Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pineapple Park Kona

  • 81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • michelelo6275
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
21st Feb 2017
2.0

my friend and i arrived around 10 pm but didn;t end up staying as the lady at the reception was super unfriendly and showed big attitude when i asked her why she is charging alot more than what hostelworld told me. RIP OFF!! Would never stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Annie runs a great ship here. Really enjoyed the space and community.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

The place was clean and the owner was very nice. However, the staff had no idea what was going on. When I went to check in the girl that "worked there" said it was only her second day and literally had no idea what was going on. It all worked out in the end but it was a little sketch at first. Overall a nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
7.4

A nice clean place. Seemed very clean. There's a large open air common area that is quite pleasant. Shower was nice and strong and hot. The location is very challenging unless you have a car. It's a great base for the two-mile hike to the Captain Cook monument and epic snorkelling of Kealekekua Bay, although you have to carry your snorkel gear down the two-mile trail. I was charged an extra 7 dollars because I'd only booked one night, which was not evident on the Hostelworld site.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
5.7

His hostel has a lot of potential, but the location is pretty far from any major sights or activities and the facilities are lacking...not to mention the almost complete lack of security except for the front gate that's closed at night. It's unfortunate, but there are better options south or in Hilo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
6.9

My biggest complaint is that the Wi-Fi did not work throughout my stay... There was very poor or no reception inside the hostel and without Wi-Fi I couldn't even look up where I need to go the next day... Another issue is that the shower closes at 10 PM. It takes a long time to drive around Big Island so for a couple night when we came back I couldn't even take a shower after a long, sweaty day...Would be nice to have a hanger for swimming suits or underwear since we can't machine wash them...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.3

They were in the middle of a renovation so there wasn't really a way to fornally check in. All considered it was a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
2.6

Annie who owns and runs this place and one other kept dirty facilities, did not seem to have any staff to help. she is only in it for the money and at $40 to $50 USD it was way over priced and one of the worst places I have ever stayed at. I stayed at Pineapple Park which was filthy, then a new dorm at the newer location for more money!-no toilets or shower in new dorm, no discount given!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
10.0

This is a very nice and clean hostel. The staff was very friendly. I would like to come back to this place again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
8.9

Both the owner and her husband we very pleasant and helpful even though we arrived earlier than expected. I am considering staying there again when I go to Kona as it is a bit quieter away from the busy Ali'i Drive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.