X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Phoenix Hostel Reviews

6 Daventry Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1342 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good location just a short walk away from Edgware Rd Station and grocery store. Think there should be a better logging system for bag storage but otherwise great value for money. Would stay again.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel's location is quite convenient (just a 5 minute walk from Edgware road underground station). There are lots of pubs, nightclubs, supermarkets, restaurants and cafes within 10-15 minutes of walking from the hostel, too. The hostel has what most travellers need, it isn't fancy. There are lockers for you in the room, but try to bring your own lock. There isn't a proper kitchen there; just a fridge and microwave oven. But you'll want to be out anyway! £2 for the breakfast, worth it!


83%

Actually i didnt expect lot myroom was 14 beds dorm , butit was okay spent all my time in london The staffwas really nice

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I came to spend 2 nights and I've been at the Phoenix for 5 days! No more words needed. Keep that mood! =)

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Implement a towl renting system and a system to cope with the showers running all at once.


100%

Only complaint is that the hostel bar should be open longer lol.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic hostel! Staff were extremely friendly, aproachable and helpful. Fantastic atmosphere in the common areas! I was only there for one night but it felt like home! Good facilities, good location, good breakfast, highly recommend this hostel!


86%

The hostel was definitely a chill place to stay. The staff here especially make this place awesome. Everyone is willing to chat over a pint of guinness/beer and they have a pretty spacious living room area/bar to chill out. They also have a communal fridge so you can buy some food if need be. The rooms are clean and the beds are decently comfortable. There are quite a bit of showers as well, so you never have to worry about waiting for someone. It has a great location right next to hyde park!

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location! Super easy to get to the tube and get around. Walking distance to Hyde Park as well. Wifi was alright, would go in and out and I couldn't get it in my bed on the second floor. The staff was very friendly and helpful! There was only one outlet in the room, so only two things could be plugged in at a time. Plenty of outlets downstairs though, so can take appliances down to charge and be more social.


77%

Amazing location, but small rooms - can´t imagine to stay with total strangers in so tiny room. We were a group of six people (mix six bed room) and for us it was perfect. The staff is really helpful, atmosphere great, cleanliness on that level, that you would expect with so many people (18?) sharing three showers. But I would recomend it to everyone, who wants to stay in the city center with tight budget, the value for money is great.


51%

The hygiene of the room and the bathroom is poor. Not enough power supply. Water pressure too weak. The bed is not strong enough, emit sounds frequently when one turns around.


100%

Brilliant


100%

Aye, great team

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great stay at the Phoenix. We were greeted by Paul who was a great character and showed us around the hostel, which I've never had from other hostels' staff before. Our 6-bed room was quite small, but there were large lockers and it was cleaned every day. There were individual bathrooms and showers which was nice. The breakfast was cheap and the atmosphere in the common room wasn't great, but other than that of highly recommend the Phoenix!


91%

The price is too expensive at weekends. Could do with new bathrooms and bar area decorated .


97%

I really need to speak about this members of staff: Kaevi, Jonatan, Paul and Hugo, each one, in their own personality, they are the soul of this hostel... I REALLY THANKS FOR EVERYTHING IN MY STAY, AND ALL HELP AND ADVICES , AND MOST OF ALL FOR THE SUPPORT THAT THEY GIVE TO THE GUESTS, I know and for me not only them won a new friend like me I won some new friends in the 14 days that i've been in the PHOENIX Hostel, a big hug to all the staff but specially for this 4 guys

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Big Aengus


86%

Good clean showers, one of the hottest showers I've ever had in a hostel. Excellent staff, very helpful when I needed help getting to stansted at 6am


89%

so freakin nice people who are workin there!

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

At first sight it seems pretty basic, but in fact it has all you need. Staff have excellent approach. Nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback