Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Penuelas Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 59 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 59 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2017
10.0

Penuelas Hostel was awesome! The hosts, Francis and Paula, were always ready to help and very friendly. We were served a nice omelette with toast and juice every morning, and had a lovely room and hot showers. Good distance to all the attractions. Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

What a place to stay. We ended up having three nights here. The attention to detail was amazing. The owner Francis was fantastic and very welcoming. Top hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alicianavetta7109
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.4

Fabulous hostel. A few km down the road from La Serena. You can take any local bus toward Coquimbo for 450 pesos and get off at Peñuelas. Walking distance to the beach. The owners are fabulous hosts. Very friendly and helpful with planning. A real breakfast with eggs. Very comfortable beds. No wifi in the rooms, but it works well in the living room. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Wonderful place to spend a quiet few days. Great service from the owners and very nice beds and amenities. Make sure you get the bus there from Ruta 5 as a taxi is pricey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Everyone is lovely, its close to the casino, the beach and even a little mall if u want to go shopping. Totaly happy with the place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Such a lovely place! Friendly staff, clean facilities, right by the beach/restaurants and a bus stop to take you into either coquimbo or la Serena. Overall loved this hostal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
10.0

I particularly liked this hostel and the hospitality of the owner. A very decent married couple run this place. And unlike most other hostels that only serve bread for breakfast this place cooks up eggs which one really needs when traveling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
8.0

Francis and his wife were so nice. They live there so it is a very homey feeling. Francis gave great advice on how to go do the Pisco valley without a tour. A little far from city center and bus station, but it was a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
10.0

My stay here was amazing! breakfast was delicious, the staff was super friendly and its definitely one of the cleanest hostels I've ever been to. The rooms were super comfortable and the location was just perfect! couple of minutes away from the beach which was amazing, would definitely recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Really nice place! It's reallyclose to the beach. Owner is really nice and gave us all the information we needed, even when we needed a doctor. I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.