X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pint on Punt Reviews

42 Punt Rd., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
673 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff were so friendly and helpful. Great cheap deals in the bar for backpackers which is ideal for the budget traveller! Overall great value for money. Would definitely recommend to other travelers!

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great hostel! My roommates were awesome! I had a nice experience except for just one specific staff who is the worst I ve ever met in my whole life, other staffs in that hostel are so respectful and lovely!


100%

I had a brief but very enjoyable stay at the Pint. It was clean and secure with reliable wi-fi. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not far from St. Kilda beach or the Chapel Street shops. Overall, a good option for anyone on a tight budget.


63%

Good location in St Kilda. Cheap food. The bathrooms are cold while you're showering if you're there in their winter. Also it seemed that many people staying there are backpackers who are working so all their belongings were all over the room making our room seem quite messy and less spacious.


54%

Wifi was rarely working, which was an inconvenience as we were not familiar with the area and the workers weren't familiar with the area either. Saw quite a bit of ants in the rooms and bathrooms. Check-in wasn't very well labelled; we weren't able to check in until 2PM even though the website said there was 24 hour check-in. Overall, it was adaquate for the price that we paid.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review we appreciate all feedback!The Wifi was down during your stay and we got somebody in to fix it however it went again the following day.we sourced the issue and it was all down to a dodgy wire which has been replaced so its back up and running.We are so sorry about the inconvenience!You are absolutely right what we mean by 24hour is after hours check in available.Check in is from 2pm as beds and rooms need to be tidied for new arrivals!We hope you will consider us again!

100%

I had a great stay, loved the free breakfast and the backpacker meals in the bar down below are great value! Definately couldn't cook yourself any better for the cost of them! My room was comfy and clean and was heated really well ( weather freezing in Melbourne ) would recommend this hostel to anyone!

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your lovely review :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

77%

Grand hostel. Nice staff. But above a bar and the clientelle made feel ashamed to be from ireland. The men being aggressive and fighting all the time. The women being absolute tramps and foul mouthed. Both men and women vomiting freely as the pleased. I expressed my dissappointment to a female staff member and she stuck up for them. Odd Cheap as chips. Book online when its cheap for ur whole stay. If u pay the next day the price rockets. Nice grub too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review,we appreciate all feedback!We are glad you liked the hostel and staff!The wkend you stayed the Gaelic club we sponsor Ladies and Mens football teams won the finals so there was a lot of celebrating done!It is not busy like that every weekend we can assure you. The Irish member of staff you referred to was quite offended by your remarks on checkout and felt personally attacked :( We do random online sales but the 6 beds never exceed $21 in winter! enjoy your travels :)

40%

The kitchen is very dirty, there is no towel, there are no dishes and cutlery (you can rent them at the reception but this is not handy) and the sink is located in another room. Our room did not have a heater and it had just two electrical sockets. Staff is not nice: we wanted to stay 2 nights more but they wanted us to pay for a 4 beds room (which we were upgraded for free when we arrived). When I asked for the 8 beds room she said it was all booked (not true, I checked on the website).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thank you for your review we appreciate all feedback! We do provide Cutlery sets for a $10 deposit which you get back when you return them in one piece and nice and clean. We do not unfortunately have any 8 bed dorms at all the only rooms we have are 6 beds and 4 beds! I can see on our system that we did in fact only have 4 beds and privates available on your check out date! It is a shame u didn't like our staff.. Most people do! I hope you will consider staying again

51%

I dont even know where to start. Although the staff were less than cheery for the most part, i can look past that. What i cant look past however is the fact that the washroom was closed off on my floor so you had to access the washroom down a floor everytime. Even with the window shut, there was such a draft our door rattled. Very cold and dingy but the pub was okay and food was good. The facilities leave a lot to be desired and i wouldnt stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi & thanks so much for your review.We're sorry to hear you didn't think our staff were cheery as we remember you as a guest and I thought you were lovely! Most guests like our staff so we are very sad to hear this. It is true that the ladies bathroom on the second floor is under renovations at the moment but will be up and running very soon!! It has been very cold in Melbourne the last 2 weeks but we do provide heaters in the rooms to compensate for the weather! we would love to have you again!

