Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pensione Sorriso Reviews

via Gavino 4, Vernazza, Cinque Terre, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained


197 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


I like the part where it is located so near the heart of Vernazza and the room was in ordnung and clean.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


It was centrally located in Vernazza. Trains nearly was not an isue for us. Trains were steps away and made it easy to get to the other villages in the Cinque Terre. Only concern was our bathroom . There was a sewer smell. Shower was right beside the toilet and a shower drape on a curved rod would have made it easier to shower. However these did not deter our stay. Friendly staff and nice selection of food for the continental breakfast. Would definitely go back!


Directions to hostel were a bit confusing - should read "go under the bridge up the hill". Staff was friendly and spoke some English. Shower in the bathroom had lots of mildew and hardly drained. We really enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine, but compared to a lot of other places in town, not much to see! It worked well for a place to sleep and adventure to other towns.

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Great experience, beautiful balcony view of Vernazza skyline. Quick and easy check in and even let us keep our bags at the desk after we checked out the next morning. Very safe hostel, quiet, mostly older couples saying here. Wifi was free and 1 euro coffee in the morning was a great treat. Will definitely recommend to anyone visiting Cinque Terre. Vernazza is a great place to stay right in the middle of the rail line to surrounding towns for day trips!


Hotel is very near to the train station. It will be really noisier if you have to go to bed earlier but after midnight, there are no any trains moving. The staffs were very friendlier and helpful. Before i went there, i had a wrong impression about a staff but once i was there, it was different. Vernazza is a very small village so you will find everything nearby.


A basic room in an amazing location right by the train station. The wifi connection was extremely terrible however.


Prime location in Vernazza. Friendly staffs. Communal toilet was very clean and well maintained. A very good stay of 3 nights. Thank you.


Stayed here for 2 nights, was lucky to get a good room with a balcony and an ensuite bathroom, the hostel is very close to the station, had no lockers to store away valuables but enjoyed our stay here! Francesca is very friendly. It is a bit pricey for what you get (no breakfast included even though it mentions this on the page) but location is excellent. Would stay here again if coming to visit vernazza!


Easy to find, easy check in, clean room and easy going staff!


Nice family owned hostel. Great room in good location in vernazza. Probably the best town in the cinque terra to stay in. Only issue was breakfast is too expensive so we had to eat elsewhere.


We had read some reviews which left us a little apprehensive , but we were met by lovely accommodating staff and the room was fine for the night we were there. It even led out onto a balcony which was an added surprise. For the pice in cinque terre it was great,right beside the train station which is great for anyone travelling by train. We had stayed in a lovely place beside levanto prior to this which was double the price but we were hardly there! If you're out and about this a good base

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Unfortunately, Very noisy glass recycle site cross the street. Air conditioner kept stopping and showing error. Had to turn off and on again. Clerk said there was no problem.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The hotel was very nice and close to town. The room was small with only a bed, sink, desk, and wardrobe but that was all we needed seeing as how we were only really in the room to sleep. Had a beautiful patio overlooking the town. Was very well kept and the older woman at the desk was very nice and helpful. Train got a little loud at night but the fan helped cool off the room a lot even though there was no AC.


It was in a great location, very convenient to get to from the train station. The room was lovely and had access to a balcony and the staff at check in were very friendly. No lift though, and those slippery and steep little marble steps in the washroom were dangerous, my friend and I both slipped really badly when they were wet, just be careful!


We didnt end up staying here. We canceled at 9am on the 10th for our reservation of 10am on the 13th. (Over 72 hours) however the woman on the phone was extremely rude, told us we would be charged for the night anyway because it was too late. We remained polite and calm explaining the hours. She hung up on us twice and it's appearing on our cc that we were charged. Terrible staff with no manners, and apparently no basic math skills.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This guest can't understand a very simple thing.Our cancellation policy is 3 days (72 hours) so: 13 august (arrival date) 12,11,10 august (cancellation doesn't respect the policy so we'll charge) 09 august and days before (cancellation without paying). In this case the cancellation was on 10 august (never mind the time) ... too late


Everything was great about this place, right next to the train station and walking distance from everything, but watch out for the old lady who works there she's mean


Not a true hostel. Staff were not entirely helpful. Poor internet, no connection in rooms. Said there was aircon, it was just a fan.


Pensione Sorriso was very close to the train station which made it nice and easy. It was close to everything and the staff where great. The breakfast was fresh and enjoyable. Would 100% stay there again.

View all Cinque Terre Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback