X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel Reviews

Wadi Musa, Petra, Jordan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
500 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

the staff there are really nice and gave good advice for our trip. we stayed in room 119 but the wifi didn't reach there...


86%

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The entrance to Petra is a 15-20 minute walk or just a very short, cheap taxi ride. It's a very simple hostel and the quality of the rooms vary (I saw my friends' room which was much nicer than mine). It's really just a place to sleep but that's fine as you will be out all day exploring Petra!


97%

I had a great service, the staff gave a lot of information. The location is good but the hostel offered a free transfer to the park.


74%

Nice location for the area and the room was a pretty good deal, showers were hot and after a long day of walking around Petra that is always good! Bed mattress was "sunk in" but was okay for a hostel. Free WiFi is always welcome! Never ate there so not sure what that was like and there is not a bar there like it said in hostelworlds "facilities" section. All in all if you just want a cheap place to crash its all right :-)


83%

Food was great! It was too chilly at night though. However, we enjoyed our stay. Thank you!


69%

very nice staff!


46%

It's a little bit too far from the Petra entrance. Hostels and suits demand a serious repair. Yes, sheets are clean. Dinner room furniture is refused. There is no boiled water or a boiler in the liberal access. Breakfast and dinner were very poor, but price was high It was unexpected to see this hostel after so high rating on the hostelworld site. I was disappoined...

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment , we are only 10 - 15 Minutes walk to the site , and if you stay near the site of Petra you have to pay 2 or 3 time of our price , i thing this point we are both agree of we have a very great roof terrace and the time you were here it was too cold , Our breakfast for only 2 JD , if you go out you will pay them for one a cup of tea , Our breakfast is , Jam , cheese ,butter , yogurt , Egg boil and fritz , saniora ,tomato Tea coffee Thanx

77%

Very kind and friendly staff, very helpful. Thank you

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly and helpful staff, nice room and tasty food at the hotel. Although at the beginning the owner told us dinner would cost 6€ but for some reason charged 8 for the second night. Also it is a buffet, but never refilled. Breakfast is cheap but not varied.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment , Yes , you are right , The price for the Mansaf is 8 JD ,, and we this food only when more tourist ask for it , because the cost is more expansive , i am sorry for that , and i thought i told you the price before Our breakfast is Jam , cheese ,butter , yogurt , Egg boil and fritz , saniora ,tomato, bread , Milk , tea , coffee , sorry if a varied breakfast ?

97%

The staff was really helpful and arranged some really nice trips very cheap. The breakfast and diner were very good.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A nice place to stay! The staff was really friendly and helpful! The dinner was perfect every night! I truly enjoyed my stay there!


86%

Nice place, with very friendly and helpful staff. They made every effort to ensure that the stay was as comfortable and hassle free as possible. Excellent for the budget traveller.


66%

Staff is amazing.


66%

No hot showers, dirty and very old bedding/pillows and one of our rooms smelt mouldy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment . I do understand why you are so upset for your personal reason but i want to make one thing clear you booked one triple room and when you arrived you brought a man to stay with you in the same room (a man with 3 girls ) .you booked 3 beds room only so we offered you 2 double rooms instead of that .now if you didn't stay with the man in the same room and your friend stayed with him .this isn't our problem.

86%

Good value hostel in a central location. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Hostel is basic but clean. Great roof terrace with great views.


89%

Great staff here - really helpful for organising things and they give you a good price. Really friendly as well. Came in the off-season so quite empty and can't really comment on the atmosphere but a good location in the centre of the real town (not just hotels) so you can mix with the friendly locals in restaurants. Also not a long walk to Petra.




View all Petra Hostels

Please give us your feedback