Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Plateau Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 86 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 86 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Plateau Lodge Located at 17 carroll street, National Park village, , Tongariro National Park.
Plateau Lodge
New Zealand
Tongariro National Park National Park Village, Rupheau 3948 17 carroll street, National Park village
88% 86
-39.1718435 175.3998613
Plateau Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • dekelgold
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

Best lodge in NZ! The staff so nice and helpful. We really enjoyed in the hot tub :) There is not a lot of atmosphere, but you can meet people and go to the pub next to the lodge :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.7

I stayed here for two nights in a 4 beds room (lockable) and it's a really good location if you wish to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing..even for solo travellers. Friendly staff, spacious communal lounge, large and tidy kitchen and good bathroom facilities. There's a free hot tub which you can book as well. Shortcomings: there's only 1 power plug in the room so you definitely need to bring a power strip. And you have to pay for the WiFi which is somehow normal in NZ. Still highly recommendable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

It was a pleasure staying here. Clean, great staff, no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
9.1

Great place to stay, especially if you are planning on doing the Tongariro Crossing. Lovely staff, would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Stayed here as so we could do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Arrived too late to go grocery shopping in town, but the lodge was able to pack us a lunch for the hike and provide options for getting there. The hot tub was really nice after the day hike. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2016
9.1

Great hostel, although rooms are a little on the small size for four people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Mar 2016
7.7

I spent 2 rainy days here after doing the Tongariro Crossing. Spacious communal area, nice showers, hot tub and great internet ($5 for 1 day/10GB which I did my best to use whilst it was raining). Nothing wrong with the hostel at all, but I'd probably stay in Whakapapa Village in future as that's where some of the shorter walks start from.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
7.1

There were no outlets in the room and the beds were cheap, so it made lots of nice and unconfortable to sleep on. But the people were great to speak to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.