outside.


91%

Awesome location, staff is super nice! Literally right next to the train station while still being quiet. My only problem is that it seems like breakfast should be included at a b&b. Or at the very least not be 10€ per person.


91%

This was such an easy great stay! Only a few meters from the train station, but still so close to vernazza square, the man who helped us check in was really laid back and carried our huge bags up the steps! We were stoked! Would defiantly recommend staying here, only ha one night, wish it could have being longer!


57%

Can't fault cleanliness or location, but there were no facilities i.e. tea or coffee, and certainly no advice or offer of a map. The person at reception was usually the proprietor's mother who may have spoken languages other than Italian but these did not include English. She was brusque to the point of rudeness. Her daughter, the proprietor Francesca, has a foul temper and shouts over you and is capable of mouthing nasty insults if you try and negotiate terms with her.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, close to train station and the at top of the main street. Clean and secure single room with ensuite. Air conditioning was a bonus although it kept turning off at night.


100%

The staff were very pleasant, the room neat and tidy, but the breakfasts were TO DIE FOR !!!! The way everything was set out, the table decorations, and the decorative way that Aldo did our cup of coffee and tea were exquisite - no wonder the handmade books put out for comments were crammed with plaudits for the breakfasts. We met Francesca 9 the Manager?) briefly - how sad. I'd loved to have sat down and had a talk to her.


100%

A very friendly atmosphere with attention to details. Very close to the train and to the mainstreet and harbour.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved staying here, such a beautiful location and the staff made us feel like family.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We LOVED this little place. Our hosts were very friendly and kind, and the location could not have been better, less than a block from the train station! There is a terrace overlooking the town that is just beautiful and we watched the sunset with some good wine while the flowers blossomed close by. A great place to stay!


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Cinque Terre Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback