Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Penthouse Privates

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel in the city center, ideal and safe location. The staff was very firendly and welcoming. Our room was super clean and we also got a bottle of sparkling wine as a gift. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed my two nights stay in Penthouse Privates. The highlight is the location of this place which is close to everywhere. The hostel was quiet (not that kind of noisy hostel). The only downside is you have to climb so many stairs before reaching the hostel at the 4th floor - i recommend you to use backpack instead of luggage if you planning to stay there- but overall, nice hostel! Free breakfast available!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annehaverkate4199
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.4

Great location, they provide great opportunities to meet other travelers and see parts of the city you'll otherwise can't find. They're associated with party hostels, but at PenthousePrivates it's nice and silent. Highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
9.4

We enjoyed staying in Penthouse Privates. The service from the staff was great. They were able to recommend places to go for food, how to get around the city, and things to do. It is close to the city center, so it was easy to get around from the hostel. Our only issue with the facility is that the water pressure was pretty low, so showers took a little longer, and you have to walk up five flights of stairs to get to the hostel. Given how well everything else went, those were minor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
8.6

Our stay at Penthouse Privates was brilliant! Excellent location, great room and the staff were really helpful. Complimentary breakfast was also a great shout. The stairs up are a killer, but I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.0

Lovely stay at the hostel, great location and comfortable. They give advice on what to do and where to eat. Lovely staff, but they aren't always there. This wasn't a problem, until the explosion down the road. I rang the manager, as the street outside was being cut off and others nearby were being evacuated. She was rude and basically laughed at me for calling, I would have thought you'd be more concerned for the welfare of your guests. Others in the hostel were really quite scared.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel. BEWARE THE STAIRS. There's a lot. The facilities were fantastic, and we had an awesome room. Big and spacious, big bathroom, very good value for money! The staff were great! Even stayed up for us to check in, even though they were meant to be done and we hadn't emailed. Would definitely return!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.4

This place is great for couples or 2 friends traveling together, who want to experience Budapest in a quieter atmosphere but still able to join in with some of the rowdier events with the other hostels. Staff were very friendly, helpful and really made us feel welcome. Kitchen and bathroom were great, we even had a little balcony on our room. Only downside is the stairs - there is a lot of them so be prepared! Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
10.0

For a couple not looking to be a part of any party atmosphere, this place was just perfect. Quiet, clean - the staff (Snowflake!) was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. The hostel is nicely located with easy access to everything. Like others have commented on, the stairs are quite annoying - it's a loooooong way up those stairs when you've just spent many hours walking all over the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • canucks2k
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.7

This was the perfect hostel-hotel hybrid with private rooms that felt like a hotel, but still that hostel vibe and facilities. Nuggy was awesome and helped us book several events (day time and nightlife events) during our stay. This is a great place that I would recommend for couples, but there are also solo rooms for solo travelers who want their own space. Plenty of bathrooms, clean facilities. Nightlife is great when they meet up with the other Budapest Party Hostel chains.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.