X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pint on Punt Reviews

42 Punt Rd., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
665 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had a great stay, loved the free breakfast and the backpacker meals in the bar down below are great value! Definately couldn't cook yourself any better for the cost of them! My room was comfy and clean and was heated really well ( weather freezing in Melbourne ) would recommend this hostel to anyone!

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Grand hostel. Nice staff. But above a bar and the clientelle made feel ashamed to be from ireland. The men being aggressive and fighting all the time. The women being absolute tramps and foul mouthed. Both men and women vomiting freely as the pleased. I expressed my dissappointment to a female staff member and she stuck up for them. Odd Cheap as chips. Book online when its cheap for ur whole stay. If u pay the next day the price rockets. Nice grub too.


40%

The kitchen is very dirty, there is no towel, there are no dishes and cutlery (you can rent them at the reception but this is not handy) and the sink is located in another room. Our room did not have a heater and it had just two electrical sockets. Staff is not nice: we wanted to stay 2 nights more but they wanted us to pay for a 4 beds room (which we were upgraded for free when we arrived). When I asked for the 8 beds room she said it was all booked (not true, I checked on the website).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thank you for your review we appreciate all feedback! We do provide Cutlery sets for a $10 deposit which you get back when you return them in one piece and nice and clean. We do not unfortunately have any 8 bed dorms at all the only rooms we have are 6 beds and 4 beds! I can see on our system that we did in fact only have 4 beds and privates available on your check out date! It is a shame u didn't like our staff.. Most people do! I hope you will consider staying again

51%

I dont even know where to start. Although the staff were less than cheery for the most part, i can look past that. What i cant look past however is the fact that the washroom was closed off on my floor so you had to access the washroom down a floor everytime. Even with the window shut, there was such a draft our door rattled. Very cold and dingy but the pub was okay and food was good. The facilities leave a lot to be desired and i wouldnt stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks so much for your review.We're sorry to hear you didn't think our staff were cheery as we remember you as a guest and I thought you were lovely! Most guests like our staff so we are very sad to hear this. It is true that the ladies bathroom on the second floor is under renovations at the moment but will be up and running very soon!! It has been very cold in Melbourne the last 2 weeks but we do provide heaters in the rooms to compensate for the weather! we would love to have you again!

69%

The kitchen is very small and bathrooms on my floor were unavailable during my stay (however this was due to maintenance so I imagine they'll be good given time). A lot of long termers here but still a great atmosphere


77%

Loved the staff. Very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast also very much appreciated. Does get a bit noisy during the weekends, because of the music in the pub. Other then that, had good stay.


77%

Great location, with a short walk to tram to take a 15-20 min tram into city. Friendly staff. Small lounge area and usually used by long term customers. no personal locker or whatsoever in the rooms. Only lockers are located on level 3. level 2 always smells of laundry cause of the laundry room. good that they provide one desktop for some customers who needs to use one.


57%

Get a new toaster!!! Horrible! One of the regular staff, she was Irish. She sorted out my room and everything! She was lovely and very helpful. Met two others and they weren't very friendly

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for your review! Thank you for bringing the toaster to our attention this is the first time we have heard it is broken so we appreciate that. It's nice to hear you were impressed by one of our staff members but sad to hear you weren't so happy with others. We pride ourselves on customer service and normally receive great reviews about staff so this is definitely something we will look into and fix. Thank you for your helpful review and we hope you will stay again ;)

80%

We spent a few days here and found the value for money excellent. The cheap backpacker meals and free breakfasts are extremely appreciated for those trying to save money. The rooms are perfectly suitable and are inspected daily. The pub below had a very authentic feel and the staff seemed friendly at all times. Ideal for any budget conscious traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review we really appreciate it! We aim to keep the budget traveler as comfortable and happy as possible so we delight in receiving reviews like yours explaining what we are all about! We really hope you stay again in the near future! :)

83%

Arrived at night and immediately after I entered the pub some locals asked me to join for a beer! Great atmosphere in the pub Kitchen is a bit small but I never struggled with while preparing meals. Meal deals for backpackers are available for 6-7$. Free breakfast with coffee cereals etc. Housekeeping cleans everyday! Staff was very helpful and every time on place. Hostel is well located near fitzroy st and chapel st if you want a st kilda nightlife experience. Next time in Melbourne again!!


77%

Pint on Punt is a nice Hostel. We enjoied our stay! We liked that it was very close to St Kilda center and also close to a tram stn so the city was easy to reach. The cheap meals were delicious! The rooms were clean however the tap in room 10 was making awkward noises constantly which was the only thing we could complain :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your lovely review you were great guests! Thank you for bringing the noisy tap to our attention we will have our maintenance man have a look at that :) We hope to see you again in the near future!

100%

Had a great time hear, only hear 1 night,Kitchen a bit on the small side but they offer great meals in the bar for not very much,will defiantly recommend

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again!

97%

The staff were awesome, super friendly and helpful at all times, especially the managers Laura and Evan. The hostel was clean and relatively quiet considering it is located above a pub. The rooms were basic but provided everything you need for a comfortable stay and there were plenty of shower facilities. The wifi connection was decent enough. We stayed for 2 weeks and felt very comfortable at this hostel and enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure having you guys and we hope to see you again! :)

29%

The rooms don't look like the pictures online. The beds are so used the coils hurt our backs, the pillows were thin as pancakes, and the comforters were a gross yellow-green colour. Everything smelled old and musty. We woke up to find ants EVERYWHERE in our room, and a fellow patron had vomited all over the bathroom. The staff cleaned the toilet, but didn't clean what had splattered on the walls. The women's shower looks mould-infested and about to crumble away, and the pub is very loud.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here and we are also very sad that this is the first we have heard of any of this. If you had told staff any of these complaints we would have been more than happy to help and try to make things better for you guys. As the weather has changed ants tend to come inside seeking shelter we are happy you have now brought this to our attention. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you in the future!

71%

Good stay no bad comments can get loud on karaoke night and maybe the weekend but you get free wifi on one floor which is still better than most!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the review we appreciate it! The Wifi works on all floors however it seems at certain times of the day when a lot of people are using it it works better on the 1st floor! Hope to see you again in the future!

83%

I was quite happy with this hostel, everything was explained and taken care of, and overall cleanliness was fine. All deposits for dishes and keys were returned (even when we had to leave so early that no one was there to give it in cash, they kindly credited it to our visa instead), and staff in bar always available to help or answer questions. My only complaint would be the layout was a bit cramped (especially with luggage) and had to go outside hostel to access pub, but just small things.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

This was the worst place! They messed up our reservation, which was for two people. We ended up having to share a bed in a 3 person dorm. The hostel staff stated they could give us a 20% discount for their mistake, which was ridiculous! Then, to make it even worse, when we woke up in the morning there were 3 other people in our dorm (making that 5 people in a 3 person dorm) because they also messed up their reservation! I would NEVER go back there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it! On the rare occasion this happens we do try to find accommodation in alternative locations and we pay the difference in price. As there was nothing suitable for you guys in the surrounding area we did agree that you could share a bed for 1 night. The other guests cancelled 1 person from their booking but showed up anyway. They 3rd person was put in a 6 bed dorm so should not have been in your room. We sincerely apologize for the mix up.

80%

One of the best of the 4 hostels i have been in melbourne. There is a Pub just down of the rooms so it can be noisy sometimes...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review!! Please visit again soon ;)

37%

I stayed there for two nights only in a private room and I'm glad im out of there, it has a weird atmosphere and I can't say anything good about the security. The room was ok, the kitchen does't have utensils so it's not very practical to cook there. If you don't have a problem with awkward people roaming the streets, such as drug addicts and prostitutes, St. Kilda is the right place for you.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review :) We are sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay. We can assure you that St Kilda is a beautiful place and like any City suburb there can be strange characters around late at night so we would never advise anyone to venture out alone at night. We do give out crockery sets at a $10 deposit so that we can get them back in one piece and nice and clean. We hope you will consider re-visiting in the future!

71%

Needed more plug sockets in room and kitchen was bit lacking but pleasant enough hostel. Free breakfast always good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review we really appreciate it!! It is true as it is an old building there are minimal sockets however we do provide more extension leads as requested! The kitchen is small but we try to make it up with the $6 backpacker meals! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again some time!

« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback