Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pineapple Park Kona

  • 81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice little hostel. A relaxing little place, but not too close to many amenities. Saw some cockroaches, but only in the covered relax area. Sleeping quarters were good. They put plastic under the mattresses, so that makes noise every time you move.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

amazing experience..we stayed in private room..super clean...very professional staff..will pick this one over hotel again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

I stayed here for 7 days and I couldn't think of a complaint even if I wanted to! It was very clean, had excellent facilities and the overall setup was very appealing. The staff did a great job and the owner Annie was very friendly and took great care of the place. I had an incredible week in Hawaii and Pineapple Park added to my great experience. Definitely planning on staying here again in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michelelo6275
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
21st Feb 2017
2.0

my friend and i arrived around 10 pm but didn;t end up staying as the lady at the reception was super unfriendly and showed big attitude when i asked her why she is charging alot more than what hostelworld told me. RIP OFF!! Would never stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.0

My largest concern is that that 10 o'clock everything gets shut down - not just "quiet hours" but literal locks on the kitchen and showers. While I can appreciate the desire to not have late night noise, I find padlocks on showers excessive for a place marketed as a hostel... The upside of this is that it's a great price/location for those looking to travel around the Big Island (right off the main road) rather than a remote B&B. Close enough to Kona area to still find places to eat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Annie runs a great ship here. Really enjoyed the space and community.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

The place was clean and the owner was very nice. However, the staff had no idea what was going on. When I went to check in the girl that "worked there" said it was only her second day and literally had no idea what was going on. It all worked out in the end but it was a little sketch at first. Overall a nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
7.4

A nice clean place. Seemed very clean. There's a large open air common area that is quite pleasant. Shower was nice and strong and hot. The location is very challenging unless you have a car. It's a great base for the two-mile hike to the Captain Cook monument and epic snorkelling of Kealekekua Bay, although you have to carry your snorkel gear down the two-mile trail. I was charged an extra 7 dollars because I'd only booked one night, which was not evident on the Hostelworld site.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
5.7

His hostel has a lot of potential, but the location is pretty far from any major sights or activities and the facilities are lacking...not to mention the almost complete lack of security except for the front gate that's closed at night. It's unfortunate, but there are better options south or in Hilo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
6.9

My biggest complaint is that the Wi-Fi did not work throughout my stay... There was very poor or no reception inside the hostel and without Wi-Fi I couldn't even look up where I need to go the next day... Another issue is that the shower closes at 10 PM. It takes a long time to drive around Big Island so for a couple night when we came back I couldn't even take a shower after a long, sweaty day...Would be nice to have a hanger for swimming suits or underwear since we can't machine wash them...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.