Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel Located at Wadi Musa, , Petra.
Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel
Jordan
Petra Wadi Musa
81% 582
30.3205999 35.4808884
Petra Gate Hostel and Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
10.0

The location was amazing, walking distance to Petra, we ate nightly on the rooftop with views of the city and mountains, this was better than the restaurants surrounding it. The staff were more than helpful checking how much taxi drivers charged us and even going shopping for us so as to get the local not tourist prices for our gifts. Excellent value for money we will return during the winter!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.3

Nice location, close to money changers/restaurants/bus station/fruit market/Petra gate entrance is half mile walk down hill. Taxi 1 or 2 JD. The Manager was very nice, likes to be seen as 5 star service. gave us free ride in his car to Petra entrance and bus station. The motel/hostel/city f Petra seemed more run down (economy) than when I was there two years ago. Water has to be shipped in. Overall I would recommend this place due to manager and location/price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.9

We really enjoyed our stay at Petra Gate. The hotel is located close to Wadi Musa downtown area. This is great for dinner in the evening. Nasser is a great host and really helped us out with booking our next trip to Wadi Rum. The hotel itself is simple but clean and be sure to check out sunset over Petra from the roof terrace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.0

Nice enough family run place. Fairly clean, bit of a walk down to Petra but reasonably priced. Very quiet and peaceful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
5.4

Nasser was wonderful and welcoming and helpful. I appreciated him very much. The bathroom facilities were not clean. Nor the shower. The sheets were definitely used and not clean. I wish I could give a more positive review

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.4

The hostel is in a great location. Less than 5 mins walk to the town centre. The rooftop has ridiculously amazing views (especially of the sunset). It's not a party hostel but the staff are really warm and friendly and will go out of their way to help you with any questions or queries you may have. All in all, this place is bang for buck. Anyone looking to have a relaxed and comfortable time in Petra should strongly consider booking here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

The owner of this hotel is the nicest and most accommodating host possible. The location is great with easy access to Petra. The room stayed really cool without AC which was nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.4

We stayed here two nights while visiting Petra. It's possible to walk down the hill to the visitor centre gate but most likely you'll be dropped off by car by the owner (for free)!. You can have a very nice breakfast for a small extra price and he was always very helpful giving us advice on what to do and how not to get ripped off in Jordan. We would definitely stay there again, best value for money!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.6

Firstly you need to realize where you are going and that it is a tourist crisis because of Arab spring and everything that is happening in the Middle East. +++ owner is super helpful, awesome, speaks good English and isn't trying to rip you off. He will try to satisfy your every need --- the cleanliness and state of the hostel is up to Jordanian standard and current state of the economy and tourism (consider really bad on Europe or the US) Cheap, reliable, for shorter stay good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ingrid_pitanga5417
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jun 2016
9.4

It's a great place, Calm and friendly. Petra is a lovely place, very safe. I would probably be back if I could.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.