Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2017
8.3

I like to spend good words to Nasser, the owner of the hostel. He made us completely at ease: he arranged for us the taxi transport from/to Jordan Border, transport from/to petra site, dinner, breakfast all at reasonable price. He's a lovely man and I sincerely suggest to go to petra gate hostel during your stay in wadi musa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
4.3

This hostel is about 2k from the gates of Petra. You can walk, but they also were able to shuttle us to the gate. There are restaurants convenient to the hostel as well. Our first room was really dirty. We brought it up to management. They were quick to address the issue and changed roooms. The price was very inexpensive for Jordan.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • justinvalley1410
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Staff was fantastic! I had two days to explore Petra, and the owner sorted me out with a fantastic plan to get away from the crowds and really see this magnificent place in a unique way. Great views from the rooftop area. Really good vibes here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jaymandal14045160
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
6.9

Be carefull when you choose the rooms. They have few run down as well as newly furnished rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
10.0

Naser was a very helpful and kind gentleman. Organised transport from the airport to Petra for me as well as day trips from Petra. Beautiful views of sunset from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast and dinner was a nice touch. Overall happy with my stay, would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
8.6

We had a very pleasant time in the hotel. The owner and his staff are very friendly and make you feel at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ttang2006
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.0

Excellent hosts. But there is no dorm bed but put us on private room either single or share. Can't complaint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.6

good although i switch to the private room instead of shared room, which costs me over 10jd and 12jd for dinner and breakfast. it's reasonable actually in petra area because it's tourist attraction place. but No ac in my room, that's one disadvantage. 20mins walking to petra tourist center, which is fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elixxr4068
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
7.1

A very simple place to lodge. 20 min walk away from the Petra site. Close to eateries, shops. Nice staff. Rooms need to be updated and cleaned. Bed linen clean and bed comfortable. Better to take a room off the ground floor. I asked for a fan as it was so hot in the room. Good, basic stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
8.6

Would stay there definitely again. Super nice owner who can give you a lot of tips for petra/wadi rum etc. and can organize transport. 20 minutes walk to the entrance of petra (way back better with taxi because its uphill - 1 jd per taxi). Breakfast for little extra charge but really good, lunchbox available. Dinner at the rooftop with view over the city amazing and good for solotravellers to meet other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.