X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pint on Punt Reviews

42 Punt Rd., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
614 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Clean hostel, nice staff, good location and just a great stay


77%

Kitchen was pretty much useless. They have backpacker meals at the pub for 6-7$, so you'll have to rely on that. Other than that, the hostel was fine. Showers were nice with plenty of hot water.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Receptionist was very unhelpful and unfriendly. 0 customer service, accused me of not paying then didn't apologise for her own error. Wouldn't call me a taxi on departure even though I had 2 suitcases, had to stand in the rain for 30 mins flagging down a taxi. Doesn't take much to to slightly ahead of your basic duties. She was moody and in the wrong job!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it! We are so sorry for your check out experience. The girl was standing in for our normal receptionist as she was sick. This girl normally works behind the bar. We would love to make it up to you and prove that this is not what our guests normally experience!! If you would like to book in again in the future we will do our utmost to take care of you. We hope you enjoyed your stay other than this incident :)

66%

Wifi not available in common areas have to sit on a corridor on the second floor. Common area and kitchen far too small for hostel only two sofas so not very good for socialising. However backpacker menu offered was very good value for money.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Kitchen quite small, location a bit out the way of St Kilda but easily walkable and great access to trams to the city


60%

Bathroom dirty, no paper some times, rooms small, no space

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

not the best kitchen but a pub is on the ground level. good and cheap place to stay for some nights!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice hostel with a friendly and helpful staff. 50m to the tram that takes you in less than 30 minutes to the city center. Also a cool Irish pub underneath the rooms where who you can find good food at a good price.


77%

A great place in the outskirts of St Kilda, the rooms were clean and the people were friendly but the overall place lacked atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. We are glad you liked your room and the guests and staff! We are sad to hear that the atmosphere was not your cup of tea.. We like to think we have a fun young little Hostel with lots of character because of all the nationalities here!Hope we get to prove this to you some other time! cheers :)

80%

The room are a bit small. Bathroom are not so clean even though the staff is cleaning all the time because there is a lot of people in this hostel and because people here a messy. It is a party hostel so if your not into party, I would recommend to find another one. If you can't find this hostel should be fine as it wasn't noisy.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review! It is true we have a small little building and some rooms are smaller than others that is why the biggest dorms we have are 6 bed dorms. It is true that some guests can be quite messy and when we do cleaning checks everyday we try to make sure that everybody's things are not all over the place. Some guests do like to party more others but we do have a night manager who takes care of things if there is excessive noise. Hope to see you again in the future!

66%

The hostel is above a pub which has live music every night and there will be loud people on the street smoking which will guarantee you won't fall asleep early. The room I stayed in was also facing the street which is a busy intersection of st kilda, fitzroy and wellington street so there's a lot of noise from traffic. The place looks dirtier than it actually is, since it's just rather old. Not a place for a quiet night's sleep, but if you're into discount drinks and cheap pub meals it's good.


89%

Pint on punt was exacry what we needed for 3 nights in melbourne. Pub underneath does great deals for food and drink and always crack in bar at night. Staff are sound bar one short haired girl who was very ignorant. Kitchen is tiny but at least they provide excellent meals for great value in the pub. Would highly recommend pint on punt

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

If you book a 6 bed-dorm-room, you should know that they are full of messy partypeople. You can feel lucky getting a little space in front of your bed to get into it and some hours sleep the night. So if you start your journey in Melbourne and need more than 4 hours sleep, don't choose this hostel. There are pubs and restaurants around. You will need them, in the kitchen there are no plates, cups, pots and so on.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

the kitchen is extremely small which makes it very hard to make any food and there isn't a lot of cooking utensils to use either also making it hard to make food. bathrooms are nice and clean.


31%

Very poor service at this hostel! Dirty and smelly! No security, false advertising on hostel world.. Avoid if you can!!!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Kitchen was lacking. No pots, dishes or cutlery. Only 2 of 8 stove burners worked. Rooms were good and clean. Free wifi and breakfast were good. Friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review! We know we have a small little kitchen but we try to make up for it with cheap meals and drinks deals in the pub! We do provide Crockery and cutlery sets for a small deposit to ensure that everything comes back in one piece and nice and clean. Sometimes also the fuse trips when all rings are on at the same time as well so that is most likely what happened with the stoves :/ we are so glad to hear you liked the room staff and facilities!! please visit again! :) :)

80%

Staff were lovely. Obviously great for English and Irish (and all others). Building is old but I liked that :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your awesome review! We liked you too ;)

80%

Really liked the place at Pint on Punt. Close to St Kilda! The staff was really helpful. Cheap place to stay and discount if you want lunch as well at the bar.


69%

It was a good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you nice feedback! Hope to see you again soon!

80%

Great cheap accommodation. Some guests were a little inconsiderate, banging doors all night. The $6 meals were great and the pub was lovely. Some better quality pillows would have been nice.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback