Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 597 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 597 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.5
Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel Located at Wadi Musa, , Petra.
Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel
Jordan
Petra Wadi Musa
80% 597
30.3205999 35.4808884
Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Nov 2016
6.0

The Rooftop was awesome. I was disappointed they didn't have food but the owner offered to pick me some up. The staff was very helpful. It was pretty typical of a Jordan hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel. The owner is a great guy who is very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Thank You for making my stay in Petra so nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
8.6

Great Location, approximately 10/15 minute down hill walk to the main entrance to the archaeological site and closer to main town area. The guys here really looked after me. Free upgrade to single room, prepared a traditional bedouin meal for me and organised transport to Wadi Rum and then back to Amman without any hassles. Quiet Hostel, however other than the big hotels Petra seems quiet in that regards. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Oct 2016
7.1

The hostel is quite a bit away from the actual Petra Gate entrance and makes for a hike once you've done a lot of hiking at Petra. Taxi cab touts are annoying and it should only cost 1 JD to get from hostel to gate. The owner was great and helpful. Super friendly guy and helped with a Wadi Rum trip. The room only had hot water one out of two days I was there. Bathroom was functional, but shower had draining issues, toilet seat wasn't attached and the flushing mechanism needed to be fixed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
6.0

Very dirty but nice rooftop view. The man in the reception was helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment, Can you let me know what was dirty in our hostel ,your booking was in dorms room and your friend , i gave you to stay in double room with bath and shower inside ,

13th Oct 2016
10.0

Staff was great!, they cook for me a chicken wrap meal late at night, because I was waiting for a phone call at the hostel, most importantly it was sooo good(no exaggeration). They were able to set a taxi pickup and drop off from the Amman Airport. Hostel is walking distance to Petra, Wifi to my surprise was above average fast and reliable. Overall I was satisfied with my stay here, would stay here again... Oh and a lovely view to the city from upstairs (: ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
6.3

Average at best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
10.0

The location was amazing, walking distance to Petra, we ate nightly on the rooftop with views of the city and mountains, this was better than the restaurants surrounding it. The staff were more than helpful checking how much taxi drivers charged us and even going shopping for us so as to get the local not tourist prices for our gifts. Excellent value for money we will return during the winter!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.3

Nice location, close to money changers/restaurants/bus station/fruit market/Petra gate entrance is half mile walk down hill. Taxi 1 or 2 JD. The Manager was very nice, likes to be seen as 5 star service. gave us free ride in his car to Petra entrance and bus station. The motel/hostel/city f Petra seemed more run down (economy) than when I was there two years ago. Water has to be shipped in. Overall I would recommend this place due to manager and location/price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.9

We really enjoyed our stay at Petra Gate. The hotel is located close to Wadi Musa downtown area. This is great for dinner in the evening. Nasser is a great host and really helped us out with booking our next trip to Wadi Rum. The hotel itself is simple but clean and be sure to check out sunset over Petra from the roof terrace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.