Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pil Pil Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
Pil Pil Hostel Located at Av. Sabino Arana 14, , Bilbao.
Pil Pil Hostel
Spain
Bilbao Basque Country 48013 Av. Sabino Arana 14
79% 641
43.2628314 -2.9464124
Pil Pil Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Nice place to stay in Bilbao, near the center and the river so you could walk to all the main tourist attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
7.4

The other reviews here complaining about the 'mental hospital' atmosphere are wrong, there's nothing wrong with it. The only resemblance to a hospital is the trolleys used for transporting dirty bed sheets, which is something I've chosen not to care about. Adequate breakfast, fridge a bit small and showers and toilets are on the small side. A good place to stay, however.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Oct 2016
6.3

A bit boring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Oct 2016
8.0

Very helpful and friendly staff!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for you comment

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Oct 2016
6.6

The location is not that bad, close to the busstation and metro. Maybe it was just during my stay but people weren't really connecting. The atmosphere wasn't that great, that is a important point for me

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are sorry to heard that the people during your stay was no really connecting,. Normally all our visitors are very friendly and open to meet some new people

6th Oct 2016
5.4

An otherwise ok stay was spoilt by the attitude of the guy on reception when i checked out. My flight was late at night and i was hoping to be able to use the common areas to relax, use internet etc at some point during the afternoon. A not unreasonble request but apparently this was not possible, and he clearly didnt care. Was able to leave my bag in the corridor in unsecure location. Other reviews accurate - great location, needs more showers, bit shabby and weird mental hospital atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Oct 2016
8.3

Pil Pil hostel was average, the location is close to the bus station and metro and there's a supermarket nearby. I was a little disappointed that the hostel didn't have any activities to encourage other travelers to get to know each other nor did it offer any walking tours. The bathrooms and bedrooms were clean though, overall a basic hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
5.7

The staff was nice, but it was just.. strange. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it had the decor of a daycare and the ambiance of a hospital waiting room. Also, the fridge smelled.. alot. The price was average for a hostel in Bilbao (payed 17€ per night for 2 nights,) but the hostel was below average, (lack of amenities, hardly any electrical outlets in the rooms, etc) Also, it definitely had an older crowd than many other hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
8.0

Very easy if you have a bike and staying for a few nights. Popular place- met nice people here . Good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
9.1

Only drawbacks were how little space there were in the rooms and under the bottom bunks (could not even sit up remotely) and how few showers there were for SO MANY people! The line was long and in the rooms you were always getting in everyone's way because the was no space. Other than this, wonderful! Nice staff and people, clean, good breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.