X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Phuket Backpacker Reviews

165 Ranong Rd. Maung T. Taladyai Phuket, Phuket, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1276 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff were amazing! They would hang out with all the backpackers at their bar/lobby while we drank beers. Very friendly!

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The lockers under the beds are awesome and the air conditioning is fantastic. And the rooms and bathrooms are cleaned every day so that's a huge bonus.


83%

Very welcoming and helpful staff.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice area 2 minute walk to a great market, nice bar area, nothing to really complain about, staff where friendly a helpful


86%

Nice hostel for one or two nights max. Very centric(old town) also near the market. The only bad thing is that the rooms are just above the bar and they had the music very loud until 2 in the morning and we had to get up at 5 to catch flights.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very cool happy place to arrive at after a long day of traveling. Staff are fun, Sia the barman will hit you up with some great shots and a pizza. Only spent one night, but would recommend this place.


91%

Very nice place for bagpackers Clean Staff always helpful Nothing bad to say Enjoying my stay in this hostel

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. We were staying in one of the private rooms, it came with a dvd player/TV and there was plenty of movies to choose from. Everything was reasonably tidy and the internet was decent.


89%

The A/C didn't get turned on until late at night which was a problem. Other than that it was a good backpackers.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect hostel. Good location, price, staff and shower. Breakfast is tasty but a little expensive. I reserved for 3 nights but ended up 5 nights there. Plus, I met some nice friends there and went to Phi Phi together.


83%

Amazing staff

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great atmosphere, friendly and sociable staff. Had a great stay here, but dorms are a bit small.


40%

The pictures online make the place seem a lot better than it really is. It's a cheap place to stay, but you definitely get what you pay for. The two main problems I had were that the dorm room walls didn't go all the way to the ceiling, so the noise was really bad...and the bathrooms/showers were awful...dirty, smelled bad, and zero hot water.


86%

Very good communal area with helpful, friendly staff. Nice atmosphere. Only gripe was private rooms being in a different building where the wifi signal was poor... which is a shame when you pay more for the room. But great hostel!


60%

DO NOT GO HERE. The hostel is nice but it has BED BUGS! We were not allowed to move rooms or even have clean sheets - apparently they were locked away and only the cleaner could get access in the morning! We also saw a mouse / rat inside the lobby area which is probably not that uncommon

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Directions on webpage are incomplete and it took us an hour from the bus station to find the place. When you get onto main road from bus station, turn RIGHT. You have to go around and past a roundabout. Better yet bring a phone and call. Clean rooms with good beds and shower. Our first night we got put in their annex building where the wifi does not work and it feels weirdly desolate. Cocktails at the bar suck. Price is good though. The place has a party scene. Large common room, dirty couches.


80%

We had a great stay at phuket backpackers.There's not a lot to do around the area. You can take a bus to patong, Karon and kata beach for 35baht which takes about half an hour. The staff was helpful whenever we ha a problem. The first night we stayed in the second building but there was an extremely strong chemical smell. They happily moved us to the main building and the room there was perfect. The private room you have your own bathroom and big tv. They have a great DVD collection!


37%

Rude and unhelpful staff, they just sit back and get drunk behind bar. When you ask them to help fix your broken AC they act like its a huge burden on them to keep their facilities running. Private rooms don't have wifi at all. Not many restaurants around or things to do. Overpriced (but so is all of Phuket). Would never stay again.


94%

This guest house is also a 24 hours bar, located in the phuket town, far from Patong Beach but easy to get the bus to go there with only 50baht. Phuket town is nice, very easy to find the cheap and good food. I have found a 22 baht sticky rice and fried chicken wing at the street! The staffs are helpful and cheerful, I am happy to stay here and meet a lots of nice friends.


74%

Had a great time at Phuket Backpackers, staff was great, very helpful and reasonable! Make sure to bring toiletries!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Phuket Hostels

Please give us your feedback