Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 616 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 616 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice and very helpful staff and good wifi. The place is undergoing some maintenance so it will be even better soon (i.e. the rooftop). Nasser is a very helpful owner who will arrange tours for you. Kimo is an extremely helpful employee always ready to go an extra mile in order to make your stay comfortable. Pretty close to Petra archaeological site: 20 minutes on foot, and to relatively inexpensive restaurants. Breakfast available for a cheap extra. Laundry service not available at the moment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.0

Strength of this place is the owner, Naser. Will go out of his way to make your stay as good as possible. Also very honest. Will tell you the truth about prices and possibilities even if it does not benefit him. Truly enjoys his guests and watches out for them to ensure they are not taken advantage of with regard to tours, transportation, etc... The location is a good one, about 20-30 minute walk to Petra. The facilities are a little run down, but commensurate with pricing. Recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

Basic accommodation but comfortable. Staff is excellent and knowledgeable, Naser the owner helped me book affordable transportation during my entire stay in Jodan. He basically made my short trip amazing. Breakfast and dinner were fresh and delicious for the price. I went in winter, and it got a bit chilly but the bed was warm and comfortable. I would recommend for any traveler on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.7

The staff in this hotel are so friendly and helpful. I stayed in winter and it was cold so they gave me an electric fire and extra blankets which made my stay more comfortable. The owner also helped me out of a difficult situation when I visited Wadi Rum which I am so grateful for. The accommodation is very basic but you get what you pay for. I am very happy with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Nasser and his hostel could not have been more accommodating. He truly made me feel like family and was very eager to either help show or facilitate activities including but not limited to wadi rum jeep, ride from Aqaba, ride away, petra and petra at night. I really appreciated his hospitality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

The receptionist was amazing, he help me in everything I need and he even gave me tips for hiking trails. The place is located in a good area, you have all you need just in 200 mts.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
8.3

Bathroom should be neat

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
10.0

it have been an excellent experiencie. The hostel is very confortable, clean and is very close from the ruines. The Staff (Kimo) is very nice, he helps in everything that u need. Congrats!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
10.0

I would highly recommend this hostel to everyone, the staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. I would love to come back to Jordan and will definitely stay at Petra gate once again. :) perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Uncle Nasser is the best host hands down. He hooked us up with Local prices for everything: Wadi Rum (Musa) tour and organised my Dead Sea trip for the way back home. It's super-cheap, safe and clean. Walking distance to Petra Gate too! You're a fool if you don't stay here. Can't wait to stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.