X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pickwick Hall Reviews

7 Bedford Place, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1087 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel was a bit tired and run down, but for an overnight stay it was fine. It suited our purpose. Everything was clean and we were comfortable. The bed was big and comfortable. The shower was great. The room was very warm. The only downside is that i thought the staff were rude and curt but thankfully didn't have to interact with them much.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good hostel in London, near Holborn train station and British Museum. Nice staff. Poor breakfast (just bread, cereal and butter). We think the bathroom should be cleaned more often. Not a good choice if you are traveling alone and want to make friend.


77%

Great location and in a quiet surrounding. Simple breakfast included. Suitable for those after a busy day, in getting a good rest at night. Lack of proper luggage storage area.


89%

The hostel is located right up the street from the British Museum, in an older building from 1802. We did have some problems with a leak in our first room, but when we brought it up to the manager we were promptly moved to a new (dry) room. It's not a party hostel - but for us that was perfect. It's simple, clean, quiet, and economical - and seems like it would be great for older travelers, too!


100%

This was a excellent place to stay we loved the location the helpful staff and the amazing breakfast 1 million% better than Premier Inn would stay here again

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

fantastic staff, super friendly and helpful. would definitely stay again.


89%

Simple, no fuzz budget accomm in an excellent location. Furnishings are a bit dated but the bed was comfortable. Stayed in a four bed dorm at the basement (had to carry my luggage down the steps). Shower curtains were a little dirty but otherwise everything was ok for the price.


80%

es war sehr schön da. die mitarbeiter sind freundlich und die Zimmer sind sauber. auch die badezimmer sind sauber und es ist in einer ruhigen strasse, denoch ist man schnell im zentrum. danke


83%

Great find, good value for money and in an excellent location

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel is not a modern and new hostel.There is no lift as well. Facilities are little bit old, however, they are good enough! By considering the location and cost, this hostel is really good value for money! Staff here is also friendly and helpful. Just breakfast provided is little bit disappointed.


83%

Excellent value for money. Great location.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The room and facilities were clean, the location was excellent. It's in the middle of downtown and the Thames is only a five minutes walk away. The hostel was completely lacking atmosphere, though.


97%

Well located close to Russell Sq and British museum

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice little place close to the British Museum. Friendly staff. The rooms are quiet old fashioned but o.k. Only drawback is a too hot not adjustable heater.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel in the heart of London! Easy access to tube station. Staff very friendly & helpful. Private room had personal sink & microwave. Kitchen downstairs and laundry available. Very pleasant. Furnishings a bit shabby but okay. I'd stay here again!.


100%

After reading the mixed reviews I was quite apprehensive about booking at the Pickwick Hall. However, the experience was so great I wished I had booked the entire time in London at the Pickwick. The location was central, the breakfast wonderful, a personalized attentive staff and the cleanliness unsurpassed. It was a 5 star place in my book and am already promoting the Pickwick to those I meet. You just can't go wrong by staying here.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice, clean and homely!


77%

Very nice and comfortable stay. The other guests were professional and the staff was helpful.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

The woman in charge barely spoke English and was incredibly rude and unprofessional. Rooms were left unlocked with my belongings in them (as there were only 5 tiny post box sized lockers for the whole place) and, with the exception of bedding and towels (which, no doubt, were sent out for washing), the place was rather disgusting with huge cobwebs hanging down over the bed, a pool of stagnant, smelly water outside the window and a shower that was blocked in the grubby bathroom. NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(98 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback