Hostelworld.com

Pineapple Park Kona

  • 81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA
Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
Pineapple Park Kona Located at 81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona.
Pineapple Park Kona
USA
Kailua-Kona Hawaii 96750 81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island
71% 399
19.4984934 -155.9196317
Pineapple Park Kona
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Mar 2016
3.4

No me gusto nada, y me fui al hotel Manago que está ahí cerquita

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
5.7

The women that worked there was very rude. She didn't seem to get along with anyone at the hostel and would constantly move our personal belongings around after we had addressed it with her to not. The place was very far away from any major towns, but then again the island is very large!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
9.7

Pineapple park hostel was a wonderful place and I am glad that I had the opportunity to stay there. The staff were very accommodating and the place itself was very welcoming, clean, and fun to stay at. It was a great bargain for having stayed there a whole week. It's location was not too far from any point of interest and it helped a lot that it was fairly close to the airport (about 30 min drive). My one and only complaint is regarding the hours of the kitchen, which would close at 10 pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
2.0

The lady at the front desk was very rude and not helpful at all. I recommend staying at "my Hawaii" hostel. Which is closer to town and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2016
5.7

Very average hostel - the co-ed "dorms" are actually one 14-bed dorm, which isn't a big problem, but is falsely represented. The cost is high considering only half the dorm guests get a locker, and that the hostel is in the middle of nowhere with v. poor public transport there. Only stay if you'll have a car. The staff, excluding the owner, were lovely and helpful, and the other guests were great and respectful. The owner, Annie, could be a lot more welcoming and accommodating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
5.4

Ad was misleading in some parts. Taxi ride is $70. Paid for 6 bedroom dorm. they gave me the 8. Taxes not included. Wifi was in and out, off for 6 hours on my last night. 2 toilets/2showers for all shared guests. Comfy atmosphere. Most staff was friendly, but the Asian (maybe Hawaiian) lady Annie was a bit rude. She told me the bus stop was too far to walk with luggage and said no one would take me there. The listing said it was directly across the street. luckily another guest gave me a ride

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If you read all the information displayed at the web page you'll notice that indeed it says TAXES NOT INCLUDED. Bus stop is quarter mile away from the hostel

14th Feb 2016
4.3

Hostel has a bunch of annoying additional charges if you only stay one night. The older Asian woman running the front desk was rude and didn't treat customers, or me at least, as a valuable customer. I wanted a bottom bed and she wouldn't let me have one or switch to one even though there were three open. Very strict check out. I packed all my things and wanted to read their lonely planet book in the common room and she wouldn't let me. Other staff were cool but no one was helpful overall

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If you read the information displayed at the web page you'll notice that there's a charge for single night staying

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2016
6.9

Although the hostel was charming + clean, it is SUPER far (so expensive to get to. The staff was not very helpful and pretty much here to hammer us with the many rules more than to make us feel welcome. We had booked for 6 bed mixed dorm but got beds in an 8 beds one (no warning, apologizes or reimbursing the price difference). Please note that the one night only fee is NOT included in the hostel price so we paid nearly as much as for a private!! Only 2 showers for all shared bath guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your reservation say you will be arriving by certain hour and although you arrived just 16 minutes after it somebody else showed up asking for 6 bed dorm just before you. Anyway, the price for 8 bed and 6 bed dorm is the same, so we don't really get this reimbursing thing you're mentioning. Finally, if the price of the dorm is shown at the web page as $30 and at the end of your reservation for night night the price is displayed as $30 there's not too much thinking on realizing that indeed the one night fee has to be paid upon arrival and is not shown in the summary. i.e. $30 + $7 can't be $30, right?

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jan 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, friendly staff, water outage, bit noisy at night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2016
5.1

I did not stay there. But I passed by it while in the area, it is very far from Kona. Must have a car if you stay there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The hostel is located in Kona, but is 10 miles away from Downtown Kailua-Kona. Nevertheless, all the other places are distributed around the island, so at the end it doesn't really matter where you stay. MUST HAVE SOME KIND OF WHEELS TO VISIT ANY PLACE IN THE ISLAND

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.