Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jun 2017
8.6

Would stay there definitely again. Super nice owner who can give you a lot of tips for petra/wadi rum etc. and can organize transport. 20 minutes walk to the entrance of petra (way back better with taxi because its uphill - 1 jd per taxi). Breakfast for little extra charge but really good, lunchbox available. Dinner at the rooftop with view over the city amazing and good for solotravellers to meet other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th May 2017
6.9

Exactly what you would expect for the price given!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.6

Petra seems empty these days, so hostels are empty. We had a private room which was good enough. Location is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
8.9

The place was clean, they had decent rooms, amazing rooftop, solid breakfast (included), and massive meal for dinner (extra charge but worth it). All that considered I would stay here, but to top it off, the staff was amazing. It's still about a 1.2km walk to the entrance of Petra, but all down hill. I'd recommend walking from here, but perhaps taking a cab after a long day of walking. You may seem averse to this, but spend several hours at Petra on your feet and see how you feel after

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
9.1

I was here as a solo traveller and had a perfect stay. The hostel offers good early breakfast and packed lunch options which is really useful for getting out and spending the day in petra. It's a 15/20 minute walk to the gate which is not too bad, or a taxi should only cost 1 dinar anyway. Clean and comfortable room, helpful staff and a rooftop lounge with great views over the town especially at sunset, a nice place to relax and meet other travellers after a long day. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel - would highly recommend. 20 minute walk to Petra Staff cook nice breakfast (omlette, bread, cheese, veg) and will make nice traditional middle eastern dinner (mezze, kebabs, etc) for very reasonable price Staff were really helpful - helped me to arrange transport to Wadi Rum. Also gave me a private room when i booked a dorm, for same price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
10.0

Absolutely in love with this place! Beautiful rooftop sitting area. The staff is amazing and will give you good recommendations on what to do, where to eat, etc. They're also just about the only people I've encountered in the Jordanian tourism industry that will not try to rip you off.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
8.6

It was great for spending the night to get up and go to Petra! It did the job. Shower and toilet worked. Room locked. All was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
8.3

The owner stayed up for us to check in, which was so nice since we were hours late. The bed was wonderful, soft and lots of quality blankets. However, the bathroom smelled and the shower was cold. Additionally, there was only one outlet and there were three of us, so we had to take turns charging our phones. It was a little further from the gate to Petra than I thought, but it was just up the road. The rooftop terrace was very nice and over looked the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.3

The town this hostel it built around is aimed at one thing only and that's Petra. The room was good enough for laying our heads down after a long days walk around Petra. Offers cheap breakfast, pack lunch and evening meal. The WiFi was useless. The washing "facilities" is actually a dry cleaners around the corner at 2jd per item. Was a lovely stay. Many thanks Sean and belinda.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.