X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Peppertree Lodge Reviews

15 Kings Road, Paihia, Paihia, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
219 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

My stay at The Peppertree Lodge was fantastic, meet by a very nice owner on arrival, room was very clean, tidy + spacious, bonus comfy bed, had others in my room who had been there for few day's + were loving it. Kitchen very tidy, large, clean, even had a cleaner at night to tidy up kitchen + recreational area which you don't see a lot. Great location, staff were awesome + funny, Free kayaks + bikes (bonus) + 400 dvd's. Overall will be back have no problems with telling others to stay GREAT!!!


54%

Jan 21 BED BUG INFESTATION BEWARE. Staff were contaminated and it quickly spread through all rooms. The owner was denying it at first to the first girl that had it but then just very quiet. About a dozen people were infected. First heard about it the night of 20th and by the morning people were absolutely covered in bites. Some of my friends ended up leaving early just to get away. Nobody on staff mentioned it to me as I wasn't infected but rooms next to mine and then people in my room got it.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Really bad bedbug investigation at the moment!!! Owner does not admit, but many people have bites and found the animals in their room! Just stay away!!!! 20.01.2016

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

common area was nice, kitchen well equipped. my room was a bit dirty, bathroom was not clean when I arrived, old duvet covers and sheets

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you were in a 4 bed dorm and others were already in that room, i checked back on the cleaning lists and that bathroom was cleaned that morning, the other occupant had used the bathroom before your arrival. Sorry but that will happen if you take dorm rooms.The linen is always being replaced as required, some patterns fade faster than others. Pity you never said anything when checking out, as we did speak that morning.

100%

Excellent stay. highly recommended. Brian on the front desk is a good lad!

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review, been in excess of 40 years since I was a lad, must be my wife care that keeps me young, enjoy the rest of your trip and come back at some point in time



View all Paihia Hostels

Please give us your feedback