Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Peppertree Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.9

Pepper tree lodge is a pretty hostel with a nice outside area and good facilities. However I would only recommend older travellers to stay here. If you are looking to drink alcohol, socialise outside after 10:30 and go out in town I wouldn't recommend staying here. Staff were extremely rude and the security man threatened us aggressively on a few occasions making us feel very unwelcome! Would not stay here again due to the shear lack of respect the staff showed to paying guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ellyandcraig
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Bryan was really helpful during our trip. Also held our bag whilst we were away for a few days which was nice. Would stay again for sure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.1

Great owner who helped book a trip for us (which included a discount!) Overall really nice hostel with good kitchen, outdoor area and bathrooms. It was a fairly quiet hostel with a mixture of ages, perfect for us and a good place to explore/close to bars and shops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elainecollins894112
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
4.6

Staff were unfriendly, toilets were unclean and out of toilet paper at times, good location but I would not stay there again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, the toilets were cleaned multiple times during the day and twice after hours, the large volume of liquor, the pending new year and the age of some of my guests and their in ability to handle what they drunk did mean that we were constantly cleaning.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Nov 2016
9.4

Good spot, close to the harbour. Nice guy running the place, spacious kitchen and lounge. Good place to stay when in Paihia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Oct 2016
9.4

This was the best hostel that we've stayed in so far, so good that we extended our stay three times! Bryan was so helpful with recommendations on places to go and see in the local area, and even managed to keep us in the same room the entire time even though we kept adding days on at the last minute. We would definitely come back to this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

glad you enjoyed your stay, whilst we try to make sure folk have a nice time, we usually don't always know unless we are told, thanks for taking time to write a review and enjoy the rest of your holiday regards bryan

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
8.3

We only stayed for one night, but it was a good night. Peppertree lodge is at walking distance from the beach and town, so we could easily go to a bar in the evening and a swim in the morning. We didn't use any of the tours of equipment they offered because of our short stay, but there was a lot (bikes, tennisrackets, canoeing tours etc.).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for the review, you will need to come back and use the free stuff, enjoy the rest of your trip regards bryan

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
8.9

I absolutely loved my stay at Peppertree Lodge! The hostel owner, Bryan, is funny and lovely to have to do with. Rosey, who helps out around the hostel, is like a huge teddybear, and I just want to hug him. They were both so welcoming and super helpful with sharing their knowledge of the country and more. I really enjoyed the fact that it's not a party hostel. Still, I had loads of good times with the other people staying there. I wish that I could see the rest of the country and still stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for the review, enjoy the rest of the holiday regards bryan

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.