X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Phoenix Hostel Reviews

6 Daventry Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
954 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Average hostel. I found it expensive for what you get. I was very disappointed to find out that they charge an extra 2 pounds just to leave your luggage in their storeroom! I had a bus that evening and chose to lug my bags around instead.As a traveller one often has to travel later in the day after checking out and most hostels offer this basic service. It sends the wrong message and made me feel like they were trying to extract more money from travellers. Would not recommend it for this reason.


100%

its really a good hostel

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

For a guest like me, coming and going and staying most of the time outdoors it was perfect. The staff was super friendly. They showed that safety and security are the most important parts of an hostel. I felt both safe and secure. Some improvements on newer safes for luggage and other minor things can be done. But over all it's a 8/10 for a hostel in London. The breakfast was awesome for 1,5£. Location perfect. All and all very good. Good atmosphere in the lobby/bar.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was excellent, specially Paul...

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Superbe auberge! Douche propre, a 5m du metro, ambiance jeune et internationale. Staff super sympa, toujours disponible et souriant, se rappellant des prenoms des guests. Notamment JOHN qui est adorable et toujours pret pour nous renseigner!!!! Je recommande

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Phoenix is a great hostel. Located centrally and very close to many sites, tube stations and endless restaurants and bars. With friendly, helpful staff like John, the Phoenix is a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay.


97%

Nos ha gustado el Hostel, bien ubicado. No hay cocina pero si un microondas muy útil para calentar la comida. El desayuno vale 1,5 pounds y es muy completo. El personal es muy agradable, especialmente, Juanlu y Rocio, quienes siempre están dispuestos a ayudar en cualquier cosa.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The bathroom was very dirty, and the atmosphere/ staff not very friendly.


94%

Really good hostel, friendly staff and a nice laid back atmosphere. Rooms are well kept and are very secure. It's in a great location right next to a tube station in zone 1. Bathroom facilities are very clean. John and Paul were very helpful and informative for a Irish man and a Scots man.


83%

The obvious stand-outs are the staff and the location. Whilst John, Paul and Mehdi are friendly fellows and three tube stations of varying lines are within walking distance, it is in the humble opinion of this reviewer that there ought to be a kitchen. The obvious benefit of not having a kitchen is the encouragement to eat out and be adventurous whilst in a new city/country; the close proximity of Edgeware Road remedies the lack of kitchen. Over-all an enjoyable stay. There are also cheap pints!

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Only stayed for one night and loved it. John and Paul are great hosts. Can't wait to come back next week.


100%

This was my first stay at Phoenix Hostel and the opportunities of meeting wonderful and interesting people started from the get go. I celebrated St. Patricks day with a lot of help from the staff especially John, who was kind enough to explain it's history and significance. These two nights were so special that I booked my next four nights at the hostel right away.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Phoenix hostel has been my second home for the past few weeks. I love the atmosphere and cleanliness of the place, and it's also in a great location. However, the best thing about Phoenix hostel is the staff. Every time I come back, I am greeted by a warm, welcoming smile and treated like an old friend. John is a lovely, sassy Irishman and Paul is full of wisdom. Highly recommended.


91%

Love this hostel! :) You feel comfortable and meet heaps of great people and John and Paul (staff) are absolutely fantastic!!! Biggest downfall is no kitchen :(

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice for a few days, the staff is nice, but you have to keep an eye in your belongings.


97%

Easy to find, next to a metro station, the staff is awesome ! John and Paul are the best ! They have breakfast for like 1.5 quid which is an "all you can eat" ... And when you come back in the evening you can just chill in the pub with fellow travellers with a beer :) Pretty cool hostel !


97%

Perfect Stay ... love to stay there every time I have classes, really nice staff and very close Regents park and right in the centre of London. Great place to stay !!


86%

Big thanks to Medhi from the reception !

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel doesn't live up to its potential. Could be a lot better. Only few showers, tiny bathrooms, too many beds per room, no place to put your stuff. More over there is no real kitchen. Just a fridge and a microwave. It could be a lot better if they freshened up the place a little bit. Right now, not worth the price


86%

The rooms are a bit cramped specially considerig the massive suitcases inside the room but its good value. it Desperatly calls for a proper kitchen instead of just a microwave.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback