Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Play Taipei Backpackers

  • Jihe Rd. & Xiaoxi St. intersection, (MRT Jiantan Station), Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Good location, only 5 mins walk to Shilin Night Market. friendly staff.We have a comfortable stay at PlayTaipei Backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

As always, Play Taipei makes our stay in Taipei the most enjoyable. Comfortable & clean rooms, friendly security guard, great location. It's our 3rd stay with them and it's definitely not our last! Special thanks to Alice who is ever so so helpful & friendly :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Fabulous location! Bed was very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.6

it has been the 3rd time i stayed here. i'll come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
7.7

Good hostel with that budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
7.1

The hotel is at good location and easy to get to everywhere by bus or MRT. It's good size and comfortable enough bed. It's on the 9th floor & offers quite good view of the city. However as it's like an apartment, there is nobody to clean the room or to change the towels or toothpaste etc. There's no complimentary like tea, coffee etc as well. The bathroom is quite bad though the water on the floor just not dries off even you're not using it for all day. Hot water system is very difficult to use

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Huyen~thanks for the comments. The room service is available all the time. Please do not hesitate to advise us in advance for the service during your stay if any chance we have your visiting next time. Happy New Year 2017!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Oct 2016
7.4

A good hostel near the Shinli night markets in Taipei. Comfy room but no common space and no hostel staff to help with anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
4.6

This is the worst hotel i have ever been. The room is far different from the photos. The staff was very rude. I will never come back here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi~Thanks for the comments. We will pay more attention on this matter. For the basic room type, please do not hesitate to contact us to clarify before you make a reservation. Sorry again and hope to see you in the future: )

16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great location, right next to Shilin night market and MRT station and it's easy to find. Twin room had huge beds with really good and comfy mattresses. Room was equipped with fridge, kettle and TV. The wifi was very good. The only downside was that beds took so much space that there was very little room to move. The bathroom was decent in size and had washing machine. There were also towels provided. Overall a very nice stay and I'd recommend this place wholeheartedly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.