Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Phoenix Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, very friendly staff!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2017
6.9

On checking in, you're given a tag for your bed. Sadly, both nights I stayed, having had the good fortune to choose a bottom bunk by a window, when I returned in the early morning, my bad had been acquisitioned by another wily but sneaky human who had slept on my bed, leaving me to stumble downstairs and get a key from the person at 'reception'. Don't expect much of a hostel this cheap, so I can't really complain, but it was annoying, and if you expect basics like this; look elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.3

location very good only 4 minutes to Marylebone railway station or Edgware Road underground station, staff friendly, room and showers were clean. Only complaint is the limited space. Whether the room or the showers, space is extremly narrow. In the room, no chair, no table or anything were you could unload your backback; it'd be much nicer if there was one 3-bed-bunk less to offer more space. And I felt there were people checking-in and out almost all night in my room and make noise packing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
8.0

I'm not very picky but found no problems. Close enough to the subway, comfortable beds and 24 hour reception. Could include free breakfast for the price tho. Heidi and the Australian dude with the glasses are very knowledgeable and helped me out a lot!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
6.6

Room was really smelly and stuffy. when I first walked in, all I could smell was throw up and body Oder... pretty gross...But the beds were comfortable and clean, toilets and showers were well kept and the 2£ breakfast was very good! The underground was just a 5 min walk and the staff was very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
7.7

Really don't see how this hostel is "award winning". Somewhat dinghy, mixed dorm room was very stuff. Bar area was pitiful. It was fine for a night, I wouldn't stay here for a week or anything. Clean enough again just dinghy, also bathrooms extremely small. Felt as though I was camping. Good enough for a night. Saving grace, location right by tube station that hits heart of London, and on major bus routes, also lots of food/coffee places around. Nothing special.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
7.1

Worth the price, but very basic hostel. Would suit budget travellers. Lockers available in the room, and keycard access to the room - so good security. There was a microwave and a fridge available (no kitchen sink or kettle). Sometimes struggled to find a seat in the common area, which is the only place you're allowed to eat. Very limited charging / powerpoints in the room. Staff were very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
8.0

staff were very friendly, location was perfect. the dorm we stayed in was a mixed 16 bed room which was a lot more crowed than I had anticipated from the pictures Incl some creaky bunk beds. the lockers that were provided were not very large if you want to put bags in. . more school lockers than for storage. (locks not provided you have to buy) there was one shower in the dorm . . and a separate sink area in the middle of the room. . the shower area was not very big nor very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Great place, can't ask for a better staff, just note last call is at 10:30 on sundays, not 11.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
5.1

Everything in the hostel is tiny, and comparing to other hostels in London, the relation between price and quality is quite bad. The bathrooms are small and the bar-reception is a sad scene.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.