Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Peppertree Lodge Reviews

15 Kings Road, Paihia, Paihia, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


214 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


common area was nice, kitchen well equipped. my room was a bit dirty, bathroom was not clean when I arrived, old duvet covers and sheets

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you were in a 4 bed dorm and others were already in that room, i checked back on the cleaning lists and that bathroom was cleaned that morning, the other occupant had used the bathroom before your arrival. Sorry but that will happen if you take dorm rooms.The linen is always being replaced as required, some patterns fade faster than others. Pity you never said anything when checking out, as we did speak that morning.


Excellent stay. highly recommended. Brian on the front desk is a good lad!

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review, been in excess of 40 years since I was a lad, must be my wife care that keeps me young, enjoy the rest of your trip and come back at some point in time


Very friendly owner, clean, and well organised. Good kitchen and relaxing area. Recommend lockers, would like some wifi time.


Fantastic location, friendly attentive staff always happy to help. The property is very spacious and clean with a very nice kitchen, common area and BBQ facilities are a nice touch, would recommend to anyone travelling to Paihia!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you, your favourite spot in the bbq area does not look the same without your presence


It was very accomodating!! The man was very nice he let me borrow a bike for free which was so helpful in getting around places if you don't have a car :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You will need to be here in the summer months when we are full to get the best of the hostels atmosphere, winter we run with a few people, but like a disco at 4pm, no one around. Thanks for taking time to write a review, regards bryan


Excellent customer service and clean accomodation.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKYOU FOR TAKING TIME TO WRITE A REVIEW, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Security is handled by out side contractors after 11.30, with at least 3 walk throughs and during the day I am here all day, I have a staff member in the front of the lodge and he also does a late walk through. I live at the back and have my windows open, and my wee dog wakes me if any noise at night, i have tried to keep away from cameras as they are a tad like big brother.


perfect location, nice sized rooms, very clean and well kept, the double mattress was a bit dated and a little uncomfortable but otherwise very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thankyou for taking time to write a review, I found that bed base broken when making the bed, looks like prior to your arrival, hence it may not have been up to standard, problem solved a new bed base arrived last week and everything should be back to standard, regards bryan

View all Paihia Hostels

Please give us your feedback