Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pirwa Backpackers Colonial

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • clo1009489
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
7th May 2017
8.3

We liked staying at the Pirwa hostel (we came back twice). Rooms are good and, during low season, the staff always tries to have a few people in each room instead of a few rooms full. That is really nice as you feel you have a private room. Breakfast and showers are ok. It is usually little cold in rooms but as blankets are good, it was not that much a problem. The thing the staff could improve would be to know more about tours offered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
17th Apr 2017
7.1

Staff were at times extremely helpful and at other times utterly useless. An okay place to sleep, but can get noisy as the common areas are right next to the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
7.4

Hostal was absolutely freezing cold all the time. Atmosphere was quite dead and the common room constantly played bad house beats. Wifi throughout the hostal was spotty. Location was nice but probably wouldn't stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.7

I stay for 3 nights at this hostel and Its a very nice hotel. Cheap price , the room are very clean and the beds confortable. The staff are nice and very helpful. They help me to book a tour to go to the machu picchu and the price is good. I recommand this hotel because its so close to the plaza de armas and nice market so you just can walk and have a lot of fun! Mucho gracias Marc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

A great hostel in a great location, the staff are lovely and friendly. I was in a 6 birth so away from the noise of the bar. Very cheap meals but no kitchen to prepare your own food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Overall we had a relatively good stay. However, the wifi wasn't very good anywhere in the hostel from what we could tell. Another thing we found strange was very loud music at 6 am. Our room did face the common area so it may have only been an issue for our particular room. We also dropped our laundry off the day we arrived at the hostel and didn't get it back until the following day at 9 pm. I speak very little Spanish so maybe there was a slight miscommunication on my behalf.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.9

Wifi sucks but overall this spot is perfect in just about every other aspect. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Positives - Good free breakfast. Comfy beds. Excellent location on the San Fran plaza square. Free coca leaves. Comfy sofa in communal area. Near market.Negatives - so cold! My bed didn't have a duvet and was next to the door. Woke up freezing in middle of the night and had to steal someone else's duvet. The patio/communal area is open so on a cold night you'll need extra blankets. Showers/toilets were downstairs and outside in communal area so also freezing when you get out. Laundry expensive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ferbrnsnts
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
5.7

The Hostel is nice located, but really dark, thats what i find the worst

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.