Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Phuket Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Phuket Backpacker Located at 165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, , Phuket.
Phuket Backpacker
Thailand
Phuket 83000 165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket
76% 1450
7.8833618 98.3851432
Phuket Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2016
8.0

I stayed here one night before going to Phi Phi and one night after. Pros: the common area is really nice. The hostel is close (~15 min drive) to the pier to Phi Phi. Front desk set up my ferry tickets (Round trip is 700 Baht) Cons: airport transfer is very expensive (~800 baht). nothing to do around the hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Great way to meet people. Just always ask for toilet paper before going into the stall. No bars or party atmosphere near by the hostel but throwing your own party in the hostel was fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.1

Need your own lock for the lockers and the door don't lock but they shut the front at night so no one can enter. They do good transfers to phi phi with transfer for around 400 bhat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.0

Chill place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
4.0

My sister and I stayed here for one night on our way to the islands. The hostel is far from most of the cool things in Phuket and facilities were a bit run down. The sheets were questionable-looking and had stains on them. It seemed like we were the only people staying in this hostel. You get what you pay for. This was my least favorite hostel on our whole trip

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Jun 2016
4.3

We only stayed for one night and honestly that's all we needed. This place is fine if you just want somewhere to crash for the night but I would not recommend it for a few days. The rooms are too cramped, there seems to be one bathroom for multiple dorms. I spotted a fair few cockroaches. There was no atmosphere but I put that down to the fact that we didn't see anyone else there. Not the worst place I've stayed in but could be so much better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2016
6.3

Good hostel, as we wanted to be close to the pier to get to the islands. Went in low season so much quieter, bathroom was clean, the dorms were all within one room but fine. Asked for extra fan and got one quickly. Fine for what we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jun 2016
6.0

Staff were amazing, and great price but, the ac is turned off during the day, it was completely dead when I was there and has no atmosphere. A hostel of what seems like it can host 100+ people there was a total of 5/6 people at the hostel. Shame because it's clean, great value, friendly just poor location aka phuket town a d empty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • osorioarturo2961
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th May 2016
8.9

Since this hostel is located in Phuket town (where there is nothing to do) I ended up staying somewhere else! No review.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th May 2016
8.0

Good, clean hostel but shame they cram in the beds so much. Barely any floor space between the beds making it very hard to sort your stuff out or get in and out of the incredibly (perhaps dangerously!) high bunkbeds. Great location for central Phuket Town and right by the busstops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.