Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Penuelas Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 76 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 76 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
10.0

Such a lovely and quiet hostel! comfy beds, warm showers, fully equipped kitchen and a lovely cat. The hosts were super friendly and helpful, took care of literally everything. Its probably the cleanest hostel I've ever been to, location was perfect just a couple of meters away from the beach, got to visit La Serena and Coquimbo both cities are only 10m away from the hostel by bus (which was super cheap tbh) :D I'd highly recommend Penuelas hostel. They will definitely make you feel at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shannonstrong5755
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.7

Very quiet, small and cute. My favorite hostel I've been to so far. It's a short walk to the beach which was nice! We had to use a car to drive to the city but otherwise the location isn't too far from everything. Very clean and very friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.6

I was here in low season so was basically the only person at the hostel, which was great for me because I got 3 full nights sleep and got to chat to Francis and Paula who were really nice. Not sure what it would be like in high season, but probably full and busy. THe location is good if you want to see Coquimbo and La Serena. You can walk for about an hour and a half along a beautiful beach to either of them or take a local bus for less than a dollar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Except location, it was so great! Mucahs gracias!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I found so far in terms of facilities (rooms,beds, kitchen ) and the owners are very nice people. you must take a bus to go to Coquimbo and La Serena. Very easy during the day (busses run till 9:30pm).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Lovely family run hostel - couldn't ask for better hosts. Good location, just a quick bus trip to La Serena or Coquimbo, and a short walk to the beach. Great breakfast too. Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Chile!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2017
9.7

Our hosts, Paula and Francis were warm, welcoming and very helpful. Probably the best hosts we met on our trip. Rooms were clean, well-insulated (it was winter), and blankets warm. The hostal is a quick 5min walk from the beach, and 15min from the supermarket, but otherwise there isn't much else around. Nevertheless, definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th May 2017
10.0

Penuelas Hostel was awesome! The hosts, Francis and Paula, were always ready to help and very friendly. We were served a nice omelette with toast and juice every morning, and had a lovely room and hot showers. Good distance to all the attractions. Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

What a place to stay. We ended up having three nights here. The attention to detail was amazing. The owner Francis was fantastic and very welcoming. Top hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alicianavetta7109
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.4

Fabulous hostel. A few km down the road from La Serena. You can take any local bus toward Coquimbo for 450 pesos and get off at Peñuelas. Walking distance to the beach. The owners are fabulous hosts. Very friendly and helpful with planning. A real breakfast with eggs. Very comfortable beds. No wifi in the rooms, but it works well in the living room. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×