69%

The kitchen is very small and bathrooms on my floor were unavailable during my stay (however this was due to maintenance so I imagine they'll be good given time). A lot of long termers here but still a great atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! We'd love to have you again :)

94%

Love staying here! Been here for 2 months and it's hard to leave. The staff are great and so helpful! The bathrooms are the cleanest I've seen in any other hostel. Rooms are good size. Would definitely recommend.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Loved the staff. Very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast also very much appreciated. Does get a bit noisy during the weekends, because of the music in the pub. Other then that, had good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review and please do visit again :)

77%

Great location, with a short walk to tram to take a 15-20 min tram into city. Friendly staff. Small lounge area and usually used by long term customers. no personal locker or whatsoever in the rooms. Only lockers are located on level 3. level 2 always smells of laundry cause of the laundry room. good that they provide one desktop for some customers who needs to use one.


57%

Get a new toaster!!! Horrible! One of the regular staff, she was Irish. She sorted out my room and everything! She was lovely and very helpful. Met two others and they weren't very friendly

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for your review! Thank you for bringing the toaster to our attention this is the first time we have heard it is broken so we appreciate that. It's nice to hear you were impressed by one of our staff members but sad to hear you weren't so happy with others. We pride ourselves on customer service and normally receive great reviews about staff so this is definitely something we will look into and fix. Thank you for your helpful review and we hope you will stay again ;)

80%

We spent a few days here and found the value for money excellent. The cheap backpacker meals and free breakfasts are extremely appreciated for those trying to save money. The rooms are perfectly suitable and are inspected daily. The pub below had a very authentic feel and the staff seemed friendly at all times. Ideal for any budget conscious traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review we really appreciate it! We aim to keep the budget traveler as comfortable and happy as possible so we delight in receiving reviews like yours explaining what we are all about! We really hope you stay again in the near future! :)

83%

Arrived at night and immediately after I entered the pub some locals asked me to join for a beer! Great atmosphere in the pub Kitchen is a bit small but I never struggled with while preparing meals. Meal deals for backpackers are available for 6-7$. Free breakfast with coffee cereals etc. Housekeeping cleans everyday! Staff was very helpful and every time on place. Hostel is well located near fitzroy st and chapel st if you want a st kilda nightlife experience. Next time in Melbourne again!!


77%

Pint on Punt is a nice Hostel. We enjoied our stay! We liked that it was very close to St Kilda center and also close to a tram stn so the city was easy to reach. The cheap meals were delicious! The rooms were clean however the tap in room 10 was making awkward noises constantly which was the only thing we could complain :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your lovely review you were great guests! Thank you for bringing the noisy tap to our attention we will have our maintenance man have a look at that :) We hope to see you again in the near future!

100%

Had a great time hear, only hear 1 night,Kitchen a bit on the small side but they offer great meals in the bar for not very much,will defiantly recommend

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again!

97%

The staff were awesome, super friendly and helpful at all times, especially the managers Laura and Evan. The hostel was clean and relatively quiet considering it is located above a pub. The rooms were basic but provided everything you need for a comfortable stay and there were plenty of shower facilities. The wifi connection was decent enough. We stayed for 2 weeks and felt very comfortable at this hostel and enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure having you guys and we hope to see you again! :)

29%

The rooms don't look like the pictures online. The beds are so used the coils hurt our backs, the pillows were thin as pancakes, and the comforters were a gross yellow-green colour. Everything smelled old and musty. We woke up to find ants EVERYWHERE in our room, and a fellow patron had vomited all over the bathroom. The staff cleaned the toilet, but didn't clean what had splattered on the walls. The women's shower looks mould-infested and about to crumble away, and the pub is very loud.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here and we are also very sad that this is the first we have heard of any of this. If you had told staff any of these complaints we would have been more than happy to help and try to make things better for you guys. As the weather has changed ants tend to come inside seeking shelter we are happy you have now brought this to our attention. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you in the future!

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback