Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 629 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 629 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Reasonably priced. The owner is super helpful and nice. Rooftop is beautiful plave to watch the sunset. 15 min walk to the site. The number one choice for affordable accommodation near Petra.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.6

I stayed here for two nights. Everything works which is the main thing. Wifi available in the lobby but not in any of the rooms. The rooftop area is great for chilling out & watching the sunset. The only bad thing is location as it is about 20 mins walk from the entrance for Petra & walking back is a pain. It would be good if the hostel had a shuttle & charged less than the taxis. Nasser the host was very helpful with info about guides & trails & trip to wadi rum - desert moon camp.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
6.3

Great location, near entrance to Petra. But facility is a quite old, shower and toilet is kinda broken. Host is very nice, and the 6 Dinar dinner is quite nice. Nice roof lounge overlooking the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • pandashii
  • Montenegro, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.7

Our stay at Petra Gate was very good. The location of the hostel is good. From the rooftop terrace you can see the whole Petra region. You can smoke shisha on the terrace and also have food service. As we came they immediately offered us free coffee, which is in the spirit of Jordan hospitality. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and helped us find reasonably priced tours to Wadi Rum and dead sea. Overall it was a good experience, and I would highly recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

Great location and amazing food. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
10.0

We loved our stay at Petra gate hotel. The staff were the most friendly, accommodating and sweet people. I would highly recommend staying here. The sunset from the roof is breathtaking!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
10.0

I absolutely love this place. The staff is extraordinary and friendly, the place is clean, the breakfast is cheap and filling, the views from the new terrace are breathtaking, and the sunsets are to die for. I give this place a strong A+. Fantastic experience alongside seeing Petra.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
9.1

Great little place close to the middle of Petra (not the heritage site). Unfortunately the wifi did not work in the room I was in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
4.9

I did not enjoy my stay in this place. While it promotes itself as a hostel, it really is more a cheap hotel. None of the hostel characteristics that make a hostel worth staying in for me. A lobby, but no common room, not kitchen facilities and barely other travelers. Not very clean either. Staff was friendly and helpful. No good atmosphere to meet other travelers. Would not recommend for solo travelers!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice and very helpful staff and good wifi. The place is undergoing some maintenance so it will be even better soon (i.e. the rooftop). Nasser is a very helpful owner who will arrange tours for you. Kimo is an extremely helpful employee always ready to go an extra mile in order to make your stay comfortable. Pretty close to Petra archaeological site: 20 minutes on foot, and to relatively inexpensive restaurants. Breakfast available for a cheap extra. Laundry service not available at the moment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.