Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Phoenix International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 42 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 42 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.6
Phoenix International Youth Hostel Located at Sha Wan No.11 (Hongqiao Esat Gate), Tuojiang Town, Fenghuang-Phoenix County.
Phoenix International Youth Hostel
China
Fenghuang-Phoenix County 416200 Sha Wan No.11 (Hongqiao Esat Gate), Tuojiang Town
57% 42
27.9514340 109.6012471
Phoenix International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2016
4.9

While it is nice that this hostel is centrally located, it is on one of the busiest street in Fenghuang, especially at night and the rooms are NOT even remotely soundproof. Luckily, I'm a pretty deep sleeper, but it was extremely loud until 1 or 2 in the morning. I chose this hostel because it was cheap, but it is not terribly clean (mosquitoes and god knows what else coming out of the squat toilet in the bathroom) and they charge extra to use the air con. Stay somewhere better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • camillechen11177930
  • China, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2016
5.1

The hostel is located on a very noisy bar, no hot shower on the first floor, no air conditioners but an very old and dusty fan, the room is too hot and wet in July, the windows are almost broken, mosquitos everywhere that we cannot get asleep until 3 to 4am. Awful experience! Will never stay there again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.0

Cons: No toilet paper, they close at night and you have to call to make them open the door. Veeery poor wifi, and they don't have lockers. Pros: insane location (though quite hard to find and map is not exact), very nice and friendly staff, and good environment with live music at night. For the price it costs is perfect since you will be outside the hostal during the day enjoying the magical town of Fenfhuang.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jun 2016
3.4

I don't know where to begin To say this is the worst hostel I have stayed at would be an understatement and the price is just a slap in the face. I am a well seasoned traveller and can put up with a lot of odd and uncomfortable situations, trust me, pay the extra and stay in a hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th May 2016
7.1

The girl at the counter when we came to check in made us wait to finish a game on the computer that we could clearly see her playing.the beds are really hard and there is a lot a lot of noise at night,must be a bar next door,loud music.over two days none of the staff met spoke English. The location and cleanliness is the one thing going for them

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2016
6.3

The staff are very kind and well meaning, but inexperienced. We were first put in a room that stank of damp, and had full rubbish bins and a dirty toilet. The staff moved us to a clean room straightaway. When we visited there was no hostel atmosphere at all, more like cheap hotel, but perhaps this was just because it wasn't busy. The room we had was dark with very little natural light. I think maybe it's not this hostel that is bad, just maybe there is a poor selection of hostels in fenghuang.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
6.3

Well, the room I got was damp, very basic. The shower room and toilet very uninviting. Staff has no English, but we're kind enough to pick us up from the street. The bed were a joke with how thing they were, and I'm not fussy about these things. I'm pretty sure I saw some nice rooms as well, but I think other options might be better around, especially for couples.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
5.7

Creo que fue uno de los peores hostel donde me quede, las camas sin colchon (solo algo que parecia colchon como una frazada doblada), no es para nada igual a lo que se ve en las fotos, cuesta encontrarlo porque afuera no aparece el nombre del hostel... Si pueden busquen un hotel y aprovechen una linda vista del rio.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.3

The hostel is just located at the fringe of the old town. If one does not want to purchase the old town entrance ticket, one would need to contact the hostel owner who would be glad to give directions. The hostel has a good view of the old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
7.7

Good luck trying to have someone understand English. Although that was an issue site from the room was amazing if you order the 3-bedroom standard. Guy at the front desk did his best to help us including giving us a ride to the bus station to our next destination. They did what they could for us so I can't complain too much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.