Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pirwa Backpackers Colonial

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4
Pirwa Backpackers Colonial Located at San Francisco Square 360, , Cusco.
Pirwa Backpackers Colonial
Peru
Cusco Cusco none San Francisco Square 360
75% 845
-13.5180290 -71.9816220
Pirwa Backpackers Colonial
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2016
7.1

We stayed here one night. Overall a really nice hostel. Our only complaint was the lock on the front door was very poorly designed. They literally just gave us a padlock to either lock ourselves in or lock ourselves out. This is a result of the building being so old I am sure. I had seen other reviews about the rooms being cold but they provide heaters and the bedding is very warm so this wasn't an issue for us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
6.6

This hostel was freezing all the time. The bunk beds are very sketchy. My husband wouldn't sleep above me for fear it would collapse. They play music all day and late into the night and you can hear everyone on the street, so the rooms aren't quiet. Internet didn't work in our room. It also wasn't very clean. If you like the party hostel atmosphere you might like it though. Breakfast was decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
6.9

Pirwa has a nice location. Close to the square where everything happens. The staff is nice and it's quite cheap to stay there. The rooms are alright, beds aren't amazing but they're big. Good big lockers. Breakfast isn't that great - you get it served on a tray, the classic bread, butter and jam. Hot showers (almost all the time) and they write they have different activities every day but we never experienced it. Good-ish wifi. Overall okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.0

the hostel is well located, good atmosphere, the staff helps enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • el_bart0
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.1

It's a very good hostel, with all the facilities and atmosphere. There are two problems: the floor is wood and it makes all kind of noise at night and breakfast that is very poor according to the all the things hostel have.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
7.7

This hostel is in a really nice location. A lot of hostels in Cusco are up on the hillsides and are quite a hike to get to. Pirwa was right in the center of town, near markets and I never had to walk up a hill. The building is very old and cool, but the doors are hard to keep shut. Our door was coming open all night letting in a LOT of light and noise which sucked. They also advertised food and didn't actually have any. However they REALLY take credit cards!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.1

Good location, but no atmosphere, average hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel and great value! The breakfast is basic but so are all hostel breakfasts. Very good location and not too cold in the morning like other hostels in cusco. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I stayed at 3 hostels in cusco and this was my favorite one. Simple and clean which does the job. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
7.4

Good location right at the corner of San Francisco Plaza. A good atmosphere in the hostel although the building itself is very old. There are minimal outlets in our room or in the lobby area. Showers were fine although not in the room. Breakfast was minimal (bread, jam, small cereal/yogurt, tea). Overall, good but not the best in Cusco. One of the only places to have female dorms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
7.1

Not all the staffs are helpful. Big difference between the ones during the day (worse) and the ones at night. Even though it's enjoyable having a place to hang out - the main hall - when you are not in the mood and just want to sleep after a full day of activities you better start learning how to sleep with your earphones. Because the music is so loud (plus the 'natural' honking and street sound) will probably not allow you to do so without the earphones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.