Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pinewood

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
Pinewood Located at 48 Hamilton Road, , Queenstown.
Pinewood
New Zealand
Queenstown 48 Hamilton Road
73% 350
-45.0258130 168.6572813
Pinewood
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Nice little ensuite room, very comfortable and new. Not a fan of the twin beds being strapped together to make a double or the lack of basic cooking necessities like oil, salt and pepper. But overall it was good place to stay, thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
7.7

Felt like being in a student apartment with 4 dorms sharing the one common room, which wasn't necessarily a bad thing. Bathroom facilities were good but the Wi-Fi was extremely flaky in the rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • teehooi879115
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
4.0

Heater was not working and the staff showing bad attitude when told about the heater!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jun 2016
7.1

Always had people sleeping in the lounge area overnight. Not sure if they were guests or not. Bought food and others felt it was free to eat/use. Rooms were clean and bathrooms stayed clean for a few hours but seemed to always get dirty/messy by midday. The bunkbeds didn't have ladders which was a bit annoying. Enough showers for people to use and had plenty of hot showers which was really nice after a day on the slopes! Was nice that they had hangers in the closets to hang coats!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2016
7.4

There is a partying culture in Queenstown and the hostel brings back people to eat and drink at night and sometimes can create a lot of noise. These people also typically mess up the place. The last morning when I woke up slightly earlier - 7 am - I found 2 people sleeping in the common area. I figure if they had a bed space they probably wouldn't be sleeping on the couches in the common area. Other than that, the staff cleans up the place daily although not thoroughly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.1

A very substandard hostel. I went to use the kitchen at 2:30pm just after I arrived and it was filthy. There were empty beer cans all over the place and empty spirit bottles. One of the toasters didn't work properly, the water boiler was out of order and one of the fridges wasn't working. In the dorms there was no ladder to the top bunks. Later that evening both kitchens on site were taken up by large groups of people drinking. Terrible value for money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • vsadiri2283
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
6.0

Didn't care for this hostel. The carpet was dingy and there were strange messages written on the bed frames. Also, there were kitchens in separate buildings. I didn't feel a sense of community here. It was hard to meet others. On the plus side, there was a heater in the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
8.3

Neat that they are set up in small houses. Cool common area that's easy to meet people. NO OUTLETS! Really hard to find anywhere to charge your stuff. I had my external battery charging behind a bunk bed and when the cleaning room came to change the beds they moved the bed and it snapped my charger. That was a bummer. Otherwise, generally a good place. Awesome showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Great friendly staff. Very accommodative to your special request / needs. Will go back again w/o hesitation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Thanks for making my stay a nice one, they guy at the front desk was awesome and helpful, I asked him what to do on my last day and he recommended me taking the gondola and some rides up in that mountain , thanks I had lots of fun. The place it's really nice and clean I can't complain . It's like 5 minutes walking to the down town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.